Dependability

Reflection on a snowy day

Reflection on a snowy day

Dependability is that quality of sureness which makes folks know that the task assigned will be accomplished, that the promise made will be kept, a golden quality — but to be effective it must be accompanied by at least a moderate amount of something to give and a pleasant manner of giving.

~ Clarissa A. Beesley, Young Woman’s Journal, Salt Lake City, Utah, November 1925

The stable

The stable

Yesterday I pulled out a deck of Tarot cards (the Rider-Waite deck, for those inquiring minds that might want to know).  I have several decks, but the Rider-Waite, my first, is the one I usually go to when it has been a long time since I looked at the cards.  For quite a while I’ve thought about using the Tarot as the basis for a series of photographs.  The trouble is, thinking about it is pretty much all I’ve done with idea.

One of the standing stones here at Breezy Acres

One of the standing stones here at Breezy Acres

I shuffled the deck, not sure why I pulled it out, and then decided to randomly choose ten cards with the notion of, oh, I don’t know.  Maybe seeing what they inspired photographically.  After pulling the cards, I put the rest of the deck away and set aside the ten cards without looking at them.  Today I looked at the first card with the thought in mind that I’ll look at one each Saturday and see what I can make of it.

December 2012 052a

One thing I won’t make of it is a long-term promise to continue.  That’s why I picked ten cards.  It limits the project.  I’m not exactly the picture of dependability when it comes to projects of this nature.  I start out with lots of enthusiasm and excitement.  Then the muse who inspired me becomes a snowbird and flies south for the winter, leaving me wondering why I started in the first place.  Ten seems do-able, and there is always the option to continue.

December 2012 078a

The first card out of the deck for this short-term project is the King of Pentacles.  When I saw it, I thought of M because the King of Pentacles and M are, in fact, pictures of dependability.  The King also reminds me a bit of the Ghost of Christmas Present from A Christmas Carol.  Something about his robe and the vines decorating the card bring that particular spirit to mind.  Or maybe it’s just the season for thoughts of that nature appear.  In readings, the court cards (Kings, Queens, etc.) can represent a person, but they also symbolize attributes or actions you should take.

Ice on the pond

Ice on the pond

I’ll give the King some thought over the next few days.  He’s the kind of guy that meets his commitments and promises.  Reliable. Competent.  He’s not all work and no play.  He’s also someone who enjoys life, knows how to relax, and has a closeness to nature.  I may consult Ye Olde Archives because I already have an image in mind, although I’m not sure it’s one that exists in my collection.

Winter's artwork

Winter’s artwork

Dependability is more important than talent.  Dependability is a talent, and it is a talent all can have.  It makes no difference how much ability we possess if we are not responsible and dependable.

~ Floyd L. Bennett, Saints’ Herald, Independence, Mo., Oct. 12, 1953

Island

Island

In other news…

The snow event didn’t bring us enough accumulation for cross-country skiing.  Ah well.  Perhaps the next round will.  We did get a nice covering, although the wind blew so much of it around that I’m pretty sure there must be a huge snowdrift sitting somewhere east of here, a place where all the snow ended up after the wind settled.

Ice drops

Ice drops

I reckon that’s it from the Bogs on this cold Saturday.  The wind is finally dying down a bit so it might be a good time to take a stroll around the pond.  Be sure to bundle up.  Even without the wind, it’s chilly.  Have a look around the edges of the pond.  Ice is forming into little jewels clinging to the plants that ended up in the water as a result of all the rain we’ve had over the past month or two that brought the pond back up to the usual level.

Blue on blue

Blue on blue

Wishing you a delightful day, evening, night… wherever and whenever you are on the spectrum of time.  🙂

December 2012 056a

An idea that is developed and put into action is more important than an idea that exists only as an idea.

~ Buddha

December 2012 057a

28 Comments on “Dependability”

  1. Jo Ann says:

    Your photographs have inspired me to take some winter pictures. There is beauty in every season and I need to go find it.

    • Robin says:

      I have to agree, Jo Ann. No matter what the season, there is beauty to be found. I’m happy to have inspired you to get out and enjoy it. 🙂

  2. Joanne says:

    Robin, are you sure that it is not only M who is the dependable one? I can always, always, depend on you to take me on a beautiful and relaxing stroll around Breezy Meadows and on an interesting meander through your thought processes.

    You may have noticed that I haven’t been around the blogosphere for the last few weeks (again…sigh….) with the “real world” getting in the way yet again, however you can always depend on me to return. Not exactly the type of “dependability” I would like to be known for though. I much prefer your style of dependability. It is so good to be back. 🙂

    • Robin says:

      Well, Joanne, I suppose I am somewhat dependable when it comes to blogging. Maybe too dependable?! I really should take a nice long break, but can’t seem to get myself to do it.

      Welcome back to the blogosphere. 🙂 (I’m so far behind that you’ve been back for at least a week or two now.)

  3. mobius faith says:

    Wonderful wintry images. I l-o-v-e that stone. How cool.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Terry. Putting the stone up was a comedy (it’s heavy enough to have almost tipped over a backhoe). We still get a big laugh out of it. 🙂

  4. dadirri7 says:

    dependability … hmmmm … i can depend on you for photos and words that take me on a journey, more than just a stroll around breezy acres … happy holidays robin 🙂

  5. I always have to read your posts twice: once to marvel at the pictures (the stone is so mysterious – and seems appropriate for this time of year) and once to muse over the thoughts.(gotta love Buddha…I have several Tarot decks, too from many years ago) So much in so little space. Thanks for all the effort and time you put in. Much appreciated. May warmth and joy find your hearth and linger long there.

  6. My favorite is the reflection in the window. Or is it a spirit? 🙂

  7. Sallyann says:

    Pretty little jewels around the pond. 🙂

  8. How interesting is all your wonderings…I too think of making a Tarot Deck with photographs. But Buddha is speaking directly to me when he talks about those ideas that only exist in the mind. Sigh. I have soooo many of those!

    That stone is fascinating. A tiny portal into a mysterious other-land?

    And there IS a certain dependablity in your posts — it’s a joy to share the simpler parts of life you share — your dependable walk around the pond, your musings about things important, your commitment ot bettering yourself and others.

    A pretty marvelous thing, I’m thinking!

    (I can;t post my comment with my wordpress account, because it is a wordpress.org account. Doesn;t have the word “wordpress” in the URL so I always get bounced, but Twitter nor Facebook are exactly how I want to sign in. I know you are limited in your options, but thought I’d explain why I no longer connect to my blog. I wish I could…sigh.)

    • Robin says:

      I’m sorry about the WordPress glitch that doesn’t allow you to post with your URL, Bo. Do you have a Gravatar? (And have I asked you that before? Maybe it doesn’t make a difference?)

      Sometimes the stone does seem like a portal to a mysterious other-land, especially during those in-between times.

      Thanks you. 🙂

  9. Karma says:

    You find your inspiration for blog posts in some very interesting places! Sometimes I think my blog muse has gone south for the winter along with your snow birds, lol. I like your artsy ice pictures. Did you shoot them on “tungsten” to get the blue effect?

    • Robin says:

      lol, Karma! The blog muse does like to hide from time to time. I did shoot the ice photos in tungsten for the blue effect. Thank you. 🙂

  10. Phil Lanoue says:

    Amazing series! Love the blue!

  11. Kathy says:

    Hi, Robin! I like it that we’re both dependable and not dependable. That we can be both. However, that also translates that I also do not like it. Part of me wants to be One Way. But life is not a one way street, is it? So we are both dependable and not. Love you…and wish you the Merriest of Christmases, my friend.

  12. […] Saturday I posted about dependability, the Tarot, and the small (10-card) challenge I’m taking on to represent the cards from the […]

  13. Dana says:

    Neat idea with the tarot photos, Robin! Even if they don’t come to fruition, I still enjoy the thought of that. 🙂

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Dana. 🙂 They did come to fruition for a couple of weeks, but I decided not to post them. Perhaps when life settles down for me a bit I’ll pick up the project again.


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

