Beware

In the language of flowers, a Victorian-era way of communicating with flowers or floral arrangements, the rhododendron means beware, caution, danger.  It is said the reasoning behind it has to do with the leaves of the plant which are poisonous.

Beware lest you lose the substance by grasping at the shadow.

~ Aesop

Beware of missing chances; otherwise it may be altogether too late some day.

~ Franz Liszt

Better beware of notions like genius and inspiration; they are a sort of magic wand and should be used sparingly by anybody who wants to see things clearly.

~ Jose Ortega y Gasset

Caveat emptor
(Let the buyer beware)

In the pursuit of optimizing those numbers we use to indicate good health, I decided to shake up my exercise routine with a new workout DVD which arrived in the mail on Monday.  Late yesterday afternoon I gave it a try.

Have you heard of Tabata training?  I hadn’t either.  It’s a form of high intensity interval training (HIIT).  HIIT has become all the rage lately when it comes to torching calories in a short amount of time.

After reading several good reviews about it, I bought Breathless Body: The Ultimate Calorie Burn by/with Amy Dixon.  The workout consists of eight exercise intervals or drills, in which you do high intensity cardio for twenty seconds followed by ten seconds of rest.  You repeat this eight times during each exercise interval.  (Confused yet?)  There is a different exercise for each exercise series (jumping jacks for the first interval, side skating for the second, volley ball jump for the third, etc.), and you are given three levels to choose from.  I wisely decided on Level 1, Beginner, since this was my first try at it.

I made it through the warm-up, all of the first three exercise intervals, and half way through the fourth interval at which time I decided I would die if I continued.  Breathless Body will indeed leave you breathless.  Sweating.  And sore!  I’m pretty sure just about every muscle in my body is distressed today.  It was a good workout.

I was reminded, later in the evening, that if I want a good workout, we still have a couple of tons of dirt to move, and firewood that needs to be hauled up the big hill.  I could, if I wanted, do a Biggest Loser style workout with the firewood by running down the hill and around the pond, grabbing one piece of wood, running back up the hill, and repeating until I can’t move another inch.  All for free, and without shipping and handling fees.

It’s hard to argue with such reasoning.

Well, that’s it from the Bogs on this sunny Wednesday.  Thank you for dropping by.  If you’re working on optimizing your health numbers too, you’re welcome to join me in an outdoor workout.  Or we could just go for a swim.  That ought to burn a couple of calories.

31 Comments on “Beware”

  1. Wise to to have stopped the workout before the onset of cardic arrest. You deserve an award for common sense in the face of imminent death. Congratulations!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  2. Ellen says:

    let`s go for a swim!!! I like that!!

  3. Aside from the exercise induced near-death experience, some truly gorgeous photographs.

  4. mobius faith says:

    Wonderful images. Good luck with the workout. I’ll stick to riding my bike on the towpath. 🙂

  5. I love your flowers and all the beware quotes, not so much your description of exhaustion-inducing exercises, but I am impressed with your ambitions.

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Bo. I’m not sure I care much for the exhaustion-inducing exercises either, but my body thinks it wants to be the athlete it used to be. Crazy. 😀

  6. dadirri7 says:

    i’ll join you in the pond!

  7. What did azaleas mean? Should I have seen the foreshadowing, when my now-former inlaws used to send one on my birthday every year? 😉

    • Robin says:

      lol! You’re safe there, Marie. It means “take care of yourself for me” or “temperance.” It can also mean romance. 🙂

  8. aFrankAngle says:

    Great use of paths through words, images, and practice.

  9. ladyfi says:

    Wonderfully lush shots! Love those luscious green trees.

  10. Sallyann says:

    You put me to shame with your calorie burning, I’ll hapily join you for a gentle toe-dip in the pond though. 🙂

  11. Karma says:

    Oh my goodness – I just love that photo with the “stars” in the background! Gorgeous!
    I agree that the yardwork beckons as a form of “free” exercise!

  12. I loved the walk today! There’s something about all that sunshine and rich colors that makes one feel so good!

  13. Beware of not stopping your activity when you get to the end of your strength or endurance.

  14. OmbudsBen says:

    I get a kick out of the Victorian habit of ascribing emotions and traits to vegetable blossoms. We humans are just determined to project ourselves onto the world, aren’t we?!

  15. CMSmith says:

    I’ve never heard of Tabata, but I know that interval training is good. I used to be an aerobics instructor, now I’m lucky to be able to walk a few miles. My knees and hips give me fits. It’s a vicious cycle. I need to lose weight so that I can exercise, but I need to exercise so that I can lose weight. I joined a gym several years ago and worked with a trainer for a short while. BIG mistake. I got my knee so screwed up I had to completely back off exercise for a while. Learning from my mistakes.

    Did you read the book, The Language of Flowers?

    • Robin says:

      I’m in that sort of cycle too, Christine. Trying to lose weight, but sometimes having trouble with the aches and pains (knees and hips here, too).

      I have not read The Language of Flowers. There are a few websites that list the flowers and their meanings so I borrow from those. 🙂


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

