Still practicing

(Practice lesson. Pencil drawing & photo by Robin. April 2007)

I’m still practicing drawing. I don’t know that I’ll ever be very good, but I do enjoy it.

This was my second attempt at drawing a face. My first took place a couple of months ago when I attempted to draw my granddaughter from a photograph. She came out looking a lot like a hobbit. Not that there’s anything wrong with hobbits, but as far as I can figure, she’s not a hobbit.

The purpose of learning is growth, and our minds, unlike our bodies, can continue growing as we continue to live. ~Mortimer Adler


Blustery day

(Orange-red sunset. Photo by Robin. April 2007)

Yesterday’s sunset turned the trees a gorgeous shade of orange-red. It was nice to see the sun again, even if it was at the end of the day.

We’ve had a couple days of rain and snow. Today there’s a thick and gloomy cloud cover accompanied by some very gusty winds. The winds are so strong and noisy that it’s hard to hear anything else. I hope it doesn’t pick up the house and carry it off.

I’m almost finished with the spring cleaning. Thank goodness! I’m getting a little tired of all the dusting, mopping, scrubbing, polishing, etc. The house is looking good.

We’re heading back to Sabbaticalville next week. I can’t believe how fast the time has gone. I have lots to do this week to get ready to go back, including getting a decent haircut. I made the huge mistake of getting a cheap haircut in Sabbaticalville and I’m badly in need of having it fixed. I’ve been waiting until the last possible minute to get it cut again so I’ll have more time to find a good stylist when we go back to Sabbaticalville.

I also have to get ready for Emma and her parents. They’re coming to visit this weekend. I’m thrilled that we’ll be able to visit with them twice in one month. We’ll be back here again for Memorial Day weekend and will hopefully be able to see them again then.

Time to get moving and finish up the Spring Cleaning Fling of ’07.