Thursday Travels: Playing at Laverty Falls

Back at the top of Laverty Falls. Fundy National Park. New Brunswick, Canada.

Last week, I left off at the top of Laverty Falls after a lovely hike through the woods.

If you stand at the top and look to the left, you’ll see the water cascading down a series of small drops.  This was one of those times when I wished for a better camera, one that is capable of doing that cotton candy effect.  I can almost do it with my camera (the photo above is an example), but I think I need a filter of some kind to keep it from being overexposed.  I tried to do it in Photoshop:

But… eh.  It did soften the water somewhat which helped.

So I played some more, even messing around a bit with the colors.

I continued to play.  All but a few of the photos (the first two and any I’ve subsequently labeled) in this post have been heavily manipulated in some way.

Eventually we left the top of the falls to make our way to the bottom.  We had to go through the woods again for a short bit.

Up, then down, and back to the water…

It was a beautiful spot, and we had it all to ourselves.

Didn’t need to do much to this photo. Just sharpened, adjusted brightness and contrast, and resized it.

We found a comfortable rock, had a little picnic, and just hung out there for a while, enjoying the sound of the water and the gorgeous view.

Here in the Bogs it continues to be warm and humid.  I’m not enjoying it very much.  The compressor in our air conditioner died on Saturday night.  Apparently the planned obsolescence date got mixed up because it was still under warranty.  If we hadn’t had such an early, hot, and humid summer, it probably would have died next year the day after the warranty expired.

Even so, we’re going to end up with a whole new unit.  Things have changed in the world of air conditioning over the past nine years.  There are greener, more efficient units.  Hopefully we’ll have the new one installed soon.  In the meantime, the house keeps heating up and I’m spending most of my time in the basement where it’s cool compared to the upstairs.

My body doesn’t seem to want to acclimate to heat.  I’ve never liked hot weather and often thought I should be living somewhere cold.  It’s nice to sit here and look at photos from a much cooler day.  I try to take a Zen approach to it all, but that’s difficult when I’m tossing and turning at two o’clock in the morning.  I don’t think I’ve slept well since Saturday although I’ve certainly given it a good try.

That’s it for this week’s edition of Thursday Travels.  Someday we’ll move away from Laverty Falls and go on another hike.  I have some more woodland shots from this hike.  I think we’ll be visiting a lake after that.

Thank you for stopping by, and joining me at Laverty Falls.  I hope it was as refreshing for you as it was for me.

Today’s view of the pond

If you saw a heat wave, would you wave back?

~ Steven Wright

16 Comments on “Thursday Travels: Playing at Laverty Falls”

  1. tedgriffith says:

    I don’t do well in the heat, either. I can’t imagine what it is like for you with the high humidity to go with it!! Thank goodness for air conditioning. 🙂 I really like the trip to the falls. To get the satin look to the water, you will need: a) a tripod or some other away to stabilize the camera, b) a loooong exposure. To get this you may need a neutral density filter to go in front of the lens. If your camera doesn’t have treads on the lens to screw the filter on, you can hand-hold it in front during exposure. Just don’t touch the camers and cause a shake!

  2. mobius faith says:

    Great shots. Funny funny quote by Steven Wright (one of the funniest comics ever IMHO)

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Terry. Gotta agree with you about Steven Wright. Saw him in either Canton or Akron a few years ago. He can really twist the mind with his humor. 🙂

  3. TBM says:

    What a great place for a hike. As always, your photos are great and make me want to drop everything and join you. Good luck with getting a new AC unit. I feel your pain, I don’t like hot and humid either.

  4. jane tims says:

    Hi Robin. I like the falls photo just before the one of the ‘rooty’ path. The photo captures the transparency of the moving water. Jane

  5. Anna Surface says:

    How refreshing! And how I would love to see this much water! Most of our creeks are dry and so are the little falls at some of the creeks. I am with you about the heat as I just don’t thrive in the heat and wish to live somewhere cooler, for sure. Love the Laverty Falls photos…. nature and majestic and soothing! 🙂

  6. aFrankAngle says:

    Thank you for the beautiful pics for my return. 😉

  7. Refreshing and encouraging…there is coolness somewhere! (even if visual – it helps!)

  8. […] were a lot of exposed tree roots on the trail (as you might have noticed last week).  I’m fascinated with them, and with the way a tree will spread its roots just about […]


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

