It happened overnight

Changing of the guard

There is a beautiful spirit breathing now
Its mellowed richness on the clustered trees,
And, from a beaker full of richest dyes,
Pouring new glory on the autumn woods,
And dipping in warm light the pillared clouds.

~ Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Yesterday evening, M and I were talking about going up to the Holden Arboretum some weekend to have a look at the trees and the fall colors.  M seemed to think this weekend is too early.  All the fall foliage maps are showing the colors will peak in a couple of weeks.

I reminded M that last year we arrived a little too late, and that this year everything has arrived a few weeks earlier than normally expected.  A lot of the tips of the leaves around here have already been touched with autumn’s paint brush, and I figure that in another few days, the foliage ought to be looking pretty colorful.  Besides, I don’t want to go to the arboretum next weekend.  They’re having a Halloween type thing and that will likely bring in lots of families with children.  Not that I have anything against families with children.  I have a family and there are children (my grandchildren).  But it will be crowded and that’s never a good time to try to take peaceful photos of the fall foliage although it’s not impossible (just hike deep into the woods — it’s usually not crowded out there).  The weekend after that, well, will probably be too late.

Anyhow.

I went out for my walk this morning and was surprised by the amount of color.  Even though I was arguing in favor of early color, I truly wasn’t expecting to see so much.

It must have happened overnight.

It’s been raining for the past few days.  I really didn’t pay much attention to the colors yesterday, but I’m pretty sure they were not as widespread and vivid as they are today.  I’d show you what I mean, but I don’t have the pictures to prove it.  I took a few shots of the wind in the willows and left it at that.  I was having one of those day when I didn’t want to be bothered with the camera or sorting through photos.

Today is a different story.  After seeing so much color had appeared overnight, I wanted to patrol the neighborhood, camera in hand, to see what Mother Nature had done while I was sleeping.  The first four photos are of the neighbor’s woods.  The rest are from around the pond.

This scene with the dogwood is always my favorite this time of year. It almost takes my breath away when I see it (in person, not through the camera). A whisper of wind and this scene will change quickly. It’s already changed since I was out there this morning.

I know I usually bring you travel photos on Thursdays, but time is fleeting and so are the autumn colors.  I can always dip back into the summer travel photos once we arrive at the doldrums of late autumn, before the snow arrives.

That’s it from the Bogs for today.  Thank you so much for dropping by and exploring the colors with me.  Unless the winds pick up (not forecasted, but you never know), we should have another week or two of good color.  Maybe longer.  We had some early leaf drop due to the dry conditions over the summer so… who knows?  Best to get out and about and enjoy it while you know it’s there rather than wait for some future date that might be too late for one reason or another.

The dogwood is on fire this year!

Wishing you a sweet and colorful day, evening, night… wherever and whenever you are on the spectrum of time.

51 Comments on “It happened overnight”

  1. anhinga says:

    Just beautiful. What a nice surprise. I’ll have to enjoy the colorful spring vicariously. 🙂

  2. Oohhh!!! That’s BEAUTIFUL!! ♥

  3. This is what I wait for, the colors coming alive in the autumn!
    Ours have the first hint, if you know where to look. Headed to Central Massachussetts tomorrow, where I’m sure the color is farther along!

  4. Ellen says:

    you wake up and you see everything changed around you … overnight, or it seems since there were very subtle changes that lead to that very night in which everything changed … just like in life …

  5. Dounia says:

    Oh, the autumn colors are so beautiful! It’s true that fall has started early and the leaves are changing colors as we watch them!

  6. Just gorgeous! Amazing how it just…happens, right? Even the few trees down here that do change seem to just SNAP over a weekend.

  7. Goodness, Robin, the colors are stunning. Happy fall, my friend.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  8. Phil Lanoue says:

    Wow! Those are absolutely amazing! I won’t get to see anything like that here so it’s great to see your work!

  9. mobius faith says:

    “overnight” is exactly what I said this morning when I went for my walk along the Oak Hill Trail. The colors are really starting to pop. And you’ve captured some excellent examples. Lovely.

  10. Chloe says:

    such beautiful photographs you have created

  11. I love your beautiful photos!

  12. jane tims says:

    Hi. We drove into Quebec a week ago and no color.. now, on our return a few days later, every hill is bursting with red… I love the photo of the red trees peeking out among the greens…. Jane

  13. artsifrtsy says:

    Gorgeous, you seem to be a week or two ahead of us.

  14. terbar75 says:

    Colorfull! fantastic!

  15. aFrankAngle says:

    You have some beautiful reds at this time at your home!

    • Robin says:

      The reds seem to be dominant this year, Frank. Last year it was yellow. I’m looking forward to when the maples turn. They’re just starting. Another few days and they should be adding some beautiful oranges, reds, and yellows to the picture. 🙂

      • aFrankAngle says:

        I enjoy the reds. Although poison ivy can kill trees, there is something (at this time of the year) about the red around the the inside of a tree with yellow leaves.

        • Robin says:

          It is very pretty, Frank. Here at Breezy Acres we have mostly Virginia Creeper creating those vivid reds (as seen in the photo in this post). It’s not particularly good for the trees either so we only let it grow on dead, dying, or soon to be dying trees. (The soon to be dying are ash trees since the emerald ash borer has made its way to Ohio. I expect our ash trees will be going the way of our elms. Sad.) I spent the first two years here cutting back vines of all kinds, including poison ivy. We generally keep an eye out for the three-leaved pest (poison ivy) and get rid of it ASAP. M is very allergic to it. I rarely react to it, although it happens.

          • aFrankAngle says:

            Many thanks for all the info. Yep – the positives and negatives of vines. Meanwhile, the Emerald Ash Borer has arrived at my end of the state … thus I may be faced with removing for ashes next year.

  16. ladyfi says:

    Wow – how gorgeous! Stunning shots. Can’t wait for our leaves to turn.

  17. Gorgeous colors, Robin. We are usually a day behind you, so I expect we will be coloring up here soon.

  18. Gracie says:

    Beautiful colors, Robin! My plan was to go see the Fall foliage next weekend, but seeing your photos, I’m afraid it might be too late.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Gracie. 🙂

      You should be good. We’re going up on Friday to see what’s happening at the arboretum. There is still plenty of green here and the maples are just beginning to turn. Plus it’s a little warmer up that way (due to Lake Erie) so the change of colors is usually a little behind what we see here.

  19. Joanne says:

    Oh wow, what a beautiful time of year to be in the bogs!! The colours of the leaves are so stunning Robin, I’m so pleased you took the photos of them before they change again. 🙂

  20. Amy says:

    How beautiful! Lovely fall colors. Down in the south where I am, it’s still pretty green.

  21. David Hall says:

    Beautiful colours. Well captured.

  22. Sallyann says:

    Beautiful, really beautiful.:-)

  23. Christine Grote says:

    We don’t have quite as much color as you yet, but the locust trees outside my window are a nice yellow and I can see a vibrant red-wine vine climbing up a tree in the woods across the drive. What a glorious time of year.

  24. I wish we had all these colors here. Thanks for sharing!


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

