Do you hear that?

Lean in a little.  Listen carefully.  Ssshhhh.  Listen.  Do you hear it?

No?  I don’t either.

We are celebrating here in the Bogs today.  What we are celebrating is what we are not hearing.

It is a celebration of The Silence of the Phones.  This major holiday always follows a presidential election.  They ought to give people in swing (battleground) states the day off just so they can appreciate The Silence of the Phones.

Today’s view of the pond

Isn’t it wonderful?  No more political ads on television or wherever I may travel across cyberspace.  No more robo-calls (the phone nearly died from constant ringing yesterday!).  No matter who won or lost, I am celebrating the end of another ridiculous political season that lasted an absurd two years with a grotesque amount of money raised and spent.  It’s sickening when you think of all the other things that could have been done with that almost 2 billion dollars.  Some of those super pacs and millionaires might as well have gone out and burned their money in a bonfire for all the good it did.  Frankly, I don’t think it did good at all so maybe it’s better it was burned in some figurative way.  Negativity, up in smoke.  (Before someone reminds me that both sides had their share of negative ads, I want to point out that’s not true.  More negative ads came from one side than the other.  I know from my own informal poll, but you can also go look it up in terms of the money spent on “against” ads.)

Ice forming on the edges of the pond

But enough of that.  It’s over!  Yay!  Let’s celebrate.  How about a walk around the pond?  We had our first really hard frost this morning.  It was beautiful, all aglitter in the morning sunlight.

For the first time this season, ice has started to form around the edges of the pond, and you all know how much I love patterns made in the ice.  Well, maybe you don’t know, if you are new here.  (See Abstracts in nature.)

I love the frost, too, especially in the early morning light.

We have been waking up to some chilly mornings (in the 20s), but that will change soon.  It’s going to be warming up as the week goes on.  We’ll be in the 60s for highs by the weekend.  The timing is good.  We have some outdoor things we need to take care of before winter settles in.

The other news is that we had our septic system pumped today, but I doubt you want to hear about that.  Nobody ever does.  It’s not exciting news, but it is one of the necessities of country living.

That’s it from the Bogs for today.  Thank you so much for stopping by.  I think we might have a good sunset tonight.  The clouds are strips of white over the blue of the sky, and that often makes for a beautiful sunset as the clouds take on the reds and pinks and oranges of the light of the setting sun.  Since it will be a little chilly for some, we can watch from the living room while staying warm by the fire.

Wishing you a delightful day, evening, night… wherever and whenever you are on the spectrum of time.

43 Comments on “Do you hear that?”

  1. Val says:

    Lovely to drop in to your blog, Robin, and see these beautiful photos and read about the start of the ice and the beauty of frost (and why have those deer got ‘white notices’ round their necks? That’s what it looks like, lol!)

    The silence of the phones. That’s just how I like them. 🙂

    • Robin says:

      Me too, Val. Me too. I don’t like talking on the phone very much at all so if they’re silent, it’s all good.

      Thank you. 🙂 I’m not sure what a “white notice” is, but that made me laugh anyhow. White-tailed deer (which is what those two happen to be) typically have white on their throat, around the eyes and nose, on the stomach, and of course, the underside of the tail (which it shows to signal alarm as it is fleeing).

  2. What? What did you say? Sorry – I can’t hear you over this WIND…
    Love your frost photos. 😀

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Marie. 🙂 Hope the weather has calmed down out your way by now. It’s sunny and warm here today, but there is a bit of windiness associated with it.

  3. Sallyann says:

    Don’t politicians go on and on … bit it was nice to have something other than the Jimmy Seville mess on tv here for a while.
    Enjoy your peace and quiet. 🙂

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Sallyann. 🙂 I’m just glad this election is over. I have a friend in England who said she was glad it was over too, as she got tired of hearing about it. It seems a terrible thing to have the mess of U.S. politics spread across the Pond.

  4. Karma says:

    I agree with you on the silence! Thank goodness it is over. As I had no strong feeling for any of the elections or issues at stake this year, I am just glad that it is done. And I don’t even live in a swing state.
    Those are some lovely frost photos. We’ve had a few frosts but I haven’t been out to photograph any yet. I was just settling in to my acceptance of autumn and now winter is trying to get pushy – our first dusting of snow is happening as I type!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Karma. 🙂

      We’ve had a few frosts too, but this was the first hard frost where I saw ice forming along the edge of the pond. It didn’t last long. It’s summery here again today.

  5. Grotesque amount of money is a good way of describing that waste!

    But as usual, your photos are lovely.

  6. Glad things are on ice….oh, the pictures have the most beautiful textures

  7. mobius faith says:

    Beautiful frosty photos Robin. THe silence is heavenly isn’t it? You got about 1 1/2 years to enjoy until the mid terms start. 😉
    It’s a five star day.
    You know I just wonder what the candidates are going to do with the money in their political war chests that didn’t get used up. Wouldn’t it be nice if they actually put it to work in places and people in need?

  8. Beautiful frosty pictures to celebrate the Silence of the Phones. Luckily in Oman I don’t get any American political calls, but I agree, there is too much time and money wasted on these campaigns and negative ads. I’m even so tired of hearing about the election from my colleagues in Oman. They’re not even American and they are glued to their computers watching this election. What’s the deal with that??

    Silence is golden and I love to live the frosty season, which I will NEVER see in Oman, through your pictures. I actually enjoy the cold, so I can’t wait to be home again next fall…. 🙂

  9. Chloe says:

    the frost on those leaves is incredibly beautiful ! amazing photographs

  10. I’m afraid I’d rather hear about the septic system’s pumping than to have such obscene amounts of money spent/wasted during this eletion. Thank God, at least in my mind, that things turned out the way they did. The other would, perpahs, be even more obscene, however.

    Okay, I’ll get off my soapbox now. Love the photo of the ice forming on the pond.

    Hugs,
    Kathy

  11. Bo Mackison says:

    From one swinger to another, yes, enjoying the quiet. Enjoying your photos. Enjoying the simplicity, the focus of nature, the healing nature of nature. I can hear the geese as they honk, passing over my house, no strident messages from media to distract me. Heaven!

  12. Anita Mac says:

    Those ice photos are gorgeous! Thanks for sharing your day.

  13. Stunning ste of images yet again! Wonderful!

  14. dearrosie says:

    I don’t live in a swing state and my phone was ringing an awful lot too. I don’t understand why they keep phoning us. Do you know anyone who answers the phone? I don’t.

    Your photos are really lovely.

  15. Anna Surface says:

    Isn’t it wonderful to enter into silence of nature? Soothes the soul after all the noise… indeed. Robin, the are outstanding images! I really just love “Ice forming on the edges of the pond” —awesome!

  16. Marianne says:

    Isn’t it funny that the government can raise enough money for things that benefit their agenda, but when it comes to raising funds for the betterment of the average citizen or for those living in poverty, there is no money available. It is certainly the way it is here in Canada and it’s a joke. So glad for you that the election is over. 🙂

  17. bearyweather says:

    Lovely …. oh how I wish I could wander in your sunny, frosty woods with my camera. My life has been in darkness … dark on the way to work, dark on the way home. Gray skies and rain (which we need so badly I try not to complain).
    Your last photo of the beautiful couple is perfect …. you were truly blessed to be there to see them together in that wonderful setting … I am very jealous as I have been starving for sights like these for weeks. Thank you for sharing your pictures.

  18. Robin, I came back to take a second look at these photos – the detail of light on frost is so beautiful.

  19. Peace and quiet at last, and ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, the buck and the doe, what an amazing shot!

  20. Dana says:

    Such magical photos in this post, Robin. The frost makes everything look so enchanted! 🙂


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

