Thursday Travels: The floating boardwalk

Looking down from the floating boardwalk. Prince Edward Island.

Last week I left us standing on the floating boardwalk in Greenwich, part of the Prince Edward Island National Park system.  The floating boardwalk takes you over Bowley Pond and eventually to the beach.

It’s a very scenic walk with amazing views over the wetlands, marsh, and pond.  The dunes resemble mountains in the background.  It’s hard to capture that in a photograph, especially on a windy, rainy day.

As bad as these photos are, at least it will give you some idea of how beautiful it is out there.

The Greenwich Dunes are parabolic dunes.  Parabolic dunes move or migrate.  In the case of the Greenwich Dunes, they move towards the forest area at a rate of 2-4 meters per year.  The dunes become trapped by the vegetation at the base and this leaves behind ridges known as Gegenwalle.  The Greenwich Dunes are the only known example of this phenomenon in North America.

Back on the floating boardwalk

As the dunes move into the forest, they kill off the trees and expose parts of the forest previously covered which opens up a ghost or skeleton forest, something I read about but didn’t get to see.

Beaver lodge

You can almost see the wind in the grasses.

… and on the right, as far as the eye could see, fading and falling, in soft low pleats, the green sand dunes with the wild flowing grasses on them, which always seemed to be running away into some moon country, uninhabited of men.

~ Virginia Woolf, To the Lighthouse

When I wrote down that quote from Virginia Woolf in my quote journal, I never really expected to use it.  Looking at some of these photos, it immediately came to mind.  I love her description of the sand dunes “fading and falling, in soft low pleats…”  (I was trying to remember when I read To the Lighthouse.  I thought it was last year, but it turns out it was 2010.  That’s one good thing about keeping a list of books I’ve read on Ye Olde Blogg.)

It’s time to go back to the boardwalk where we will once again end another edition of Thursday Travels.  We’ll get a closer look at the dunes, and maybe even make it to the beach next week.

If you look ahead, far off to the right, there’s M waiting for us to catch up.

Here in the Bogs, it is warm and sunny, a good day to be outdoors.  A friend stopped by to fish this morning.  I don’t know if he caught anything, but he was out there for several hours, casting and walking, casting and walking.  He’s a fly fisherman and I think he enjoys the meditative quality of casting and walking, casting and walking, more than he does catching fish.

Shades of blue on the pond

I sat out on the deck for a little while today, watching the wind in the little maple tree, blowing off the leaves a few at time.  Every now and then I would turn to watch the sunlight sparkling on the pond.

Sunlight and wind in the little maple

After a while, the little birds came round to the feeder.  They were hesitant at first, but gradually decided I was harmless.  Or mostly harmless, at any rate.

They don’t seem to care much for the camera.  I don’t blame them.  I don’t like being in front of the camera, either.

The Goldfinches are wearing their winter green.

That’s about it from PEI and the Bogs for today.  Thank you for visiting.  I’m thinking of sitting out on the deck and watching the stars come out this evening.  We might not see too many.  The moon was pretty bright last night, and I expect it will be just a tad brighter tonight.  Still, you’ll be able to see a few stars as well as enjoy the moonlight reflecting off the surface of the pond.

Dreams

Have a delightful day, evening, or night… wherever and whenever you are on the spectrum of time.

27 Comments on “Thursday Travels: The floating boardwalk”

  1. I can’t get over how lovely the blue of pond is. I would have sworn that was the sea. Also–it’s totally cool how you can watch the grasses blow iin the wind. Love the Woolf quote, as well.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  2. A beautiful spot. The grasses in the wind are mesmerizing.
    Love the way you caught the birds in the tree – and the bird feeder pose!

  3. You had me at ‘wind in the grass’.

    🙂

  4. Phil Lanoue says:

    These are terrific! Looks like my kinda place! 😀

  5. Bo Mackison says:

    I can think of nothing lovelier, at this moment, than to be walking on a floating boardwalk. Such wonderful scenes from that boardwalk, too! WoW!

  6. Gracie says:

    Beautiful photos, Robin!

  7. Why do those sand dunes move? Is it the direction of the wind? I have a new bird feeder and was so excited to see little birds find it! I love being here and seeing such glorious photos of nature!! xx

  8. I love the long boardwalk photo!

  9. I have never heard of parabolic dunes before. How fascinating! I do like the reddish colors of those grasses. And Virginia Woolf? To the Lighthouse is one of my favorites, and I cried like a baby at the end!

  10. Sallyann says:

    A beautiful boarded walk. 🙂
    Thanks for taking us along.

  11. Kathy says:

    You reminded me of a floating boardwalk I haven’t visited in a long time, and now feel nudged to get reacquainted. Really felt moved by that red-leaf photo, maybe because ours not lie on the ground.

    • Robin says:

      Most of ours are now on the ground too, Kathy. Just a few willow leaves hanging on, as well as leaves on the baby trees. I suspect the little trees keep their leaves longer because they are sheltered by tall grasses and taller trees.

      Have you gotten reacquainted with your floating boardwalk? I’m not caught up with you yet so if it’s in one of your blog posts, don’t answer that. I want to be surprised. 🙂

  12. You really look like you’re having so much fun!! thanks for taking me along with you on your walks!

  13. […] Thursday Travels: The floating boardwalk (bogsofohio.wordpress.com) […]


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

