A tree

Cosmic Tree

Cosmic Tree

You are a child of the universe, no less than the trees and the stars.  In the noisy confusion of life, keep peace in your soul.

~ Max Ehrmann

Hello!  How are you?  Doing well, I hope.  Seems like it’s been a while although it really hasn’t been that long at all.  Time is strange.  Stretching, flying, doing its own thing while the rest of us go on doing, well, whatever it is we do.

Today’s Capture Your 365 prompt is A Tree.  I’ve been taking a lot of photos of trees the past few days so this was a good prompt for me today.

Searching

Searching

I’ve been out exploring and experimenting, enjoying some time away from the computer.  I’m not entirely sure I’m back on regular basis just yet.

Reaching

Reaching

I like having the extra time to play.  It’s made me rethink blogging.  Or, at the least, my approach to blogging.

In the fog and snow

In the fog and snow

Anyway.  It’s been a good break.  What have you been up to lately?  Anything new and fun?  Old and fun?  Or just plain fun?

Foggy flutters

Foggy flutters

It’s wintry here in the Bogs again.  The surface of the pond is just about frozen over and after a brief period of rain this morning, the snow is flying once more.  It looks as though the cold-warm-cold-warm trend is going to continue.  We’re in a between time.  Not winter.  Not spring.  Just the two seasons battling back and forth.

In a pine forest

In a pine forest.  I thought I should add some sunshine to this post since some of the previous images might seem a little gloomy.

That’s it from the Bogs for today.  Thank you for stopping by.  The wind is starting to pick up around here, and it’s expected to be blustery, snowy, and cold tonight and tomorrow.  I’ve got the fire going in the fireplace to heat up the house so I suggest we have a seat by the fire, listen to the wind, and watch the snowflakes fly by.

A weekend sunset.

A weekend sunset.


34 Comments on “A tree”

  1. Joanne says:

    I had missed seeing you here Robin, but also knew that you would be spending your time offline in a way that you wanted to. I have the opposite going on just now, I want to spend more time online, but I have so much work to do offline! The weather is cooler and very blustery here today also. Winter seems to have arrived early. Must run now, I hear work calling again. See you soon and have a wonderful day (or night).🙂

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Joanne. 🙂 It’s sort of good to be back, but… I have to admit that it was nice to walk away from the blog, the email, and the computer screen in general for a few days. I decided I should take a break from my break before I walked away completely without looking back. I’m not sure that would actually happen, although the feeling (nudge) was there.

      I was going to write “stay warm,” but I know you don’t enjoy hot and humid weather anymore than I do so… enjoy your cooler weather. I hope work gives you some time off to do what you want to do. 🙂

  2. I loved “Searching”!!!

    New fun: learning the guitar. Right now I am learning how to make my finger tips numb pressing on wires that some silly person thought to call “strings” on a guitar. Misnomer! But fun none the less. 😉

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, CM. (I heard you like being called by initials so I thought I’d try it out.)

      That does sound like fun! I located my Irish penny whistle and decided to give it a try again. I play a mean rendition of “Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star.”

  3. I took a little break for a bit – it was sunny and the outdoors was calling!
    I love your first wintery trees! Not gloomy – full of stories to tell and so elegant like a ballet – like a fairy tale beginning…
    Of course the quote is outstanding – and the sunset (do you see that big cloud hand on the right reaching for the sun?)

    • Robin says:

      Sunshine and fresh air are the best reasons of all for a break, PhilosopherMouse. Glad you answered the call.

      Thank you. I completely missed the hand. Great catch! 🙂

  4. Stacie says:

    I love the cosmic tree and the pine forest! I know what you mean about taking a break from the computer. It’s always a struggle, trying to balance real life and online life. Real life is definitely more fulfilling!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Stacie. 🙂 I have to agree. Computer life can be fun, but it’s just not the same as getting out there and living. I keep thinking that finding balance between the two should be easy, but haven’t yet figured out how to make it easy.

  5. Dana says:

    Oh, the online vs offline battle! I’ve decided that I won’t have anything interesting to write online unless I dedicate time to my offline pursuits. (Besides, I’m sure Marty would have a thing or two to say about me being 100% online. How’s that for a partner?)

    Hope you enjoyed your time away from the computer. I am just catching up now.🙂

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Dana. 🙂

      That’s a great point. One of the reasons I decided to take a break was a lack of anything to write about. I was getting bored with myself.

  6. Such “wow” photos – the first one, all shimmery an blue. Trees are such a scrumptious subject!

  7. Tammy says:

    The trees are lovely but that last sky shot, amazing. Love the Ehrmann quote.

  8. aFrankAngle says:

    Big wow on the last pic. I haven’t been visiting blogs as much because too much currently on my plate. Just want to say HI … and that I haven’t forgotten you.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Frank. 🙂 I’ve gotten pretty far behind, too, and need to get caught up with you to see what’s going on. Hopefully I’ll be around to visit soon.

  9. Karma says:

    I think even when you are on a blogging break you post more regularly than I do, lol. I had plans to blog more often this week since I’m on winter break from school but it hasn’t happened yet. I wanted to go out and find different spots to take pictures but then I look out at the cold wind that has been blowing for days now it seems and I don’t do it. Here it is mid-week already! Your weekend sunset is lovely.

    • Robin says:

      lol, Karma! I’m just a blogging machine, it seems. Feels like it at times. That was another good reason to take a break. I’d like to be less machine and more human. 😀

      It’s blustery here today with the high expected to be in the low 20’s. The thought of stepping out into the frigid wind is not appealing at all, so I know just how you feel. I’ll probably force myself out there if for no other reason than to fill the bird feeders. It might be a very quick trip. lol!

  10. Welcome back, Robin. Hope your time away was restorative – that sunset photo is a stunner!

  11. Lovely trees, Robin – they are so sculptural and even more so outlined with snow or ice.

  12. FeyGirl says:

    Truly stunning… Just beautiful images!!

  13. dearrosie says:

    Oh gosh your trees are so beautiful and some of them could even be described as “ghostly”🙂

  14. I agree with Rosie; those trees are ghostly, ethereal. And I love the weekend sunset.🙂

  15. Sallyann says:

    It seems I’ve been missing from your blog too, but I haven’t really. I read the posts on my phone as they come in usually, some I can add a quick comment too but poking the little screen with my finger isn’t the way to enjoy your photos so I always wait until I can sit for a while with a coffee and hopefully a cake (this time a fishfinger sandwich).
    I have an hour or so to myself before I go off to work and I’m enjoying strolling around the pond with you. 🙂
    Thanks. 😀

  16. I love how you edited the tree shots, it looks like fairyland🙂.


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

