The gateway

Visualize yourself standing before a gateway on a hilltop.  Your entire life lies out behind you and below.  Before you step through the gateway, pause and review the past:  the learning and the joys, the victories and the sorrows — everything it took to bring you here.  Observe it all, bless it all, release it all.  For it is in letting go of the past that you reclaim your power.

Step through the gateway now.

~ Ralph H. Blum, The Book of Runes

I was cleaning out a drawer and stumbled across a set of Runes, along with The Book of Runes: A Handbook for the Use of an Ancient Oracle: The Viking Runes with Stones: 10th Anniversary Edition.  Stumbled probably isn’t the correct word.  I knew I had a bag of runes somewhere.  I just haven’t seen them in a long time.  So maybe “stumbled” is correct after all.

I pulled a rune from the bag, looked it up, and thought the visualization I quoted at the beginning of the post was perfect for how I’m feeling lately.  A little like The Fool in the Tarot, I suppose, setting off on his journey.

I’m not really going anywhere, of course.  Just getting in the mileage.  I did decide to order a book or two about El Camino de Santiago so I can learn something about it as I set out on my close-to-home pilgrimage.  I also set up a blog, but eh… I don’t know.  It might be too time consuming.  We’ll see.  If you’d like a peek, you can find it here.  There’s not much to look at just yet other than today’s walk.  Another blog is not worth the time and effort if it’s more or less a repeat of what I have going on here.  I like the idea of focusing purely on the daily walks without the travels and other adventures, but right now it seems redundant.  As I type this out, other ideas are coming to mind so it looks like I’ll be playing around until I sort it all out.

The guest bedroom

The photos for this post were taken on our trip east.  A smattering and scattering of scenes along the way.

The Susquehanna River on a hot summer day. The river is the lowest I’ve ever seen it, although I know some old timers have seen it low enough to walk across.

I took a short walk around the neighborhood this morning.  The deer flies were bothersome.  The little bit of traffic we have seems to consist of drivers who prefer to swerve towards me rather than away.  Crazy people.

I didn’t make it around the pond.  I had planned on it, but the deer flies drove me inside.  I’ll put on a hat and insect repellent next time.

That’s it from the Bogs for today.  No news (which, I’m told, is good news).  Thank you for visiting.  The sunsets have been lovely lately, with a few clouds here and there to spread color across the sky.  The lack of rain has caused dust and pollen to build up on the surface of the pond, and it too has been spreading sunset and rainbow colors across the water.  Have a seat on the deck and enjoy the colorful show.  🙂

The pond at sunset yesterday. Resized and sharpened a bit. No other digital manipulation needed (or wanted).

27 Comments on “The gateway”

  1. Robin…that gate at the top…that’s one of the gates in the book I just left a comment to you about…it’s the 2nd gate to be passed through in the second half of life “the white picket gate”…. its the gate of changing identities, discovering one’s true face…a quote… ” this gate marks the choice to be someone who is fully alive, a courageous explorer and adventurer, who is willing to disturb the comfort of familiar roles in order to discover the true face that lies beneath familiar conditioning and cultural imprinting”…wow!…Robin the place you’re describing that you “are,” is right in the pages that I’m reading! (ohh, sorry this is so long! )

    • Robin says:

      Long comments are always welcome, Kathy (PP). I can get rather chatty too when the subject excites me (and I think I HAVE been chatty at your blog once or twice).

      Wow is right! I’m not sure that’s exactly where I am right now, but I’m close. 🙂

  2. Elisa's Spot says:

    the Susquehanna is running pretty high for this time of year here! I have seen it low enough to walk across, a bit under two feet deep(bit past knees).

    • Robin says:

      I think it would be pretty cool to walk across the Susquehanna, Elisa. The spot where I was at has a deep channel with a pretty good current once you get past the middle. It’s shallow up to that point, though, so a few daring folks were out there walking as far as they could.

  3. Pat Bean says:

    Loved your gate, and the pond, especially at sunset.

  4. Robin, I LOVE the photo of the gate in this post. How sweet and welcoming and warm. Well, maybe I shouldn’t use the word “warm,” it’s finally begun to cool down a bit here.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Kathy! 🙂

      “Warm” is okay. It’s “hot” that we need to be concerned about. Isn’t it amazing how good the 80s feel? Weird.

  5. Joanne says:

    The gate photo jumped out at me Robin, and when I read the quote…wow! How perfectly the two blend, with feelings from the heart. You could have ended this blog post there, and I would have rated it five star. I did enjoy the rest of the photos though, seeing as you added them. 🙂

    • Robin says:

      lol, Joanne! That’s good. I almost DID end the post with the gate and the quote. I probably should have because, to be honest, I didn’t feel like I had anything to say.

      The gate is my sister-in-law’s and she was talking about taking down the gate and fence. I told her that I hope she doesn’t because I love it. I know it’s beginning to rot, but that’s one of the things I like about it. Wabi-sabi. 🙂

  6. mobius faith says:

    I love that gate image. A real winner. The “guest bedroom” image is also very cool with fun processing. And I love the pond image – one of your best. I checked out your other blog. I gotta say walking 8-12 miles a day is quite a goal. Good luck.

  7. Chloe says:

    i lovvvve the gate photo & the leaf less tree with birds photograph, both are really lovely

  8. Chris Block says:

    Robin: I don’t get here often enough, but you take fabulous shots and I do appreciate their beauty

    Chris B.

  9. Deerflies and insane drivers…sounds like we tried to take the same walk yesterday. I’ll be happy when the summer people go home. The locals are bad enough…

    • Robin says:

      lol, Marie! It’s that time of year. We don’t have summer people to contend with here, though, so I don’t know what the excuse is for these crazy drivers.

  10. aFrankAngle says:

    Hmmmm … Camino de Robin does have a ring.

  11. Karen says:

    No news is usually always good news. Enjoyed your photos.

  12. Dana says:

    The first photo and the accompanying quote from the Book of Runes were perfect, Robin! We had some hand-carved runes given to us as a wedding gift and I absolutely love drawing one stone every solstice and equinox. Magical!

  13. Sallyann says:

    That sunset in the pond looks really peaceful, a quiet sit on your deck sounds like a lovely idea. 🙂


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

