Will this post write itself?

Wandering through the Rhododendron Garden at the Holden Arboretum

My thanks to the people who bring me search engine terms to use for post titles.  This one happens to be extremely appropriate as I have no idea what to write about today.  I suspect it’s going to be a lot of rambling about nothing.

I took a reading test this morning.  It’s one of those things online to see how fast you read.  I am a slow reader, it seems.  Faster than a 3rd grader, but slower than an 8th grader.

I’m not sure what to think of that.  Is it good?  Bad?  Who cares?  I’m leaning towards Who cares?  (You can take the test here if you’re so inclined.)

In terms of speed, I scored 28% below the (U.S.) national average.  In comprehension, I was spot on (100% correct).  It’s good to know I comprehend what I read.

I can’t be sure, but I suspect my glasses are to blame.  I need some new specs.  It’s been about three years since I last had my eyes checked.  I didn’t mean to let it go so long.  The need for new glasses is most noticeable to me when I’m using my camera.  I’ve been shooting blind lately.

Well, okay, not blind as in I can’t see anything.  Blind as in things are not in focus.  In a way, it’s fun and interesting because I find surprises when I look at the photos on the big screen (monitor).

Last orange rhododendron for now. I was attracted by the color as well as the light and shadows.

I meant to get new glasses before we travel east on vacation, but it’s too late for that now.

There is a bench back there, in the middle. It looks like it would be a nice place to sit and breathe, enjoying the sights and sounds of nature. (You can click on the photo — any of the photos — to see the slightly larger version. It’s difficult to see the bench in this smaller image.)

Sallyann recently wrote a post where she mentioned being in need of some general maintenance.  I commented that I too was in need of some.  Until I took that reading test this morning, I was thinking more in terms of hair, nails, exercise, etc.  I did take care of my hair this morning, having it cut and colored.  It’s streaked with some fun copper and blonde tones, much better than the silver, gray, and white.  Some day I’ll give in and let the silver, white, and gray go.  It took me a long time to learn to play with things like hair color.  I still haven’t worked up the nerve to go purple or pink.  Maybe next time.

It’s a gray day here in the Bogs.  Plenty of clouds but no rain.  Yesterday and this morning were our last chance for rain for a while.  Maybe next Monday or Tuesday, when we hit the 90s again, we’ll get some of the wet stuff.

Here’s another bench where we can stop, rest, breathe, and just be.

I guess that’s it from me for today.  I’m heading out to the garden to plant some peppers and tomatoes.  Rain or no rain, the planting must go on.  We’ll water everything and hope for the best.

Thank you for visiting and resuming the walk in the Rhododendron Garden at the Holden Arboretum with me.  I hope my chatter hasn’t been too dull or too noisy.  I think I might try a Wordless Walk here on the blog very soon.  Or at least one without me babbling on, one that will give us all some breathing space.

Time to be moving along.

55 Comments on “Will this post write itself?”

  1. I was a teacher — comprehension is the goal in my book! Thanks for your beautiful post as always.

  2. Ellen says:

    well, you are not alone … I`m a “blind” photographer too LOL

    beautiful pictures!!!

  3. I agree – it’s more important to comprehend what you read – way to go!! I’ve often thought about using a search engine term when coming up with post titles – some of them are pretty interesting!! 😉

  4. I thought about taking the reading test.. but why stress myself out after relaxing here reading your blog:) I think artistic people read slowly, so we can savor the words! xo Smidge

  5. Gracie says:

    Lovely post, Robin! I might be taking that test too, as I always thought I read OK, by my standards of course, but maybe my standards are just too low. LOL!

  6. Kala says:

    Your photos are gorgeous as always, Robin. And I know I’m a slow reader, so I don’t need to take that test. 🙂

  7. I think I may be a slow reader, as well. Suppose I should take the test to find out. However, I’m not sure how well I comprehend either. Love the photos, Robin. Must not be completely blind.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  8. Karma says:

    I had no idea that orange rhododendrons existed. They are very bright and cheerful. Looks like you are doing really well for not knowing whether you are focused or not. And it is true what you say about sometimes finding a nice surprise when you see them on the monitor for the first time. I always enjoy your walks, and I am looking forward to days in the future when I’ll get out to do more of my own. Veggie planting planned for this weekend around here – lots of work in store!

  9. heidiknight says:

    Very pretty… and I know what you mean, I might need glasses cause I am starting to wonder what I actually focused on when I get my pics up on my 32 inch iMac screen. It must be age, never had that problem before LOL!
    Lovely post 😉

  10. I had never seen an orange Rhododendron. Didn’t even know there was such a thing. Nice to wander and listen to you ramble today.

  11. fringewalk says:

    Just dicovered your blog, love it! You’re funny 🙂 Thanks x

  12. fringewalk says:

    ps what a lovely stroll 😉

  13. the orange colors are just incredible, translucent and hot at the same time…

    • Robin says:

      Ann: They’re beautiful, aren’t they? I don’t often see orange rhododendrons so I ended up spending a lot of time with them.

  14. Chloe says:

    i get weird seach terms as well lol

    nice photos

  15. oh…a nice rambling time today….and Robin, I just got new glasses…after 7 years with the same ones….I am amazed how beautifully defined and clear leaves and colors look…wow, I didn’t even realize I needed new glasses…(except for the newspaper…I figured I was just as well off not being able to read the articles…just the headlines were more than enough….too much gloom in the papers)…and it seems the stinging in my eyes wasn’t age or allergies…I needed new glasses!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Kathy (PP). 🙂

      I know what you mean. The world will look so crisp and clear when I finally get around to getting new glasses.

  16. thethreesixtyfiveproject says:

    I love rhododendrons! Beautiful as always 🙂

  17. Hi Robin! Thought I’d take the reading test but when I clicked on “here” I got the webpage for Staples. Is that right? 🙂

  18. Oops, I just found it at the bottom of the page. I got 22% faster than the average adult, between 8th and 11th grade for speed, but got only 2/3 of the comprehension questions right!! What a strange little reading segment… 🙂

    • Robin says:

      Cathy: I wonder if you got the strange one I had. I found it difficult to comprehend as it didn’t make much sense to me. lol!

  19. Sallyann says:

    A new hairdo always make me happy, hope it did you too. I did the glasses a month or so ago … varifocals … yuk ! they take forever to get used to again when you get them changed. Watch out for the wrinkles though, I’m sure the optition added a few extra on me when I went to see him. 🙂

  20. dadirri7 says:

    beautiful walk thank you, and my score on the test was the same as yours, below average but fully comprehended!

  21. mobius faith says:

    Most of life is “blah, blah, blah” but it takes an artist to distill it into comprehension. Your photographs do that. They are a “snapshot” that brings everything into clarity. Nice work.

  22. Blather away, Hon…Your Stream of Conciousness stuff is more enjoyable than a lot of pre-planned, over-thought posts out there…including mine 😉

  23. aFrankAngle says:

    Glad you could see the bright colors, but I can’t remember what you wrote about.

  24. jane tims says:

    Hi. I like the shot of the distant Rhododendron where you say there is a bench. If your photos are taken ‘blind’ how great will they be when you have new glasses????!!!! I like the idea of being in need of a little maintenance. I am. Jane

  25. So funny, Robin, but I found myself commiserating most of the time. Though I did take the reading test and scored pretty high – must be that speed reading class I took years ago! I always struggle with glasses and contacts – nothing is ever quite right but I keep hoping for a miracle! Nevertheless, your photos are beautiful as always 🙂

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Lynn. 🙂

      I had a speed reading class in the 6th grade. I used to be a fast reader, but have slowed down considerably over the years.

  26. Dana says:

    I’m inclined to say “who cares?” about your reading test results, too. 🙂 The comprehension part says a lot, but unless you’re actually required to read quickly (and why would you be?), the speed doesn’t matter. I’d rather read slowly and understand what I’ve read than read quickly and not be able to remember or comprehend anything!

    You and I sound like opposites when it comes to dyeing hair. I spent most of my teens sporting a rainbow of different colours, but once I hit twenty, the dyeing stopped completely. We’ll see how I react to grey hairs when they come, but in the meantime, I’m happy being a natural brunette. I still appreciate seeing a plethora of neat colours on other people’s heads, though!

    • Robin says:

      I think it’s the gray, white, and silver that convinced me to start coloring my hair, Dana. Someday I’ll let it go, but I’m just not ready for that yet. I tried it once and got a lot of remarks about how old I look with gray hair. Yikes.

      I agree with you about speed reading. As long as I understand what I’m reading, it’s good. 🙂

  27. Carla says:

    Oh, I love your site so much, Robin. I’ve been away too long. Every time I come here there’s something absolutely beautiful and delicious to see and to read.
    I’m hosting a wordless walk in NOLA tomorrow – I’ll let you know how it goes. It was beautiful on my scouting walk this a.m.
    Cheers!

  28. Kathy says:

    I agree with what Carla just wrote, Robin. wishing I had more time to stop here more often. I took the reading test and failed in the first time, getting every single question wrong. It often feels too challenging to read words one-by-one and I end up skimming and getting a general overview and not always all the important details. Computer screens seem to make it worse. The second test was read much slower (still fast) but I’m somewhere below an 11th grade student. You should be happy you read slowly. You are probably more present with the words as they arise.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you so much, Kathy. 🙂

      I bet the first reading test was that really odd one that I don’t think anyone can really comprehend. I failed that one, too. I agree about computer screens. Reading things on the computer is very tiring to my eyes.

  29. […] Will this post write itself? (bogsofohio.wordpress.com) Share this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like this. « Gratitude 135: Spontaneous drives to explore the unknown […]


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

