Internet free zone

Mushrooms under the purple maple tree.

The need to make wise choices encompasses every area of our lives.  Since we have time for only a limited amount of stuff, we need to choose wisely what stuff we’re going to allow to take up that time.  Since we have only a limited amount of time to spend with friends or to engage in leisure activities, we need to choose our friends and our activities wisely.

~Elaine St. James

By the time this scheduled post goes out, M and I will be in an internet-free zone, staying with family in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania.  As I explained yesterday, I will not have internet access again until we are home or unless we seek out free wi-fi spots.   Since I was still hanging in there with Post A Day 2011, I scheduled a few posts to cover for me while we were away, looking forward to not having to blog for a while.  It has turned into  a sad occasion, but I will enjoy the part where I am unplugged for a few days.  I need a blogging and email break.

How about you?  When was the last time you lived life unplugged?

15 Comments on “Internet free zone”

  1. Judith says:

    What a great idea. I am off for a few days next week so will be internet and email free. Will have to buckle down and set up a few posts as I too am in the Post a Day 2011.

  2. Great question, Robin. I can’t even begin to guess when I was last free of online obligations. I’m so sorry for your loss but hope that, somehow, this break will be exactly what you need at this time.
    Kathy

  3. carlaat says:

    All for the unplugging. Sending hugs your way, Robin.

  4. Karma says:

    Unplugging is good. As much as I enjoy the interaction in the world of the blogosphere, it is good to take a break. We have no internet access (except for smartphones) when we go on vacation in the summer, so that’s always a break for me.

  5. jane tims says:

    Hi. Unplugged? In Canada we have one hour (one hour!) we honor, Earth Hour, when we turn of all the electricity and electrical devices! And we had two hours with no electricity during a storm last year. Even on vacation, there is usually someone who has internet access who will grant you access. Jane

  6. The last time I was unplugged? When I went to Costa Rica over 5 years ago. Basically…way too long! I hope you enjoy your time away.

  7. afrankangle says:

    Agree … being unplugged has its moments. Especially if makes the choice to do so. BTW ,,,, great pic of the shrooms.

  8. ElizOF says:

    I have unplugged throughout the year for segments of time. Health matters have also forced me to do so at other times. I like the scheduled post and try to write more of them when I can… it’s nice to catch your breath now and again. Keep us posted when you can. 🙂

  9. ladyfi says:

    Enjoy your time in real life!

  10. Pat Bean says:

    I found Elaine St. James’ quote interesting because I have decided a need an internet free zone once a week. I’m going to try to reserve Wednesdays for other things — or at least I’m going to try. Loved the mushrooms. How they spring up overnight fascinates me.

  11. Honestly, Robin, I can’t wait until Postaday2011 is over! At first it was fun, but now that I’m back to school and my camera is in Texas, blog-a-day has turned into a chore. I so need to unplug! But, you know what? The walk in the bogs gives me comfort!

  12. Dana says:

    I just got back from a few days of “Unplugged in Seattle”– it was great! I hope you enjoy your time away from the internet, even though the circumstances are not ideal.

  13. I think we all need Internet-free zones every once in a while. Not sure how I would survive it, though 😉

  14. Robin says:

    Thanks everyone. 🙂

    Being unplugged for a while was a great, but I’m also enjoying being back. Even while I was without an internet connection I would compose blog posts. I should have written down some of my ideas. I’ve already forgotten about half of them. lol!


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

