Blustery Day

February 2013 017a

‘What day is it?’, asked Winnie the Pooh
‘It’s today,’ squeaked Piglet
‘My favorite day,’ said Pooh

~ A. A. Milne

February 2013 013a

The wind is roaring here in the Bogs today.  It’s warm, though, and most of the snow has melted.

Another sign of spring!

Another sign of spring

The daffodils and crocuses were making their way up under the snow, and one or two of the crocuses are almost blooming now that they’ve been freed from the blanket of snow and ice.

February 2013 008a

Today’s Capture Your 365 prompt is Entertain.  I entertained all sorts of possibilities, even going so far as to write an entire blog post around a few of those possibilities, and then decided I’d rather show you some of the little things happening around the pond and Breezy Acres.

February 2013 009a

Mother Nature is much more entertaining than I am.

Twirly things

Twirly things

With the land around here showing signs of an early spring, I am going to dive into an early spring cleaning.  M and I have a long list of cleaning and freshening up projects, including painting the living room and dining room.

February 2013 022a

After having a look at the list of upcoming industriousness, I have decided it’s time for me to take a break from my blog.  I’ll probably pop in on you from time to time, but won’t be posting here unless, of course, there’s something that just can’t wait.

February 2013 023a

I’m thinking a week, maybe two, should be good.  Maybe longer.  We’ll see.  It depends on how far along I get with the cleaning and organizing and painting.

February 2013 024a

Maybe by the time I come back from my break I’ll be ready to make the switch to my new blog.  (For those who missed the announcement, I’ve decided to move to a new blog home.  Don’t worry.  You didn’t miss anything else.  I haven’t yet announced where my new blog home will be.)

February 2013 031a

I do have a post ready and scheduled for Thursday Travels so don’t be surprised when you see it.

February 2013 032a

That’s about it from me and from the Bogs for now.  Thank you so much for visiting, and for all your comments and likes.  A warm welcome to my new visitors.  Sorry to take off just as you arrived, but I’ll be back soon.  I’m sure the time will fly right by.

Windy

Windy

Be good, be kind, be loving, just Be.  :)

Today's big view of the pond

Today’s big view of the pond

Oh, and here’s a little treat I found:

And if you’re a grandmother or have a grandmother, you might like this too.


51 Comments on “Blustery Day”

  1. Pat Bean says:

    Love the pooh quote, and the photos, too.

  2. Gracie says:

    It’s nice to see some colors are starting to pop up on your neck of the woods, Robin.

  3. Denise says:

    Magnificent photos and loved the video. I enjoyed all very much and the Winnie the Pooh quote was icing on the cake.

  4. No blog that includes Pooh can be anything but wonderful. 🙂

    • Robin says:

      I think you must be right, CM. Winnie the Pooh makes everything wonderful. And sometimes a little funny, in a childish way. A few years ago, I bought some toys at one of those big chain toy stores, and unbeknownst to me until I had checked out, if you spent a certain amount, you got a free, stuffed Winnie the Pooh. The cashier started to hand me the cute, not-so-little, bear that loves honey, paused a moment, and asked, “Do you want a bag for your Pooh?” If you’re not already laughing, say it out loud. I dare you. 😀

  5. Pooh knows best. (And there’s quite a lot to muse over in your other posts to keep us busy for a while.So we’ll sit quietly over here while you get stuff done.)
    Take care and save up thoughts – hasta later!

  6. dadirri7 says:

    fascinating to me that already life and colour are reappearing, when so recently snow blanketed everything at the Bogs! have fun spring cleaning …. come back refreshed … blustery days are good for blowing out the cobwebs🙂

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Christine. 🙂 The snow will be blanketing everything again soon. Spring and winter will battle it out for a while. If we’re lucky, we’ll have a decent spring. If not, we’ll shoot right into the heat of summer.

  7. Great pics, good Pooh and I like the song too!

  8. becky6259 says:

    Seriously, do you EVER take a bad picture?! Beautiful photographs! I enjoyed the two videos, too!

  9. SAJ says:

    Beautiful pictures robin!

  10. Corina says:

    I love seeing the signs of spring in your post today. I’ll have to bundle up and go see if I can find any around here!

  11. Val says:

    Wow, the mood changes with each photo. Brilliant! (And I also love the winnie the pooh quote.🙂 )

    I am always a little concerned for the spring bulbs though, and worry that a frost will come and upset them.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Val. 🙂 I worry about the spring bulbs, too. We have another freeze coming, along with snow. The plants usually do okay as long as the freeze doesn’t last long.

  12. Chloe says:

    spring isn’t too far away for you, i know this because yesterday i noticed a handful of fallen leaves in my yard

  13. Lovely photos, Robin; the only crocus I’ve seen so far have been the bulbs pushed up out of the earth in the freeze thaw cycle. Snowdrops are blooming, though. Enjoy your break🙂

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Lynn. 🙂 I think I’ll plan some snowdrops this year. We don’t have any, and I love seeing their little white heads drooping over the grass.

  14. aFrankAngle says:

    “Blustery” seems to fit the opening pic. Ah yes – signs of perks of the life ahead. Great video and music!!!

  15. Spring seems to be arriving very soon there, Robin. Love your pictures, as always. Good luck with all your projects and enjoy your break. I’m looking forward to your new blog! 🙂

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Barbara. I think it will be a few more weeks before I make the move to the new blog. I might as well use up what space I have left here. 🙂

  16. Phil Lanoue says:

    All outstanding Robin!

  17. Amy says:

    All are so, so beautiful, Robin!

  18. Sallyann says:

    Lovely spring pictures, thanks. 🙂
    Especially the birds nest, wonderful finishing touches around the top. 😀

  19. I have got to remember to plant more crocuses…the daffs have their noses up, but we’re a long way from color!
    I wish you wonderful, spring-ish weather, to speed your chores along…See you on the other side!

  20. Xandi says:

    Great shots, like them!

  21. Karma says:

    Best of luck with the organizing project! Want to come here and do my house when you are done? How wonderful to see crocuses in February. We’re getting a fresh coating of snow right now as I write this comment, though it is gentle this time around rather than blizzard-like. I like the “twirly things” too! As good a name for them as any, I’m sure!🙂

    • Robin says:

      lol, Karma! Nah. I have enough work right here at home. I’m still at it, sorting and cleaning and organizing. It’s a bigger project than I originally thought.

      Thank you. 🙂

  22. […] Christmas time, I was wishing for a little bit of it, but now I’m ready for it to be done.  Robin was showing pictures of crocuses this week!  Kate has a beautiful bud of some sort featured in a gorgeous week of […]

  23. I love the early signs of spring… and that bird nest!! Have fun with all your spring projects! I love the little tidbit song.🙂


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

