Turning point

Change is on the horizon

Those persons are happiest in this restless and mutable world who are in love with change, who delight in what is new simply because it differs from what is old; who rejoice in every innovation, and find a strange alert pleasure in all that is, and that has never been before.

~ Agnes Repplier

Late afternoon sunlight in the woods

Most of the deciduous trees are bare now, their leaves fallen back to earth.

Relaxing on the deck

Yesterday was probably the last good day of the season to sit on the deck and relax, reading a book or watching the birds at the feeder or enjoying the feel of the sunlight without being all bundled up.  It was shorts and t-shirt weather.

The warm weather brought a few last blooms

The cold is on its way.  It won’t be bitterly cold.  It’s too early for that.  But our highs will be in the 40s, and it looks as though there is a lot of cloudiness, along with rain, snow showers, and the usual late October transition weather in our ten-day future.

What’s up? (Bella, doing some bird watching.)

Before it gets here, I’m out on what is likely my last bicycle adventure of the year.  This is a scheduled post, filling in for me while I revel in what’s left of this year’s Indian Summer.  Hopefully I didn’t get caught out in the rain.  Even if I did, I won’t melt, and it’ll give the bike a good washing.  I’ll be putting my bicycle away until next spring after this (unless another warm-up comes along that entices me to ride again).

Have a fabulous, wonder-filled weekend!  I’ll be back soon.

Got back just in time to add this:

Saw this fellow near the Towpath Trail today.

32 Comments on “Turning point”

  1. Kathy says:

    Look at that buck! What a fellow, lucky you. Yes, times are a’changin’ these days. Winter is approaching steadily. Enjoy your bike ride. May the snow stay away until you put that bike away.

    • Robin says:

      Isn’t he gorgeous, Kathy? I was thrilled to see him. He was there with a lady friend, and I did get photos of both, but I was in a hurry to add at least one photo of him before this post went out. The others can wait for another day.

      Thank you. The ride was good, albeit chilly. My fingers and toes were frozen by the time I finished. The temperature dropped almost 15 degrees from the time I started. I didn’t dress for it, thinking the cold would arrive later. Brrrr! At least the rain held off except for a few spits of it here and there.

  2. Beautiful as always, Robin! I love to see photos of deer!

  3. Wonderful theme for a post, Robin; makes me want to dance into the season’s change 🙂

  4. Phil Lanoue says:

    These are great Robin! That kitty is so cute, oh, and Mr. Deer is quite the attractive fellow as well.
    Well done!

  5. Chris B. says:

    Gazania gladness. Thanks for the beauty of nature that you share!

  6. mobius faith says:

    Wow, you got your “bucks” worth on the Towpath. Great shot. He’s even showin’ you some tail. Maybe he’s a chippendales buck. Hahaha.

    Love that flower also – it feels like it was made of silk ribbon.

    And finally the first image is near and dear to my heart. It looks like a Mark Rothko painting stunningly rich and beautiful in its own minimal way. Superb!!!

  7. Joanne says:

    It’s hot one day and cold the next here just now Robin. I don’t think that spring has woken up properly yet, it keeps on letting winter take over again! It must be magical when you come across a deer on your bike rides, they are such beautiful creatures. And is Bella savouring her last look at the birds for the season? 🙂

    • Robin says:

      It is magical, Joanne. I rarely see them so it makes it a very special occasion when I do. Seeing a buck like that is even more of a rarity. 🙂

      Bella still gets out, even during the winter, to look at the birds. We keep a pretty close eye on the kitties, though, because we don’t want them wandering off and/or eaten by a hawk.

  8. Gilraen says:

    Just in awe of the beautiful colour patterns you pictures are showing.

    We just had a massive fast change in weather here. Monday we had a nice warm day with lots of sunshine. Yesterday the first really cold day, and a flutter of snow in the north overnight. I feel like cocooning is the way to go 🙂

  9. David Hall says:

    What a dramatic sky Robin. The colours are once again superb.

  10. aFrankAngle says:

    The change is underway to bring us back to reality. Glad you got the chance to enjoy some quiet time on your deck ….love the first pic! Stay warm this weekend.

  11. How nice to have seen the buck–he’s beautiful. Like that quote a lot and the photo of Bella–the light edging her fur. I feel a sense of Autumn on the wane from this post, easing down into winter.

  12. Glad you got in one last ride…it was lovely here, too, and we took the Junior Memebers to walk in the woods.

  13. Karma says:

    Wonderful pictures Robin. I especially love the kitty. How nice that you had such a lovely day before Sandy ushers in all sorts of unpleasantness. We’re in the forecast for lots of rain and wind here – just hoping the power stays on. Feeling a bit of deja vu for Halloween – although last year it was the freak snowstorm, not a Hurricane.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Karma. I’m a bit behind on keeping up with blog posts so I’m hoping Sandy wasn’t too rough on you. I also hope this next nor’easter coming up the pipeline doesn’t bring you another freak snowstorm.

  14. Great shares!! Each of them could stand on their own.

  15. Chloe says:

    aww Bella is so adorable, i love that photo


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

