I am grateful

Morning stripes

Everything is a gift.  Grateful living is a celebration of the universal give-and-take of life, a limitless yes to belonging.

~ David Steindl-Rast

I am grateful for the early morning mist and the golden light that turns the dew into jewels.

I am grateful for my legs and feet because they carry me on my morning walks.

I am grateful for sunbeams.

Joy is the simplest form of gratitude.

~ Karl Barth

I am grateful for the coolness of the morning air.

I am grateful for the beauty that surrounds me, beauty that is always there.  I only have to look.

I am grateful for my home, the little piece of Earth I live on, the meadows, the woods, the garden, and the pond.  I am grateful to be who I am, where I am, right here, right now.

I am grateful for all the love in my life.  I am grateful for Life.

I would maintain that thanks are the highest form of thought; and that gratitude is happiness doubled by wonder.

~ G. K. Chesterton

Change of life

And I am grateful for all of you.  Your visits, your likes, and your comments.  Thank you.

I am grateful for the wild sunflower I found blossoming near the pond early this morning.

I move through my day-to-day life with a sense of appreciation and gratitude that comes from knowing how fortunate I truly am and how unearned all that I am thankful for really is.  To have this perspective in my everyday consciousness is in itself a gift, for it leads to feeling “graced,” or blessed, each time…  Every time I see beauty around me I appreciate what I am seeing, and simultaneously I have this sense of appreciation — for being alive to have this particular moment.

~ Jean Shinoda Bolen

39 Comments on “I am grateful”

  1. tedgriffith says:

    What a wonder-filled reminder to not only be thankful, but to express it! 🙂

  2. I am grateful for you, Robin, and all the lovely thoughts and photos you share with us.

  3. Oooooooo……sunbeams! 🙂 I’m grateful for the gift of your skill and you’re sharing it with us.

  4. jane tims says:

    Hi. Beautiful post!!!! Jane

  5. FeyGirl says:

    What a beautiful post, through and through! Love the Chesteron quote… ♥

  6. mobius faith says:

    Your images like gratitude itself are beautiful.

  7. Ellen says:

    I´m grateful you are in my life

  8. David Hall says:

    Wow…what wonderful lighting and colour. Superb.

  9. Chloe says:

    there is such gorgeous light in these photos, i really like your compositions
    i wish i was able to get up and see these lovely scenes in the morning

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Chloe. 🙂

      You could try sunset. That’s the other “golden hour.” I haven’t really tried working with the light at sunset too much, but did get some lovely shots yesterday after it rained. The sun came out just before sunset, lighting everything up with that golden light.

  10. ladyfi says:

    Wow wow wow! Each shot is a golden beauty! Gorgeous.

  11. Val says:

    I am grateful that I found your blog and you. These photos – and your words – are beautiful, Robin. 🙂

  12. Glorious photos today, Robin, and a thoughtful selection of quotes and musings to go with them…
    Hope it’s cool and calm for you today!

  13. kolytyi says:

    Oooooooooooooooooo, ooooooooooooooooooooo, oooooooooooooooooooooooo – this is surely not a highly intelligent remark but it expresses my feelings quite exactly 🙂

  14. Anna Surface says:

    Robin, beautiful gratitude post and photos. I love the spider web and spider! Your photos surely portray glow and gratitude. 🙂

  15. Marianne says:

    Beautiful, Robin! Thank you so much for sharing your gratitude and eye for beauty with us. I didn’t comment on the waterfall post but the photos were awesome. 🙂

  16. Karma says:

    ***deep breath*** ***sigh of appreciation**** Lovely!

  17. Kathy says:

    I am grateful that we are in one another’s lives, Robin. You are someone I like every much.

  18. Love how you captured the light in these shots!


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

