Where frost and fog meet

Rumor has it I missed our first frost of the season.  But since I wasn’t here for it, today’s frost was my first of the season.

The fog was incredibly thick this morning.  Because it was so soupy, I almost missed the frost.

Frost on Queen Anne's Lace

We’ve had heavy rainfall the past two days so this was the first chance I’ve had to take a walk around the pond.  The water level in the pond is high, and the earth is becoming liquid.

Some of the trees have lost all of their leaves.  Some have lost most of their leaves.  And a few here and there (such as the willows) still have most of their leaves.  It is quite a mix out there.

I wore a hat and my winter coat.  I forgot my gloves.  My hands were cold and slightly numb by the time I made it back to the house, but it must have been warming up.  The frost had melted into dew and was dripping off of everything.

It looks like our friends and family out east will have their first snowfall before we do.  That’s highly unusual.  I am a little jealous.  Just a little.  I am not ready for snow just yet.  I’d like to get in a couple more bike rides before the white stuff coats the landscape.

We all like to congregate at boundary conditions.  Where land meets water.  Where earth meets air.  Where bodies meet mind.  Where space meets time.  We like to be on one side, and look at the other.

~ Douglas Adams, Mostly Harmless

While out and about somewhere, I heard an old wives’ tale that if you have heavy rainfall in autumn, there will be less snow in winter.  We’ll see.

A summer fog for fair,
A winter fog for rain.
A fact most everywhere,
In valley or on plain.

~ Weather lore

I still haven’t seen a woolly bear.  I wonder where they’re all hiding this year?

That’s it from the Bogs for today.  Thank you for dropping by and joining me on my walk.  I hope you didn’t get lost in the fog and that your feet didn’t get as wet as mine did.

50 Comments on “Where frost and fog meet”

  1. CMSmith says:

    Nice pictures of the frost. We had a frost here, but I didn’t think to photograph it. Good idea.

  2. milkayphoto says:

    You make frost and fog look beautiful, Robin!

    I’d GLADLY trade you our impending snowfall tomorrow for better weather! We had a dusting this morning followed by chilly temps all day. Not ready for this AT ALL! No fair in October! Especially when I still have some garden transplantings and clean-up work to do.

    Sigh…on Wednesday I was wearing a cute sundress and sandals while walking the food carts in Epcot. Funny what a difference a few days make.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Tracy. 🙂

      I still have garden work to do, too. I had hoped to finish that before the month was over, but adding extra days to our trip east has made that nearly impossible now. I do hope we have at least one more good spell of dry weather before winter sets in.

  3. tedgriffith says:

    What lovely frost and fog pics, Robin. We just finished with rain here, and now the temps are begining to drop at night. (this morning was 26)

  4. Ohhhh….I love your photos of the frost!…so pretty… : )

  5. Bo Mackison says:

    I love fog photos, the frost is a big bonus. Bet your hands were cold by the time you got inside–seems taking photos makes them even colder than just walking.

  6. kathy says:

    Gosh, these photos are stunning, Robin.

  7. eof737 says:

    Good grief! Those are stunning frosty and foggy photos… The flowers/plants look magical. We are expecting snow tomorrow but I haven’t seen any frost yet… Phew! 🙂

  8. Beautiful shots! We got almost a foot of snow earlier this week and the fog in the morning has been thick like what you shot above. Hard to believe it’s almost winter!

  9. The wooly bears are all here, cruising along the trails in Lake County! One chilly day last week they all just turned out in force- don’t remember them doing that before.
    I love the photo of frost on the Queen Anne’s Lace!

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Melissa. 🙂

      Maybe some of those woolly bears will head this way. This will be my first year since I started blogging that I didn’t get a photo of one.

  10. dragonfae says:

    I love the frost pictures Robin! I love fog too, but ice crystals fascinate me. 🙂

  11. Isn’t it funny that the trees lose their leaves differently, depending on where you are? Our willows are the first to ‘bare it all’, while the oaks often hang on to their dry leaves all winter. I was reading notes from a Canadian blogger, who said that their oaks are bare, and the beeches hold leaves…Interesting.

    Lovely photos. We’re due for the storm tonight, and I haven’t even had a frost yet!

    • Robin says:

      I hadn’t been paying attention to that, Marie. That is funny. And quite interesting. I wonder why the trees behave in different ways in different places?

      Thank you. 🙂

  12. jane tims says:

    Hi Robin. Your ‘walk’ through the frost and fog made me feel like I was there. I love the seed pods… they look like they’ve had a dusting of sugar. Jane

  13. ladyfi says:

    Wow wow and more wow! Stunning shots! Magical.

  14. This post just took me right there along your walk with you, Robin. The photos are so beautiful and I love the poetry added in…

  15. Great set especially the fog ones. That first one would make a great painting, Robin–watercolor or acrylic. Deep into this winter, I may want to paint one of your bog photos with your permission.

  16. Gorgeous! I hope we get some frost this year, I’ll be out with the camera for sure!
    Our foggy days (mornings, really) aren’t even close to being as pretty as yours.

  17. Dana says:

    Amazing photos, Robin! The close-ups of the frost remind me of those “messages in water” crystal photos by Japanese scientist Masaru Emoto. So pretty!

  18. Wow – that’s some THICK fog! Your frost close-ups look like winter postcards – so pretty!!

  19. grannydog says:

    Your last photograph brought back memories of early morning, Fall walks when I lived in Ontario, Canada. I can almost smell those mornings through your photos! Lovely! 🙂

  20. bearyweather says:

    Very, very pretty photos. We had our first frost yesterday, but I did not get outside with my camera in time for the fog (it had blown away) … but, I did get some “fun with frost” pictures like yours.
    You did great things with fog, thanks for sharing the beauty.

  21. Kathy says:

    Such beautiful shots, Robin. Very beautiful. We had our first “killing” frost on the ground two days ago. But can you believe those Easterners have us beat for snow this year? Couldn’t believe it when Ki called from NYC and said it was snowing yesterday. I’m a little–just a tad–envious, too.

    • Robin says:

      I know, Kathy. It’s hard to believe they beat us to the first snowfall. Ah well. I’m sure we’ll make up for it later in the season. 😀

  22. I love fog shots, they make the world look magical. These are stunning!

  23. Derrick says:

    LOVE those fog pics! They’re outstanding!

  24. mimo khair says:

    These images are brilliant!

  25. Lovely foggy and the frosty pictures, Robin, and the Douglas Adams quote made me smile. I haven’t seen any woolly bears here, either.

    Most of Connecticut did get blanketed with a foot or more of snow Saturday, but we got mostly rain here on the shore. Records have been broken – there has never been this much snow in an October in the state’s recorded history! Biggest power outage in state history, too, even more than Hurricane Irene caused.


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

