Around the pond

The winds will blow their freshness into you, and the storms their energy, while cares will drop away from you like the leaves of Autumn.

~ John Muir

The woods behind the neighbor’s cornfield.

I thought we’d take a walk around the pond today.  Rain and a cold front moved through overnight.  The air is fresh and bracing, with just the slightest nip to it.

Dark, heavy clouds hung overhead this morning, breaking up while I was out on my walk and allowing the sun to shine through every now and then.

Small mushrooms have popped up all over the place.  They are easy to miss if you’re not looking for them.

Every leaf speaks bliss to me,
fluttering from the autumn tree.

~ Emily Bronte

The frogs must be hunkered down somewhere.  Not one eeeeep! or jump from any of them as I walked near the edge of the pond.  I almost fell in, squatting down to get a few shots of the mushrooms.  I lost my balance and there was only one small step between me and the pond.  Thank goodness for that one step.  A backwards fall into the pond would have been quite chilling although you can see the water is warmer than the air.  Fog keeps forming and drifting just above the surface of the pond.

The blustery wind, coming from the west, is loosening up the leaves.  They fly out and over the pond, spinning, whirling, twirling.  Colorful aeronautics.

I sit quietly, listening to the falling leaves…

~ Ryokan

I wanted to go back into the woods to have a look at the colors and the creek, but it’s too wet and slippery.  Perhaps tomorrow I’ll venture down there.

Reminder:  The group walk takes place next week.  Pick any day from October 8 through October 14, go for a walk (or bike ride or whatever you’re doing), blog about it, and leave the link for me.  I’ll put up a post specifically for links on the 8th, mostly to make it easy for me by having them all in one place when I go to do the wrap up of all the walks.

Everyone must take time to sit and watch the leaves turn.

~ Elizabeth Lawrence

That’s it from the Bogs for today.  Thank you for joining me on my walk around the pond.  I’ve made some mulled cider if you need a little something to warm you up.  You can embellish it with a little dab of spiced butter or a shot of rum, or just enjoy it as it is.

31 Comments on “Around the pond”

  1. Bo Mackison says:

    Lovely. You still have autumn at its peak. Our winds have taken away our stunning leaf colored trees, and have left bare shadows… 😦

    • Robin says:

      Sorry to hear that, Bo. Our trees are still maintaining their leaves pretty well. A few are bar, but some are just starting to turn. It’s been a different kind of autumn this year, although I’d be hard pressed to pinpoint exactly how and why. It just feels different.

  2. Joanne says:

    Mmmm….mulled cidar sounds heavenly Robin, I’d love to try it as I don’t believe I’ve ever tasted it. I’m really enjoying your autumn days and I particularly like the quote from Emily Bronte, which matches the photo above it so incredibly well. 🙂

  3. mobius faith says:

    I’m nearly speechless. You capture the dance of color so well.

  4. Chris B. says:

    Super duper as always, dear Robin

  5. aFrankAngle says:

    Seems like you had too close of a call with nearly encountering the pond! 🙂 Well, with that reference, the pic of the leaf with the water after the near dip are my favorite pics. 🙂

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Frank. 🙂

      I’m so glad I didn’t fall in. I think a self-portrait would have been mandatory if I had (and the camera survived the fall), and I’m not really keen on self-portraits. lol!

  6. ceciliag says:

    completely stunning.. absolutely stunning images.. c

  7. Robin, the pond looks beautiful at this time of year. I love the fall colors…. 🙂

  8. Tammy says:

    Oh my goodness. Autumn is my favorite but where you live, I’d never want it to end. Really beautiful.

  9. Pat Bean says:

    Thanks for the walk. I love your pond, and these days find myself taking a lot of pond photos.

  10. Karma says:

    Plenty of beauty in these images, but I truly love the one with the starburst of sunshine popping through the leaves. I’m hoping to take my walk tomorrow, since I have the day off from work. I hope Mama Nature allows!

  11. A vibrant kaleidoscope of the season – simply delightful images, Robin!

  12. David Hall says:

    What a wonderful place to live, you are very lucky Robin. Another set of stunning images.

  13. What beautiful fall colors! and walking?…all set for 3 different walks this week, each with different friends: one walk on each side of SF Bay and one in the Redwoods….ahhh, I love being outdoors! (I’m FINALLY realizing that I going to need to put in the energy/effort to contact friends and “schedule” getting together…and to make it fun, too! : ) …took awhile to figure that one out! thanks for the feedback about that )

  14. that first one is great, all by itself!

  15. Love the shots of the leaves, particularly the first one!


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

