44: A pause

(A rainy day in the past.)

It’s a very busy day for me.  I decided I’d better pause for a few minutes so I can get a blog post up.  With two commitments going at once (the outdoor challenge and NaBloPoMo), I have double the reasons to make sure I blog.

We have had rain off and on today.  They say we might get snow tonight.  I’ve been in and out of the house all morning, running errands and trying to fit in my outdoor time.  I’m doing the outdoor time in increments today as it’s just easier that way.

The photo at the top of the post is an old one.  Long-time visitors to Life in the Bogs might recognize it from 2007 when M and I were off on our sabbatical adventures in Pennsylvania.  The sabbatical was the reason I created a blog in the first place.  I was committed to blogging about our adventures as we explored new and old territory.

Anyhow.  The photo was taken on a rainy day in January of 2007 in West Chester, Pennsylvania.  What caught my eye at the time was the shape of the tree (it’s a Japanese maple, I believe) and the way the raindrops were clinging to the branches.

(This morning’s view of the pond.)

I went with an old photo because I haven’t been taking my camera outside with me today.  I don’t think I’ll have time to meander like I usually do or upload photos if I do take any.  It seemed best to go out without it and use something from another rainy day.

The sky has been filled with birds today.  Hundreds and hundreds and hundreds of birds swooping and flying overhead.  I’ve seen several large flocks of them each time I’ve gone out and while taking care of those errands I mentioned earlier.  Every now and then the sun has come out for a minute or two in between the rain showers or while it was raining.  No sign of a rainbow, though.  The sun was probably too high in the sky for that.

I’d better get moving.  I have a very full schedule ahead of me and time is moving much faster than I am today.

See you tomorrow!

12 Comments on “44: A pause”

  1. penpusherpen says:

    Twice we’ve tried to grow Japanese Maple… but for some reason or another, no go..
    This time we’ve tried to contain one in a tub and move it about to ‘see’ if it likes a certain direction of light…British weather does not seem to be conducive to it’s growing more that a few feet…then it gives up hope!!… Last try …lets hope third time lucky
    Rainy days…and a bird filled sky…but no rainbow…ah well, maybe next time…
    lovely blog…. xPenx

    • Robin says:

      Pen: Japanese maples are so difficult to grow. We’ve tried a few times too with no luck. I hope your third time is the charm. 🙂

      Thanks so much for stopping by.

  2. amuirin says:

    You are busy. Thanks for taking a minute to visit yesterday 🙂 Good luck with Nablopomo. The days have a way of coming on relentless with these challenges.

    I recognized the morning view picture.

    • Robin says:

      I thought you might, Amuirin. It’s from the early, early days and I think you were one of my first regular visitors. I always have a minute (and more) to visit with you. 🙂

      Good luck to you with NaNoWriMo.

  3. Marianne says:

    We had snow here this morning. I recently read an article that talked about how the planet is shifting it’s orbit and apparently it will make the position of the equator move northward (or something like that). But, I don’t think it will be in time for this winter. Phooey! LOL

    • Robin says:

      lol, Marianne! That’s ok with me. I don’t want it to get TOO warm. I might end up feeling spoiled that way. 😉

      We saw our first flakes of the white stuff this evening.

  4. Alto2 says:

    Thank you for reminding us all to pause for a moment. I just need to remember that when a child has frayed my last nerve. Oh, and I adore the pink toes at the top of the page!

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Alto2. 🙂 It’s good to see you back in blogworld.

      It’s hard to remember things like pausing (and taking a few deep breaths) when a child has frayed one’s last nerve. My sons may be grown but even as adults they still have that capability. Thankfully, they rarely exercise it (and it’s much harder for them to do now that they are living their own lives and learning what it’s like to be an adult).

  5. Kathy says:

    I did the same thing last November: NaNoWriMo and the outdoor commitment. It felt crazy at times! If it gets too crazy, don’t be afraid to just post one photo and a paragraph. (And go outside.) Blessings!

    • Robin says:

      Kathy: lol! Thank you for the (And go outside) reminder. 😀 It was tough to pull off today because it’s cold and I didn’t bring the proper attire (gloves, hat, and a scarf would all have been nice to have). That will teach me to be prepared from now on.

      One photo and one paragraph posts are likely to start showing up soon.

  6. Anna says:

    Goodness, you are busy! What a challenge with NaBloPoMo. That is one weird Japanese maple. I sure my Japanese maple doesn’t go all way-weird like that. LOL Snow? Yikes… It is getting cold enough for it though. May you catch your breath! Remember… breathe… 🙂

    • Robin says:

      Anna: Yep. Snow. We saw some flakes of the white stuff yesterday. Not sure how much actually came down since we didn’t hang around to find out (we’re traveling again).

      Thank you for the wishes. There are times in life when a reminder to breathe is just the thing needed. 🙂


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

