Sunday walk

Snowy trail

Snowy trail

(1) The more thoroughly a photographer explores his subject with the camera (i.e., the more pictures he makes), the more he sees and the better his chance of getting good results.
(2) Even slight changes in subject approach can make significant differences in the effect of the picture.

~ Andreas Feininger, Principles of Composition in Photography

This morning's view of the pond

This morning’s view of the pond

It is a gorgeous, gorgeous day here in the Bogs.  The sky was clear and a brilliant blue this morning.  The sun has been shining.  The snow has been sparkling.  And, as you can see from the above photo, we woke to see the surface of the pond iced over.

Grass and glitter

Grass and glitter

I walked all around Breezy Acres this morning, even down into the woods.  The shadows on the snow looked blue so I’ve left it that way in my images.  I could tweak them so the snow is white, but why?

The littlest holly

The littlest holly

While out on my walk, it occurred to me that I am already a quarter of the way through my third year of getting outside every day.  That’s a lot of days photographing pretty much the same subject matter (with the occasional breaks when I travel or go hiking elsewhere).  The only time I can remember experiencing any kind of boredom was in the beginning months, around late autumn of 2010.

A look at the creek

A look at the creek (Today)

Somewhere along the way, I began to notice that it’s never the same walk.  The change might be small, but change is always happening.  However, I’ve written about that numerous times so let’s move on to something else.

A look at the creek (two years ago).

A look at the creek (two years ago).

Our job is to record, each in his own way, this world of light and shadow and time that will never come again exactly as it is today.

~ Edward Abbey

Another look at the creek from two years ago because, gosh, wasn't it pretty?

Another look at the creek from two years ago because, gosh, wasn’t it pretty?

Something else occurred to me while I meandered today.  I have always enjoyed photography, but I don’t think I came to really love it until I learned how to capture light.  That sounds odd, doesn’t it?  Photography, at its most basic level, is (was?) a means of transferring light onto a light sensitive surface.  Light, so the experts say, is what photography is all about.

Back to today's walk, and today's view of the creek.

Back to today’s walk, and today’s view of the creek.

The moment you take the leap of understanding to realize you are not photographing a subject but are photographing light is when you have control over the medium.

~ Daryl Benson

Still in the woods

Still in the woods

I’m not sure what I thought I was doing before I switched the camera control from auto settings to manual.  Recording images, I suppose.  The auto settings rarely captured light they way I saw it.  I can’t tell you how many times I was disappointed with the outcome.  Frustrated that what I was shooting didn’t match what I was seeing.  A spot of light on a leaf.  The illumination of grass at sunrise or sunset.  Or something as simple as the light and shadows in the woods.  Learning how to capture (or almost capture, because nothing’s perfect) my inner and outer vision has turned a pastime into a passion.

Ice and bubbles

Ice and bubbles

I’m still learning, of course.  I always will be, I hope.  Every day is new, so every day is made up of new things to learn and/or experience.

December 2012 043a

I guess that’s it from the Bogs for today.  Thank you for wandering around the pond and the woods with me.  The sledding hill is open for play.  Just make sure you stay to the right as you near the bottom.  You don’t want to end up in the pond.  That way lies hypothermia (and possibly dragons, because who knows what lurks in the pond during the winter months?).

The little grove of evergreens near the woods

The little grove of evergreens near the woods

Wishing you a delightful day, evening, night… wherever and whenever you are on the spectrum of time.

December 2012 057a

11 Comments on “Sunday walk”

  1. Joanne says:

    You certainly have (and always do!) capture the light brilliantly Robin. I love your blue snow and also the blue and purple tones in the photo of the grove of evergreens. Your photos are magic and they sing to me! Or perhaps that’s my heart singing in delight at seeing your beautiful area where you live. I’m only a novice with photography but I have already realised the difference the light of the day can make to a photo. 🙂

  2. Pat Bean says:

    As always, I enjoy taking a walk with you.

  3. Another beautiful walk by the pond, Robin. Perfect for the holiday. Merry Christmas! 🙂

  4. aFrankAngle says:

    Brrrr … I haven’t seen that much snow yet. Merry Christmas to you and your family!!!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Frank. 🙂 Do you get much snow down your way? We didn’t see much of it when we lived in the southeastern part of the state. The winters were usually rainy and gray.

      • aFrankAngle says:

        The last blast split Cincy in half with the west getting the brunt, but the east not so. …. good news I live on the not-so side. … yep, our winters usually are very gray and brown.

  5. Anita Mac says:

    Gorgeous collection! Isn’t this time of year so much fun for photography! Amazing how mother nature perseveres in the colder temperatures! Love the grasses in the glittering snow! Beautiful.
    Wishing you and your family a happy Christmas and a fantastic new year! Looking forward to more photos from the bogs.


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

