Thursday Travels: Leaving Greenwich

Walking back over the floating boardwalk

Because of the weather, it was a fast hike out to the beach and back.  If you are a birder, the floating boardwalk over Bowley Pond is a great place to look for birds.  I saw numerous birds, but couldn’t capture any photos of them as it was just too windy and wet.

There is not much more to tell you about Greenwich at this point so let’s just make our way back over the boardwalk and into the woods.  We’ll take one last look back at the dunes…

… and the pond.

We had to make our way back through the forested area.  I don’t have anything new to show you there so let’s head over to the main path…

…where we encountered this little guy:

It’s a salamander, I think.  Possibly a blue-spotted salamander.  I’m not sure but he might have been on his way to a breeding pond as part of the spring migration.  I’m assuming he’s in a defensive position with his tail up like that.  I’ve never seen a salamander before, and know very little about them.

We took a slight detour on our way back to the car, a short trail that overlooks St. Peter’s Bay.

Prince Edward Island is known for its mussels.  I know I’ve often seen PEI mussels on restaurant menus.  PEI mussels are cultured (seeded and grown).

There are 130 mussel growers on PEI.  The mussel seeds are placed on mesh sleeves which are suspended in the water on longlines.  The waters around PEI are nutrient rich so no additives or feed is necessary to grow the mussels.  The mussels are ready to harvest in 12-24 months.  M and I sampled quite a few PEI mussels while on our trip, including a bucket of them at the lobster supper we had after our day in Greenwich.

One more photo and we’ll say goodbye to Greenwich.

If you followed the link to the lobster supper, you will have seen that we also stopped to see The Cheese Lady where we sampled and bought some delicious Gouda cheese.

Yesterday’s sunset

That’s it for this week’s edition of Thursday Travels.  That’s also it from the Bogs.  Thank you for joining me on my travels from the past.  It’s been a fairly decent day here in the Bogs.  Partly cloudy, in the upper 40s.  Tomorrow will be even better, and a great day for a hike.  Maybe I’ll head over to Quail Hollow if I have the time.  My to-do list for today and tomorrow is pretty long so I’ll have to wait and see.  There might be enough clouds around for another colorful sunset this evening, and the porch is warm from the afternoon sun pouring in through the windows.  It will be a good place to watch as the sun goes down behind the fields and trees and houses to the west.

Wishing you a delightful day, evening, night… wherever and whenever you are on the spectrum of time.

17 Comments on “Thursday Travels: Leaving Greenwich”

  1. It’s clear to me now, a visit to Prince Edward Island is in order. And the sunsets are gorgeous. Hope you have a lovely evening, Robin.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  2. Wonderful photos, Robin! The sunset is spectacular! I very rarely see a sunset this colorful in GA, but have often seen them when I am in northern OH. Thanks for the glimpse of beauty I miss and love so much!

  3. Phil Lanoue says:

    Wonderful photos and commentary! Thanks for taking me along.

  4. Anna Surface says:

    I’d love to just meditate on that boardwalk! Stunning sunset images. It is peaceful to watch the sun go down through the trees… something I enjoy doing.

    • Robin says:

      Oh, me too, Anna! I think I could hang out on that boardwalk for days and never get bored. The beach looks pretty nice too, even on a chilly, windy, rainy day. 🙂

  5. Sallyann says:

    Good bye to Greenwich for now, I’ve enjoyed the visit, maybe you can drop in a few photos at a later date to remind us how lovely it was. 🙂

  6. dearrosie says:

    I’ve wanted to visit PEI for a long time. Great photos – especially #2.
    And the pix of the sunsets.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Rosie. 🙂 I hope you get there someday. It’s a beautiful place. I’d like to be there when the tulips are blooming. They have a bike trail on the island that is supposed to be lined with thousands of tulips. It must be an amazing sight.

  7. Oh my, I would LOVE to walk on that boardwalk some day!

  8. […] first three photos were taken after our hike in Greenwich.  The rest were taken early the next morning when M and I went out for a last look at the dunes […]

  9. Mmmm, mussels. I adore them! Once again, your sunsets are phenomenal. 🙂


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

