A Pop of Red

And a spot of silliness

And a spot of silliness

I’m so fortunate to be red!  I’m fiery.  I’m strong.  I know men take notice of me and that I cannot be resisted.

I do not conceal myself: For me, delicacy manifests itself neither in weakness nor in subtlety, but through determination and will.  So, I draw attention to myself.  I’m not afraid of other colours, shadows, crowds or even of loneliness.  How wonderful it is to cover a surface that awaits me with my own victorious being!  Wherever I’m spread, I see eyes shine, passions increase, eyebrows rise and heartbeats quicken.  Behold how wonderful it is to live!  Behold how wonderful to see.  I am everywhere.  Life begins with and returns to me.  Have faith in what I tell you.

~ Orhan Pamuk, My Name is Red

Today’s CaptureYour365 challenge is “A Pop of Red.”  I had a lot of trouble with this one because there is very little red in my home.  I was hoping to find something I could place in the snow to make it pop, but the only available red in the house happens to belong to the cherry tomatoes who asked me not to take them out into the cold.  Rather than skip this one completely, I decided to play.  Nothing great came of it except for a few smiles and some amusement.

February 2013 005ab

I wonder why we have so little red.  It’s not my favorite of all the colors, but I don’t dislike it, either, unless it’s contained in clothing that I have to wear.  Red is not a good color for me because I already have so much red going on in my own coloring.

February 2013 005c

It’s still snowing here in the Bogs.  I’m thinking about going skiing in just a bit so I’ll keep this post short.  A spot of silliness shouldn’t be lengthy.  That would be beside the point, and beyond a spot.

Turning tomatoes into roses.  (Done in Picmonkey)

Turning tomatoes into a background for roses. (Done in Picmonkey)

Thanks for visiting.  Feel free to add your own spot of silliness in the comments.  :)

Two'fer

Two’fer (From today’s walk)


22 Comments on “A Pop of Red”

  1. YOu should have included some of your red coloring for the pictures! 🙂

  2. mobius faith says:

    Fun photos. Orhan Pamuk is one of my favorite authors. I just started reading his more recent novel MUSEUM OF INNOCENCE.

  3. Kathy says:

    I would have taken the tomatoes outside in the snow!! *grin*

  4. […] A Pop of Red (bogsofohio.wordpress.com) […]

  5. Great solution – the face made me smile…

  6. I LOVE the cherry tomato face! So fun, Robin. Reminder, there’s some red inherent in your name–Robin–red breasted. Don’t know what that might suggest.

    Sorry to have been so absent recently. Preparing to move to Ecuador has been more consuming than I’d imagined.

    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Kathy M. Good to see you. 😀 No apologies necessary. I wouldn’t be able to keep up either, if I was preparing to move to Ecuador. Or anywhere for that matter. 🙂

  7. Oooo….great shot of the crow! What does he have in his mouth?

  8. hannekekoop says:

    Love those tomatoes (say cheese ?). Thank you for the big smile, Robin.

  9. Joanne says:

    The red tomatoes are very happy to be the Stars of the Bogs today, but you should have shared the spotlight with them! It’s been ages since we saw a self-portrait of you and your red hair!🙂

  10. Adela says:

    Years ago my mind went down a side alley and I added cheery tomatoes to my shopping list. They’ve e remained cheery tomatoes in this house. Yours are ever so cheery.

  11. Karma says:

    So cute! Thanks for the tomato-y smile!


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

