Mother Nature’s drama

Great Blue Heron fishing in the rain

The outer bands of Isaac brought us a good amount of rainfall yesterday.  I’m not sure exactly how much.  It poured and poured.  One of these days I’m going to buy a rain gauge so I can measure it for myself.

The clouds were pretty dramatic at times.  The thunder and lightning added to the sense of drama.  Mother Nature is good at that.  The ultimate Drama Queen.

Some of my photos might be a little difficult to see.  As I mentioned yesterday, the air was THICK.  The humidity kept steaming up my camera lens.  I kind of like the effect in some instances.

Many a man curses the rain that falls upon his head, and knows not that it brings abundance to drive away the hunger.

~ Saint Basil

Some of the bands brought impressive and somewhat melodramatic clouds.

On cable TV they have a weather channel — 24 hours of weather.  We had something like that where I grew up.  We called it a window.

~ Dan Spencer

The dramatic clouds brought dramatic winds.  It was invigorating and, for a little while, drove out some of the thickness in the air.

The thickness returned once the clouds moved through and the wind died down.  We’ve had some misty rains today.  So far, nothing quite as dramatic as yesterday’s storms.

M and I went for a short (7.2 miles) bike ride around the neighborhood this morning.  We saw an astonishing number of dead frogs of all sizes lying on the roads and the sides of the roads.  I’m wondering if  it might have rained frogs at some point yesterday or last night.

Don’t worry.  I did not bring you photos of dead frogs.  Just some scenes from around the neighborhood.

But the true lover of rain… has a deep inner enjoyment of the rain, as rain, and his sense of its beauty drinks it in as thirstily as does the drinking earth.  It refreshes and cools his heart and brain; he longs to go forth into the fields, to feel its steady stream, to scent its fragrance; to stand under some heavy-foliaged chestnut-tree, and hear the rushing music on the crowded leaves.

~ John Richard Vernon, “The Beauty of Rain,” 1863

I reckon that’s it from the Bogs on this misty, sometimes rainy, Sunday.  I am grateful for the rain we have received.  The Earth in these parts appears to be grateful as well.  The hummingbirds and herons are certainly enjoying it.

Thank you for visiting.  I hope your Sunday has been filled with joy and wonder.

The crisp drenching rustle from the dry foliage of the perceptibly grateful trees… the little plants, in speechless ecstasy, receiving cupful after cupful into the outspread leaves, that silently empty their gracious load, time after time, into the still expecting roots, and open their hands still for more.

~ John Richard Vernon, “The Beauty of Rain,” 1863

All of the roads around here have these rolling hills. The work to go up is rewarded with a nice, downhill glide.

50 Comments on “Mother Nature’s drama”

  1. Kathy says:

    Mother Nature–the ultimate drama queen! Yep, you’re right, she surely can be dramatic. You captured her roiled up energy perfectly, Robin. Glad you had some rain. We need a little bit, too, please. (I don’t always remember to compliment you on your pictures, but I always love them.)

  2. Denise says:

    Lovely and dramatic shots. Those dark clouds were very ominous looking. Hope all that rain didn’t do too much damage in your area.

  3. What amazing cloud photos you took…talk about “dramatic!”…wow…very impressive!…the older barn in the field is lovely too…and I see it’s up on your header too…beautiful textures, light and lines!

  4. mobius faith says:

    Nothin’ wrong with a steamed lens.
    I call a steamed lens – imitation fog. 🙂

    Great images. I love the 3rd and 4th images. and the last image with the barn in field is a classic. Well done. Happy Labor Day weekend.

  5. Ellen says:

    beautiful shots!!

  6. You have a good eye for the landscapes. So far we haven’t received any measurable rain in SW Ohio.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Air Cooled Underware. 🙂

      A friend in Columbus said they didn’t get much rain either. Looks like we got lucky up here in the NE corner.

  7. bearyweather says:

    Nothing like a little dramatic weather to bring about a great photo taking opportunity … very nice.
    We need some rain so badly … it has been over a month without it. Things are just shriveling up and dying .. the oak leaves became transparent skeletons a few weeks ago. Our Fall is not going to be a colorful one this year … there won’t be any surviving leaves to put on a show for us.

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Bearyweather. 🙂

      I’m not sure our fall will be very colorful either. We’ve already had quite a bit of leaf drop from the drought. Hope you get some rain soon.

  8. Love the ‘melodramatic’ clouds. I liked the effect of the steamed camera lens as well. But when mine does that I get nothing as beautiful! 🙂

  9. Love that heron Robin, nice sky photos too !

  10. Val says:

    I love the quote from Dan Spencer and your fourth photo from the top, with its dark mistiness is my favourite. 🙂

    You live in such a beautiful place, Robin.

  11. I enjoyed this post, Robin! Wonderful misty photos and the clouds were impressive. The country road and rolling hills got me – homesick again.

  12. Sallyann says:

    Mother Nature sure knows how to grab the attention.
    And you’ve taken some wonderful shots of what looks like a beautiful neighbourhood. 🙂

  13. Wonderful photos. I so love a good storm.
    We are expecting the Leftovers to arrive tomorrow and Wednesday, and I’m looking forward to the rain. Our hummingbirds left a week ago…along with the barn swallows. The mornings are too quiet these days…

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Marie. 🙂

      Our hummingbirds and barn swallows are still here. The birds have been gathering. Yesterday a large flock flew overhead while I was out for a walk. I love the sound of them all lifting up from the trees. That whoosh! of flight.

  14. Thomas Ross says:

    Lush, amazing photos.

    Thank you. You have enriched my Sunday morning with your artistry.

    Tom

  15. What a great sequence of photos, Robin, proving the point that blue skies and sunshine are unnecessary for spectacular image making 🙂

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Lynn. 🙂

      I think stormy weather creates some beautiful images. The only type of sky I have trouble with is a bright, hazy sky. It seems like it washes out all color. Even that can be worked around, though.

  16. Definitely some winners in there!! Enjoy the rain!!

  17. Joanne says:

    I love your description of Mother Nature being the ultimate drama queen Robin, and by the looks of these photos, you are right! It looks so scary but fascinating at the same time, and your foggy camera lens has created some real beauties too. What a fabulous post this is! And I see now where the new barn hearder has come from. 🙂

  18. Coming East says:

    Great shots, and I loved the quotes you picked to go along with them. I love storms like that, but we haven’t had anything dramatic like that in Virginia Beach for awhile. I wish something would come g and knock this humidity down. I think I’m ready for my first cool autumn day. I’d like to sit outside in the morning with my cup of tea and a sweatshirt on.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Susan. 🙂

      I know just what you mean. I’m ready for a cool down, too. I wouldn’t even mind some snow right now. (And wouldn’t that be a shocker? lol!)

  19. Those are some pretty amazing cloud photos, Robin!
    LOVE the one with the hay bales, everything is such a pretty green!

  20. Bo Mackison says:

    Robin, those clouds must have been something to see! What a story they tell.

  21. The first pix is remarkable – draws you in, mysterious. You can just feel and hear the scene and weather. Excellent!!!
    The clouds and quote are also interesting, but the field with the barn ( light roof) and the 2 road ones are so well done I can almost smell the damp dirt

  22. jane tims says:

    Hi Robin. We got the end of the Issac rain today. The driveway was awash with puddles! We are very dry here so it is nice to get a soaking rain. Jane

    • Robin says:

      Hi Jane. We enjoyed the soaking, too. It seems like this time of year we often depend on a tropical system to make its way up and give us some rain. 🙂

  23. Dana says:

    LOVE the photos of the storm clouds, Robin. Dramatic, indeed!


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

