The great bonfire

Friday at sunset

I had a great weekend.  I enjoyed spending time with my family, and we managed to get a few things accomplished while we were at it.  The boats have been put away until next year.  A large shelf was moved.  And the shed was fixed.

The bonfire

On Friday night we had our Great Bonfire, an event that takes place about every two years or so.  The purpose of the bonfire is to get rid of brush and other wood products that we can’t chip and shred or put in the compost or otherwise leave to rot.  So, for a couple of years we build the pile down by the pond, and when weather conditions are just right, we set it on fire.

Sometimes we invite friends and family over to make a party of it.  On Friday night it was just M and I and Bo the Dog, although Bo ended up in the house with the cats because it turns out he’s more afraid of fire than he is of the cats.  (He thinks Izzy and Bella are fearsome felines.)

It was a beautiful evening.  Warm, clear, a sky full of stars overhead.

The rest of the weekend was lovely, too.  Nice weather and fun with family.  Can’t beat that.

In other news…

Yesterday, after M the Younger, his lovely wife, and Bo the Dog left us, I sat down to see if it was possible for me to keep up to date with the blogs I follow, as well as with my own blog comments and postings.  The conclusion?

Today’s view of the pond just before the rain started to fall.

Nope.  Not a chance.

A nest I found in the Future Woods on today’s walk.

But it was fun trying.

The tallest tree in the Future Woods.

Christine at Random thoughts from the midlife summed it up for me very well with her wonderful response to a comment I made on her post Re-evaluating:

We’re all in the same boat, here, I think.  Perhaps we should just relax a bit and enjoy it without beating ourselves up over not reading, commenting, or posting from time to time.

Yes!

So that’s my plan.  How about you?  Are you able to keep up with it all or are you, too, ready to relax a bit?

Heading off into the woods to listen to the birds

That’s it from the Bogs for this windy, rainy Monday.  Winter is moving in.  I could feel it this morning while out on my walk.  The temperature has been steadily dropping and one or two of the weather prognosticators are saying we might get some snow flurries.  That will be fun.

I’ll be back on Wednesday or Thursday.  Be good, be kind, be loving, just Be.  (And get outside if you can.  It’s beautiful out there, no matter what the weather.)

49 Comments on “The great bonfire”

  1. This has been a problem for me for some time. I really enjoy reading everyone’s post, but find it difficult to keep up. I also like to reciprocate when someone takes the time to leave such positive comments. I don’t know what to do about it. When I told my son I have 200 posts to read, he said, “how is that possible?” I didn’t have an answer for him either. Let me know if you have a solution. I wish I could just read, hit the “Like” button so people know I’ve stopped in to take a read. But I’m not sure that would go over very well?? xx Smidge

    • Robin says:

      Thanks for your input, Smidge. 🙂 I’ve been using the “Like” button for a while now. Sometimes I use it because there are already so many comments, already saying what I would have said, that it feels redundant to comment. Sometimes I use it because I don’t really have anything to add or to say, but want to let the person I’m visiting know I’ve been there and that I enjoyed their blog post. I always, always read the post, look at the images, etc. because it doesn’t feel right to me to use the “Like” button without really liking the post and I can’t know if I like it or not unless I read it.

  2. Incredible photos as always, Robin! What a nice break from work – checking out your photos and thoughts for the day. I agree about relaxing a little. I feel bad about not commenting as much as I did last year. I so enjoy all the blogs I follow. But more important to just enjoy and comment as I am able. Thanks for posting and have a good week!

  3. Gracie says:

    I have this problem too, not being able to cope up with all the blogs that I follow. Let alone leave a sensible comment on each. And there’s personal life and day job. It tends to get overwhelming. I have started staying away from the computer on weekends which I think helps me relax a bit.

  4. Fire colors are incredible. I can’t keep up. So I read away…. not commenting when I don’t have time. Except to stop here and say I don’t always have time to comment. 😉

  5. Love the natural streamers in the last shot.
    (It’s hard to keep up – I try to visit those that comment and some blogs I like because I just enjoy reading them – but weeks better than others. I try not to feel guilty if I can’t get around to everyone as often as I like – but there’s stuff that has to be done. )

  6. Ellen says:

    Beautiful pictures, the fire is incredible!!!
    well, what can I say? two weeks without Internet and it`s impossible to read all the blogs I follow, not to mention the last time I posted was October 1st. Since then my life was a mess, no time at all … do I feel guilty? not at all. But I miss reading some blogs. But I know that, as your friend said, we are all on the same boat !!!

  7. I love those fire photos! What a wonderful bonfire it must have been!
    I’ve given up on keeping up with posts on other blogs. I deeply appreciate the many wonderful ideas and blogs, but I just can’t seem to keep up… so I’ve tried to make peace,in my mind, with that…and to realize that I get too fragmented when I spread myself “too thin”… but I do wish I had the mental energy to get to them all. I do, however, have deep appreciation for the many wonderful blogs that are out there!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Kathy (PP). 🙂 I like the way you put that — fragmented. That’s exactly how I feel when I try to keep up with everything. For some reason it made me think of the Defrag program on computers. I’ll have to remember to hit the Defrag button. 😀

  8. Anita Mac says:

    Bonfire – how wonderful…it has been so long since I have been to one of those! Funny how the simplest and most primal things in life bring us back to such great memories! I would love to be sitting round a bonfire, telling silly stories and making smores! Ahhh…the good ol end of summer days!

    • Robin says:

      Smores!! We forgot the smores, Anita. We still have a pile of wood in the fire ring. Might have to get that going some evening, and remember to bring the makings for smores. 🙂

  9. Sallyann says:

    Beautiful pictures of the bonfire, especially the one with the yellow flames. 🙂
    I think I’ve settled on a happy medium with reading, commenting and writing.
    I write when I have something to say, sometimes twice a day, sometimes only twice a week. Apart from a few core blogs, I have most of the blogs I follow set to a weekly digest and I read as and when I get chance back to where I left off last time I stopped by and when the new weekly digest comes through I delete any I haven’t read and start again.
    I know how much I enjoy getting comments so I still try to comment as often as I can and always answer mine. 🙂
    This seems to have taken the pressure off enough for me to still enjoy blogging 😀

  10. aFrankAngle says:

    The fire pics are awesome as I love seeing the flame lines!

    As far as catching up, Christine’s comment is powerful. I wasn’t around much last week as I was prepping for a trip followed by 2-days on the road, and then the weekend – which is a time i do less with blogs. In other words, I feel behind and lousy for not being around as much as normal. On the other hand, the hosts are more accepting than the pressure we put on ourselves.

  11. David Hall says:

    Absolutely stunning colours again. Beautiful photos.

  12. dearrosie says:

    Nice warm photos Robin. Love the bird nest.

    I think we all feel overwhelmed with the never-ending cycle of blogging-reading-commenting. Sometimes I’ll spend an entire day “catching up” on all the reading, but you’re never caught up because the new posts come pouring in next morning…

    In my job I don’t have access to my blog during the day – we’re not permitted to check out the internet during slow times. It means I can only blog when I get home from work ie after 7pm. But I also have to make dinner, eat dinner, clean kitchen and dont forget walk dog, etc so I often only start blogging at 9pm, when I’m just too tired. It’s not easy.

  13. ladyfi says:

    Fabulous shots! I do love an autumnal bonfire!

  14. I love the shots of the fire, it’s so beautiful!

  15. Kathy says:

    What awesome bonfire pics, Robin! But you know I love almost all your pictures, every single time I come over visiting your bogs. So the boats are put away… I am feeling ultra overwhelmed here in the blogosphere and it’s my own darn fault (note the self-blame) because I’m posting every day again. Will be ceasing that soon. Time for a blogging break. And really want to focus spiritually inward again rather than outward toward sharing.

  16. jane tims says:

    I absolutely love the fire photos. Nothing is so memorable as a bonfire. Bonfires seem to me to be portals between times and spaces.. but we can never step through! Jane

  17. What a great bonfire to share with your family! I can’t seem to keep up with blog reading, commenting and responding to comments, either. I’ve tried many different ways to handle it all, and think I’m slowly finding a pace and a strategy I can relax and live with.

  18. dadirri7 says:

    gorgeous post, i agree about not being able to keep up, that is where i am at present, and i have hundreds of emails in my inbox waiting for attention … but i love bonfires so i found time to look at yours … we had a big fire a few weeks ago for clearing some fallen timber that we could not use in the slow combustion stove … i can stay feeding a fire and enjoying the whole process for hours!

  19. HA! Boy, are you talking to me today – or, rather, how many days ago? I’m scrolling back a few days, after having no time to read at all. I can’t get to all of them, so after this, I’m done trying!
    I’m glad I went back far enough to see your bonfire…puts me in a good frame of mind!

  20. mobius faith says:

    The zen-like minimalism of the last shot is breathtaking.

  21. I definitely can’t keep up! Which means I tend to do a lot more skimming than real reading. I don’t think any of us should feel bad or guilty for this – we do the best we can, and we all have lives to attend to. Love the bird nest photo.

  22. […] The great bonfire (bogsofohio.wordpress.com) […]

  23. As you can see, I am trying to catch up with YOU today, Robin, but it’s hard and somewhat stressful to keep up in general. I’ve decided I will try maybe once a day to catch up with someONE; today that person is you! But I had to clean out my inbox of 35 pages (!) so I started deleting everybody’s posts before December 1. I just cannot do it!! I enjoy reading all the blogs I follow, but especially as I work full-time, there are simply not enough hours in the day to write my own blog and keep up with everyone else’s! We have to simply relax and enjoy WHAT WE CAN! 🙂 Love your bonfire photos and that nest is fabulous….

    • Robin says:

      Agreed, Cathy. And, as you can see, I am far behind in even answering comments to my own blog (which I happen to think is a sorry state of affairs!). I know there must be a happy medium, but I haven’t figured it out yet.

      Thank you. 🙂


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

