Gone shopping

Autumn reflections at the Holden Arboretum

It’s one of those shopping days.  I’ll be going north, up near Cleveland, to make the pilgrimage to Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods to pick up things I can’t find at our local grocery store.

Our local stores have improved somewhat in their selections, but I still can’t find Quorn products, tempeh, miso, or the baked tofu I like so much for both the flavor and convenience.  I try not to buy too many convenience foods so this is an indulgence of sorts.

Autumn reflections at the Holden Arboretum II

Since this type of shopping trip takes up most of the day, I scheduled this post to fill in for me while I’m away.  Have a great Friday and I hope your weekend is wonder-filled.  🙂

17 Comments on “Gone shopping”

  1. Happy Weekend!
    (I go every few months to stock-up on good olive oil…and have a nice lunch out. Takes an hour and a half, each way, but SO worth it!)

  2. dragonfae says:

    Love the pictures with reflections in the pond … I love stuff like that. 🙂

  3. skip704 says:

    I was in Trader Joe’s the other day. Shopping there is an enjoyable experience. I was in the Holden Arboretum just the other day too. That probably doesn’t come as a surprise. Your pictures are absolutely beautiful. Well done!

  4. Happy shopping, Robin! Say hello to Cleveland for me.
    Kathy

  5. Kel says:

    i really like Quorn products and would travel further afield to get them too. Luckily a local supermarket stocks a few of their products. We don’t use them much either, but it’s nice to have them in the freezer for use as required.

    nothing like having a nicely stocked pantry/freezer

  6. Brian says:

    only 41 this morning in Florida. BRRRRRRRRR

  7. jenna says:

    Now that you’ve tried ICM’s caldo verde, keeping the tempeh in inventory is a must!

  8. penpusherpen says:

    Have a wonderful week-end Robin, I’ll just sit here and soak up the melding gold colours of Autumn shown in your atmospheric photo’s … and I shall also take a peek back a couple of days as I’m sure I’ve missed a few of your updates… xPenx

  9. eof737 says:

    Have a great weekend too… You are visiting two of my favorite food stores. Enjoy! 🙂

  10. Oooh, I love going to those “special” stores we don’t shop at often. For us it’s Central Market (too far away, and too expensive).
    Hope your shopping trip was successful!

  11. I have a similar trek that I have to do to get to those very same markets: Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods which is 1.2 hours away. We started a petition to at least get Trader Joe’s here, but they said the demographics weren’t good enough. 😦 Bummer.

  12. carlaat says:

    Beautiful photos and I’m jealous that you have a Trader Joe’s! Still no Trader Joe’s in NOLA 😦

  13. jane tims says:

    Hi. I’m comparing photos one and three. I love the rose sky in three, and the colors of the trees themselves in one. They are very different in effect. I wonder if they were taken the same day? Jane

  14. Robin says:

    Thank you so much everyone for all of your lovely comments. 🙂


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

