A walk in the rain

A glimpse of the pond (and the rain) through the wisteria vines

This morning I woke up to a steady mizzle (mist and drizzle).  I love walking in the misty rain.  There is something magical about it.  It’s almost as good as fog with its dream-like qualities.

The richness of the rain made me feel safe and protected; I have always considered the rain to be healing — a blanket — the comfort of a friend.  Without at least some rain in any given day, or at least a cloud or two on the horizon, I feel overwhelmed by the information of sunlight and yearn for the vital, muffling gift of falling water.

~ Douglas Coupland

Misty rain makes the world look like an impressionist painting.  The colors are bold, the light is soft, and the details tend to blur in the mistiness.  The Orton Effect of weather.

I’m resting today.  No bike rides.  No crazy workouts.  Just a few slow walks around the pond and meadows, enjoying the feel of the rain.  A day of almost continuous meditation.  Breathing in, breathing out, getting glimpses of the space between breaths, between thoughts, between the Hamsa mantra.  Ham (on the inhale)…  sa (on the exhale)…   There’s a lovely blog post about the Hamsa mantra here.

Now that I am close to the end of my year-long yoga and food challenges, I’ve been pondering the question that always comes up at this point:  What next?  Something new?  Or maybe nothing at all?

I will continue with the daily yoga practice.  I don’t think I’ll go back to eating meat although I’m not dismissing it completely as I have had thoughts of cooking a traditional Thanksgiving meal this year.  I still want to try a month of veganism, but that will have to wait until ice cream season is over.  We don’t go to New Baltimore often for ice cream, but I don’t want to miss out on the last one or two helpings of creamy, delicious goodness.

Hmmm…  a sugar-free month might not be a bad idea either.

A beautiful garden spider lives in my garden

A daily meditation practice is on the top of my list for a year-long challenge.  The 28-day meditation challenge I did made such a difference in how I started my days.  Although there were some occasions when meditation brought up strong emotions, most of the time I found it to be calming, balancing, and energizing.  Even on the emotional days, it was a little like tuning an instrument so the sounds are warm and solid rather than harsh and out of harmony.

Well, I guess that’s it from the Bogs.  Thank you for joining me on my walk on this beautifully misty day.  I hope the overly humid weather doesn’t make your hair look as crazy as mine does with all its frizz and curl.

Waves in grain

Wishing you a lovely day, evening, or night, wherever and whenever you are on the spectrum of time.

32 Comments on “A walk in the rain”

  1. Pat Bean says:

    It was a beautiful walk in the rain.

  2. anhinga says:

    That first picture was mystical (mistical?) and beautiful. Also love the back of the sunflower–and all of them…

  3. ocean1025 says:

    I have to agree with anhinga ~ that first photograph is absolutely mystical. A beautiful capture. All of the photos are gorgeous, but you really outdid yourself with that one, Robin.

  4. sandy says:

    What a joy!

  5. tedgriffith says:

    A beautiful, peaceful walk. Always a joy! 🙂

  6. I thought the banner picture was going to be my favorite, nope, it ended up coming in second to the bark! 🙂

  7. ~mimo~ says:

    these are just dreamy and gorgeous!

  8. Ellen says:

    I love the colors of the rain, I mean, the intensity it gives to everything she touches (because I think rain is female or maybe the Spanish influence in which the rain is “la lluvia”)
    You`ve done well with your personal challenges and I think that you have learnt so many lessons that you`ll want to keep in your life, something that you have incorporated to your daily routine and now it`s part of who you are, some things that you will discard because you don`t feel totally at ease with them, some things in between.

  9. what beautiful photos today…the rain in the air, on the plants and webs is lovely. Thanks also for the link to the explanation about the Ham sa mantra…very special.

  10. Such a lovely, peaceful walk… This is why I save reading your posts until morning, so I can start the day off right. 🙂

  11. jane tims says:

    ‘mizzle’ …. what a great word. I call that kind of rain ‘hurricane rain’…. weird because rains associated with storms can be so hard and unrelenting. But often the rain associated with a hurricane at the end (which we usually get) is that fine misty stuff…. Jane

    • Robin says:

      That’s true, Jane. I hadn’t paid attention, but generally it does tend to be the fine, misty rain. We had heavy, blustery rains overnight and this morning. I think the pond is almost up to normal levels again. 🙂

  12. sdobbie46 says:

    I don’t know how you do it. You even make a rainy day look beautiful.

  13. Corina says:

    I never thought of the effect of rain on nature pictures but you are right. It gives them an impressionistic look/feel. Very pretty. And today I needed that yellow. Thank you for that!

    When I decided not to eat meat for health reasons, six years ago, I decided that I would allow myself to eat meat one meal per week. My daughter was a total vegetarian and it often made it difficult for her to enjoy eating with the rest of us because there was nothing she could eat (when we went out, mostly). It was also very difficult at times when she craved meat. We found out that when you go vegetarian, your body will stop producing the enzymes that digest meat which makes it really difficult to digest meat if you ever do go back to meat or even for just one meal. So I decided that I would be vegetarian but allow myself meat one meal per week (keeping my body producing that enzyme). That has really worked for me. If we are going out or if there is a holiday coming up, I can plan the day of the week when I will eat meat.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Corina. 🙂

      That sounds like a good plan. I didn’t realize that about the body producing enzymes that help digest meat. After all this time of not eating it, it’ll be interesting to see what happens if/when I do.

      • Dana says:

        Marty started eating meat after over 10 years of being a vegetarian. He had a brutal time trying to digest it for the first six months or so, even with the aid of digestive enzymes and Betaine (another, more potent, enzyme). Now that he’s finally able to digest meat on his own again, he’s thinking about going veg again. We watched that “Forks Over Knives” movie and he’s having second thoughts about his meat-eating once more. Oh, well– things change. 🙂

        • Robin says:

          That’s good to know, Dana. Since I was still eating fish, I’m probably okay on that score. No meat yet, even though I’ve said more than a few times that I would really like some bacon. Probably one of the worst things I could be eating, but it’s a flavor that can’t be duplicated in vegetarian cooking.

  14. Sallyann says:

    Thanks for reminding me that the rain can be beautiful too. 🙂


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

