Sunday signage

On the Sandy Creek Trail. Near Franklin, Pennsylvania.

What an unexpectedly beautiful weekend it has been!  Unexpected because the weather prognosticators had been carrying on about rain and wind for about a week before I set out for Pennsylvania to do some hiking, biking, and leaf peeping.

The changes in the foliage here seems to be about a week behind the Bogs, but there’s still plenty of color to be found.  I’ve been spending a lot of time admiring the oak trees (and feeling acorns beneath my barefoot shoes when I’m not on my bike).

On the Oil Creek & Titusville train

On Friday my bike and I went for a short train ride on the Oil Creek & Titusville Railroad.  We got off at the Drake Well station, and I rode back to the Petroleum Centre Station where I started.  All in all, with a little side trip, I put in about 11 miles.  I gotta tell you, though, it was cold out there at the start.  45 degrees cold and it didn’t get much warmer than that.  But, oh, so beautiful.  Thankfully the bike ride started with a good uphill climb that warmed me right down to my almost-numb toes.  (I wear my Vibrams when I ride my bike.)

On the multi-use trail. Oil Creek State Park, Pennsylvania.

I am enjoying all this outdoor time.  I am also enjoying the town of Franklin, Pennsylvania.  I could see myself living here, somewhere near the heart of the town where I could walk to everything.  Or ride my bicycle.

Bridge on the Sandy Creek Trail, going towards the Sandy Creek Tunnel.

Saturday we rode another 11 miles on the Sandy Creek Trail which is a rail trail that includes a lot of bridges and at least one tunnel (I can only find one on the map).  I brought a head lamp this time so I wouldn’t have to ride in the dark, but it wasn’t necessary.  The tunnel isn’t too long and about the time it gets dark enough that a light might be needed, a few more feet forward leads to light.  I did find the rustling of dry leaves in the tunnel a little eerie.  Too many Stephen King novels in my past, I suppose.

Sandy Creek

If you ever get a chance to hike or bike the Sandy Creek Trail, go for it.  It’s a beautiful area.  The Belmar Bridge, built in 1907, that goes over the Allegheny River is a highlight on the trail.  The brochure describes the eastern section of the trail as going through “some of Pennsylvania’s most spectacular hills, valleys, and forest.”

Looking back at the Belmar Bridge (reflection on my broken, dirty, bike mirror).

What I’d most like to tell you about seems to be the most difficult to put into words so I’ll save that for when I can find the words.

Today the plan is to hike and bike.   Mostly hike as this is my big walk for the group blog walk.  It will feel good to have more direct contact with the earth.  The weather will be a factor.  It’s supposed to be warm with some cloudiness, but no rain until later in the day.  By the time this post goes out as scheduled (it’s now Sunday morning as I type), I should be finished.  Hopefully I’ve managed to hike as far as Indian God Rock.  That’s the goal.

That’s it from Pennsylvania.  Thank you for joining me on my annual leaf peeping adventure.  I’ll be back in the Bogs soon.  For those that might need more time to join the group blog walk, no problem.  It’s going to take me a few days to get caught up.

18 Comments on “Sunday signage”

  1. mobius faith says:

    What a cool bike trip. I love the shot with the broken bike mirror. Well done.

  2. Sorry., Robin., trying to respond on my kindle. Somehow logged on with twitter account, which I don.’t use.
    hugs,,
    Kathy

  3. Phil Lanoue says:

    Terrific images Robin!

  4. Kimberly Konkol says:

    Love your new gravatar photo! 🙂 And your photos!

  5. Haha! I’ve seen those feet before! 🙂 It’s how we met!

  6. The bike mirror shot is outstanding. Looks like a fun ride. Colors much different from semi-tropical here!

  7. TBM says:

    What an awesome time…I’m so jealous. Enjoy all the fall colors.

  8. Can’t wait for the granddaughter to be big enough to do a little hiking!
    Enjoy your time in PA.

  9. I like the colors in that graffiti header. The mirror photo is pretty cool–the reflection came out pretty clear. Thanks for the ride! I probably won’t be able to communicate from Cuba. Ciao bella!


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

