Soggy weather

Today’s view of the pond

Water, the Hub of Life.  Water is its mater and matrix, mother and medium.  Water is the most extraordinary substance!  Practically all its properties are anomalous, which enabled life to use it as building material for its machinery.  Life is water dancing to the tune of solids.

~ Albert Szent-Gyorgyi

Looking down the street

There’s a lot of rain in the eastern part of the U.S. today.  A low (pressure area) carrying tropical moisture met up with a cold front.  It’s not a Perfect Storm as in the event of 1991 (I believe three meteorological conditions came together for that one), but it does look to be causing some storms on the east coast.

Looking down the street. (A “painted and aged” version)

Here in the Bogs we’re getting rain and wind.  It rained overnight and throughout the day.  We need the moisture.

Blustery day

We don’t really need the gusty winds, but it’s a package deal.  Mother Nature often works that way.

I did go out for my walk.  One of the great things about the year of getting outside every day is that rainy weather is no longer a hindrance.  I put on my Muck shoes and rain coat, put a rain coat (shower cap) on my camera, and go out.  Sometimes, like today, I take an umbrella.  The U.S. Post Office and I have the same motto about neither rain nor sleet nor whatever…  I don’t remember how it all goes and I’m feeling too lazy to look it up.  Lightning would keep me inside for a while, but lightning never lasts long enough that I can’t go out at some point during the day.

Turbulent water

I did something stupid today.  Now, it’s not the first time I’ve done something stupid, and I doubt it will be the last.  It was one of those stupid things that could have been avoided, making it particularly stupid and annoying.

Virginia Creeper turning red with embarrassment. Oh wait. That was me. The Virginia Creeper is never embarrassed. It’s just being itself, not worrying about doing stupid things.

There are a number of conditions that make The Stupid Thing I Did particularly stupid.  I was hurrying, for no reason.  I wasn’t late for anything.  There was nothing insistent going on.  I could have taken my time.

Walking towards the woods in the rain. The rain and wind dictated today’s photos. It never pays to shoot into the rain and wind. (That was not The Stupid Thing I Did.)

The thing I was doing was something I don’t do often, but I’ve done it several times lately and so, I was getting a little overconfident in my skills and abilities.  “Cocky” is the usual word for that attitude.  The pride before the fall sort of thing.

Mis-perception

The third and final condition, related vaguely to the second, is that I was not paying strict attention to what I was doing.  I let my mind wander off somewhere else, thinking the rest of me would accomplish what I set out to do, mindlessly, without thought of my lack of depth perception.

Feeling blue and purple

The good news?  Nobody was hurt.  Nothing was severely damaged.  Just a bit of a dent in my pride.  Because it was a stupid thing to do.

Knocked over by the wind and rain

Lesson learned.  Pay attention.

Rain on pond weed

The more stupid one is, the closer one is to reality.  The more stupid one is, the clearer one is.  Stupidity is brief and artless, while intelligence squirms and hides itself.  Intelligence is unprincipled, but stupidity is honest and straightforward.

~ Fyodor Dostoyevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

20 Comments on “Soggy weather”

  1. Phil Lanoue says:

    Wonderful mood and feeling to these photos Robin!

  2. mobius faith says:

    Nice variety here. I think my absolute fave is the “Rain on pond weed” That is just pure art. All at once it feels like 3-D abstract wallpaper Beautiful.

  3. Ahh, I was waiting with anticipation to find out what the stupid thing was!! I love the quote from Brothers Karamazov: “The more stupid one is the closer one is to reality….” Great quote. We all do stupid things, and we do them time and time again. Learning to pay attention is also something we all need to learn. Believe, we can all relate to this post, Robin! Your pictures are gorgeous as always, but I have to say the rain on the pond weed is especially wonderful. 🙂

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Cathy. 🙂

      If you don’t tell anyone, I’ll tell you what I did… I accidentally backed our new/old car into a dirt pile. It’s funny now (especially the mental vision/memory I have of a plant sticking out the tail pipe), but at the time I was afraid I broke the car. It’s okay. It’s not broken and all is well now.

      • Thanks for sharing, Robin! That doesn’t seem so stupid to me! We have all done things like that, or worse. Too bad you didn’t take a picture of the plant sticking out of the tailpipe to post; we would all have loved that! It’s good the car, and you, are okay! 🙂

  4. aFrankAngle says:

    I imagine your area could use the rain …. unfortunately, we missed most of it. (Surprisingly). Meanwhile, it’s good to see the trees starting to show the fall color. Well done Robin.

  5. Beautiful post, Robin; I especially liked the first quote. I’m bookmarking this post as inspiration; my next “Four Elements” piece is “Rain” so I hope to link back to you in a few weeks 🙂

  6. Joanne says:

    Well Robin, according to your quote from Fyodor Dostoyevsky, stupidity is honest and straightforward, so I hope you are feeling both of those emotions, besides the stupidity! I also learned how to dash outdoors during the rain showers, earlier this year, when the rain was relentless here. It’s worth the risk, as there is so much to see outside on a rainy day, as your photos show. 🙂

  7. dearrosie says:

    Hi Robin,
    I loved the way you built up to the silly thing you’d done by using your beautiful images to create the mood (love all the pictures in this post!), and then you don’t even tell us what you did.

  8. Sallyann says:

    Hey, is that turbulent water winking at you ? 😉

  9. Looks like our week-end. Thankfully it was just a steady light rain, not one of those typical torrential Texas downpours.

  10. […] instance, I didn’t tell you what it was I did that was stupid.  Not right away.  If you keep up with comments, you know what it was I did.  For those that […]


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

