Wolf Dreams

Laverty Falls Trail. Fundy National Park. New Brunswick, Canada.

Wolves are the epitome of the wild spirit.

~ Ted Andrews, Animal Speak

Forest dreams

For the past few nights I have been dreaming of wolves.

Last night I dreamed I was a wolf, running through the forest with the pack.

My senses were keen, and the run was wild, strong, invigorating.  The forest was a magical place, a place born in fairy tales.  Or in dreams.

In mythos and fairy tales, deities and other great spirits test the hearts of humans by showing up in various forms that disguise their divinity.  They show up in robes, rags, silver sashes, or with muddy feet.  They show up with skin dark as old wood, or in scales made of rose petal, as a frail child, as a lime-yellow old woman, as a man who cannot speak, or an an animal who can.  The great powers are testing to see if humans have yet learned to recognize the greatness of soul in all its varying forms.

~ Clarissa Pinkola Estes

It was the most amazing dream.  What makes it even more fantastic is that I remember so much of it.  I have incredible recall of all the wolf dreams, but that last one was pure magic.

The beauty of the trees, the softness of the air,
the fragrance of the grass, they speak to me.
The summit of the mountain, the thunder of the sky,
the rhythm of the sea, speaks to me.
The faintness of the stars, the freshness of the morning,
the dewdrop on the flower, speaks to me.
The strength of the fire, the taste of the salmon,
the trail of the sun, and the life that never goes away,
they speak to me.
And my heart soars.

~Chief  Dan George

But enough of dreams, especially since I’m holding the details close.  It is a beautiful day here in the Bogs.  The rain finally moved out and the sun is shining.  By the time this post goes out as scheduled, I’ll be riding my bike through a wooded area, breathing in fresh air and admiring the colors of autumn.

Today’s photos are from the hike to Laverty Falls in Fundy National Park (way, way, way back in June — you can find my last post about the hike here).  This is the trail as we saw it on the way back after visiting the waterfalls.

Thank you for stopping by and visiting as I walk a trail from summer (A “Thursday Travels” on a Friday).  Have a delightful, delicious, and wonder-filled weekend!

Laverty Lake

32 Comments on “Wolf Dreams”

  1. Bo Mackison says:

    Wolf dreams? So interesting. And I’m having dreams where I meet a bear, a solemn, very tall bear who wants a gift from me. Why do you think we are having these large animal dreams, Robin? The dreams make me feel quite powerful though. Interesting, hmmm?

  2. Dounia says:

    Beautiful post and I particularly loved the poems/quotes you included today. And your wolf dreams sound magnificent, hopefully you’ll have more of them! I hope you have a wonderful and dream-filled weekend!

  3. Thomas Ross says:

    This is an exceptional composition- just gorgeous photos and amazing text. Really exceptional.

    Thank you.

    Tom

  4. mobius faith says:

    Great title. Lovely descriptions. I love that quote by the Chief. I’ve added it to my list of favorite quotations. I have said that many times but never so eloquently. Beautiful post.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Terry. I was lucky to stumble upon that quote this morning. It seemed to sum things up for me, too, in words I’ve never been able to put together so well. 🙂

  5. Beautiful photos…and remarkable dreams. The next to the last photo…of the path/road into the woods looks to me like what Robert Frost would have written about, if it had been summer, instead of winter… “but I have promises to keep…and miles to go before I sleep…miles to go before I sleep….”….heading out along that path in the woods… I think maybe we all do…we all have promises to keep…to ourselves….and some wonderful and precious miles to go before we sleep…as our hears soar…I sure hope so!

  6. Phil Lanoue says:

    Thanks for taking me along on your hike, I enjoyed the photos and commentary very much!

  7. Joanne says:

    You have just reminded me about a dream I had last night Robin. It was very vivid, but you know what? Now, I can’t remember it….but I do wonder what dreams of wolves mean. You felt good about your dream, so that has to be a positive, and also there must be a reason for you remembering your dreams so vividly. I’m wondering if the message (I’m sure there is one!) will come to you as you meditate.

    • Robin says:

      I’m still pondering the message, Joanne. I’ve had another similar dream, and then woke up to the sound of the coyotes barking and howling. Perhaps the nights are just wild. 🙂

  8. jane tims says:

    Hi. Lovely post. I like sleep because I have such interesting dreams … they don’t always make much sense! I like your photos of roots and rocks on the trail… shows how well-used they are! Jane

  9. Love the photos…such a wonderful vacation you had last summer…
    I dreamed I had a pair of Space Aliens in my garden last night, and I was telling them the names of the plants…that one was odd, even for me! 😀

    • Robin says:

      lol, Marie! I had a dream about space aliens recently, too. I don’t remember much about it. I don’t think they were friendly space aliens because I was very glad to wake from that dream.

  10. Kathy says:

    Thank you for sharing your wolf dream(s). The natives here teach that the wolf comes from the western direction, the direction of dreams, of letting go, of ripening. Wolf is known as a teacher, a guide. Perhaps because of your year of meditation commitment you’re opening to some new energy.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you for the information, Kathy. I really appreciate it. 🙂

      It’s day 13 of my meditation commitment, and yes, I do think I’m opening to new energy.

  11. Gorgeous photos – I always love the simplicity and beauty of the green and brown tones of the woodland. Have you been reading Estes? I just went back to her book recently because of my recent dreams. Perhaps things are shifting in the unseen layers of life . . .

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Lynn. 🙂
      I read Women Who Run With the Wolves decades ago, and have been wondering where my copy is because I think it would be helpful to read her book again.

  12. How cool, Robin–mythic really. Have you read “WOmen who Run with the Wolves?” I see you quoted Estes. Incredible book, if you haven’tl
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  13. Wolf dreams–how interesting! What could it all mean?

  14. Christine Grote says:

    Your post reminds me of Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time Series where one of the characters ran with wolves. And communicated with them, too. I think we could communicate with animals if we only knew how.

    Beautiful pictures like always.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Christine. 🙂

      I’d forgotten about that! I read the Wheel of Time series (a couple of times). I keep forgetting to look to see if it’s been finished. I know Robert Jordan died, but thought I’d heard an ending was coming out (not sure if someone else was finishing it up for him or not).

      • CMSmith says:

        I’ve read it a couple of times, too, (at least the first 6 or 7 books, I didn’t like the later ones as well). Brandon Sanderson is finishing the series for Jordan. He’s going to write books 12 through 14. I read 12. I don’t know if 13 is out, but I think it should be. I need to catch up. I thought he did a good job of bringing story lines back together.


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

