Meadow bathing

Tangerine sunrise

The Japanese have a term, Shinrin-yoku, which means forest bathing.  Studies have shown that forest bathing is good for your health.  Other studies have shown that just being out in nature is good for you.

Old meadow, future forest, old woods in the background.

Since our forest is not yet a forest, and I didn’t want to frighten the two deer I saw in the woods, I decided to take my early morning walk in the meadows.  It may not have the aromatherapy benefits of a pine forest, but I find meadow bathing to be quite soothing.

As I slowly walked the meadow and future forest paths, I felt myself relaxing, melting, into the rustling sounds of the dry grasses.

I also enjoyed a different perspective on the pond.  Sometimes it was a wider, bigger view.  Other times it was framed by the trees or the meadows.

To begin, we let go.  We let go of our thoughts, our old scripts, our expectations, our darkness.  The solution is not to fight but to let go.  We let go of everything and hold on to nothing.  Over and over again, on the mat and off, we let go.  This letting go is a purification.  We let go and it is like dropping a pebble into a pond, the ripples slowly growing to encompass our every waking moment.  In our letting go we create an emptiness, a space that health and grace will move into.  We begin to live with a joyful awareness.

~ Rolf Gates & Katrina Kenison, Meditations From The Mat

Illuminated by the sun

Long time visitors to Life in the Bogs may recall that at the beginning of a new year, I pick a word or theme for the year.  This year I chose Letting Go.

Red oak

I am beginning to realize just how big, how ambitious that theme is to live with and to accomplish.  Perhaps too big from where I started.

I believe I am beginning to grow into it.

When I thought of that while out in the meadows, it made me laugh.  Here it is, autumn, near the end of the year, and I’m just beginning.

Watching the trees slowly bare themselves, I see how effortless it can be.  Still, there are times that I resist.  That made me laugh, too.

I am Locutus — of Borg.  Resistance – is futile.  Your life, as it has been – is over.

~ From Star Trek:  The Next Generation

I am such a nerd.  That’s what made me really laugh.  Resistance is futile.  (Sources indicate this phrase originated with “Dr. Who.”  I vaguely recall hearing it in, I think, the BBC television adaptation of “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.”  Or it could have been the newer, movie version.  I’m not sure.  At any rate, I thought the Borg quote from Star Trek was perfect for this post.)

On that note, it’s time for me to be moving along.  Thank you for dropping in and joining me on a walk through the meadows.  The weather has been an autumn hodgepodge of clouds and sun, breeziness, warmth and chilliness.  Transition weather.  It’s supposed to rain sometime overnight and/or tomorrow.  Sunday is looking pretty nice.  It might be a good day for a bike ride.

Wishing you a wonder-filled weekend!

I almost fell into the sky this morning

29 Comments on “Meadow bathing”

  1. I, too, am working on letting go. It’s not easy. However, maybe my problem is “working” at it. Maybe my use of that word indicates my ongoing need for control. Hmmmmmm. Amazing what language can show us about ourselves. Happy weekend, my friend.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Kathy. 🙂

      I see what you mean about language be revealing. Reading your comment, I realized that I, too, “work” at it. Interesting…

  2. Instead of talking, please excuse me while I soak in all this! Love that forest bathing – that’s just what you feel like after a walk in the woods – refreshed, relaxed, soothed.

  3. Le Clown says:

    Robin,
    Love, in full saturation!
    Le Clown

  4. Phil Lanoue says:

    Excellent post with fantastic photos! I enjoyed this!

  5. Marianne says:

    Hi Robin, “I almost fell into the sky this morning.” I love that, Robin. The photos are beautiful. I love the way the clouds look in the sky. And, it looks so close to the ground, as you say. Gonna take the weekend to get caught up on reading blogs. Sometimes, I wish I had a different life. Oh well. Hopefully, I’ll figure it out. Chow. I mean ciao.

    • Robin says:

      lol, Marianne! Chow sounds good to me right now. It’s getting close to lunch time and I’m hungry.

      Thank you. Don’t worry about getting caught up with me. Just start from where you are. I don’t think you miss very much. Just the daily walks most of the time. 🙂

  6. mobius faith says:

    Title made me blush. Great images. Wonderful post. 🙂

  7. Kathy says:

    Perhaps we’ll be letting go for the rest of our lives…perhaps it’s a never-ending process, Robin. Beautiful forest bathing among your photos. Thank you.

    • Robin says:

      You’re welcome, Kathy. And thank you. You maybe right about it being a never-ending process. Something that seems so simple isn’t always all that easy.

  8. Letting go. Such a good thing to learn. I hope I can learn it. What a lovely autumn walk, Robin!

  9. Gilraen says:

    Thank you for showing us how the pond changes during a walk and allowing us to be part of your thoughts when walking.

  10. Love the TNG quote….let your Geek Flag Fly, Girl!
    Resistance is Futile…one more example of Trek Wisdom with many interpretations.
    Your meadow is wonderful – you should walk there more often 🙂

  11. Karma says:

    I agree Letting Go is a big theme. I’m not sure it is one that can be forced but seems to be there are times when life forces it upon us.
    I love that last photo and can totally relate to what you mean by feeling like you almost fell into the sky.

    • Robin says:

      Ah ha… I think that’s the key, Karma. It can’t be forced. Still, there are ways to practice, I think, by doing little things. Letting Go of stuff, for instance.

      Thank you. 🙂

  12. Such colour in these shots! I have taken some Autumn shots this week but these are lovely!

  13. bearyweather says:

    Beautiful, warm looking post … letting go is tough, I struggle with it a lot at times. I wish I was like a leaf on a tree and able to just let go and see where I float to. Or, that I was a tree and I could just let things go like they do their leaves …. Fall meadow dreams.

  14. Bo Mackison says:

    Love these bright colors.


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

