Out the window and around the pond

Bluebird

I’ve been taking breaks from the camera.  A day here, two days there, that sort of thing.  It’s been nice.  The breaks leave me with no new photos to sort through, and the time to look over the photos from the past few months that I’ve ignored.  In between the breaks, I’ve shot a few photos from the windows of the house, including the bluebird pictured above.  Isn’t he pretty?  It’s not a great shot, but it was the best I could do given the distance and the glass between me and the bird.  Bluebirds can be quite skittish.  They would fly away if I tried to open the door to take a couple of photos.

Bluebird post-processed in Photoshop

All kinds of things happen outside the windows of my home.  Bluebirds visit the birdbath.  Beautiful sunsets, with and without clouds, color the sky.

Cold front approaching last night

Sunday's pumpkin sunset

Hot air balloons float past.

The moon sets during the early morning hours and I end up with an abstract.

Moon hurtling towards the woods

And sometimes the Goodyear Blimp comes by.

It’s a busy world out there, behind the windows.  Or is that in front of the windows?  I guess it depends on where you’re standing.  Either way, there are plenty of things going on.

This week’s Daily Post photo challenge was windows.  I haven’t had the time to capture a few windows or to go through the archives so I thought I’d put my own twist on it by showing you some of the things I see when I look out of my windows.  I don’t spend all my time in the house, of course.  I’m still going outside every day, taking my daily walks.  I brought you some photos from a walk I took around the pond the other day.

Milkweed

Most of the colors around the pond lately are various shades of brown and yellow.  The grass is still green, and some of the willow leaves are still retaining their green.

Near the cattails at the back of the pond.

A cold front moved through last night.  I sat out on the spiral staircase that leads to deck, listening to the wind sing in the colder weather.  We have seen some sunshine today, but it’s been mostly cloudy and very breezy.  You want to bundle up when you go out there.  It’s chilly.  We might even get some snow tonight.

Oak leaf in the sunlight

I know nobody wants to hear the S word, but I’m kind of excited about it.  It’s a no significant accumulation type of event, and with the temperature warming into the 50s and 60s over the weekend, it won’t last.

Wind in the willows

There is still some color in the woods, mostly from the light and the carpet of leaves covering the ground.

And that, my friends, is what’s happening the Bogs lately.  Thank you so much for visiting.  🙂

Autumn drifting on the pond

I like spring, but it is too young.  I like summer, but it is too proud.  So I like best of all autumn, because its tone is mellower, its colours are richer, and it is tinged with a little sorrow.  Its golden richness speaks not of the innocence of spring, nor the power of summer, but of the mellowness and kindly wisdom of approaching age.  It knows the limitations of life and is content.

~ Lin Yutang

22 Comments on “Out the window and around the pond”

  1. Kel says:

    well I want to hear the SNOW word

    SNOW SNOW SNOW

    :-)))

    of course, I live where it is now getting into the hot part of the year

    :-(((

  2. milkayphoto says:

    You always have a refreshing view on life!

    LOVE the leaves floating on the still water…so simple, so calm and serene…

  3. Judith says:

    I just love the autumnal colours in the ‘bogs’.

  4. […] Out the window and around the pond (bogsofohio.wordpress.com) […]

  5. Love the bluebird and pumpkin sunset! The others are fab too!

  6. Wow, the blue jay and sunset photos are so gorgeous, Robin. I love them!
    kathy

  7. boatacrosstheriver says:

    My favorite is Wind in the Willows. Love the quote there at the end, as well.

  8. carlaat says:

    Fall milkweed is my favorite. Always a treat to take a moment to visit the bogs with you!

  9. dragonfae says:

    My first thought seeing the bluebird pic was “Bluebird butt!”. 🙂

    Love the fall colors! We don’t get much of that here … and never any snow. 😦

  10. TBM says:

    Love the photos. My favorite is the pumpkin sunset. Just gorgeous

  11. jane tims says:

    Hi. Great post, from the ‘Bluebird’ to the ‘Wind in the willows’. I like your take on the windows challenge. We have lots of windows and they bring the outside in! Jane

  12. Bluebirds…we never see them here. He’s so lovely!

  13. I think Autumn must be a Crone!

  14. Karma says:

    I love having a peek out your windows – thanks for the point of view! I’ve already had enough of the S word, but I am sure it isn’t anywhere near done with us.

  15. Marianne says:

    Cute bluebird, Robin. I’ve never seen a bluebird. We have a lot of blue jays here though.

    The colder temp has made its way here. The frost on the neighbors roofs is like a thick blanket of snow. Brrrr!

  16. Dana says:

    The Bogs look beautiful, Robin– thanks for sharing these photos!

  17. eof737 says:

    It is a beautiful world out there and you capture it in stunning colors. That shot of the blue bird makes me want to sing… 🙂

  18. Beautiful views!!
    The bluebird is so cute (I like the second version, it looks like a painting). Love the pumpkin sunset and the hot air balloon, but my favorite is the leaves floating in the pond.

  19. I really like your pov on the window theme, and what views you have from your window, Robin. How fortunate you are. Love the pumpkin sunset too.

  20. Loved the pumpkin sunset!

  21. Kathy says:

    Oh sweet little bluebird! I loved the milkweed pods, too. Saw some on a walk today and wished for the camera.

  22. Robin says:

    Thank you, thank you, and thank you. I appreciate all your comments. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit. 🙂


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

