Thursday Travels: Laverty Falls

Laverty Falls Trailhead

Note:  This is a scheduled post.  I am currently on a break from blogging, but decided to let this one go out since it was almost ready.  All I had to do was fill in these bits about how I’m on a blog break before I went on my blog break.  (There’s another bit later in the post.)

On our third day in New Brunswick, Canada, M and I went back to Fundy National Park to do some hiking.  We started bright and early, and made our way to Laverty Falls.  It’s a 2.5k hike one way (a 5k round trip), all of it through a lovely forest.

We’re not going to get as far as the waterfall in this post because I was so in love with the forest that I took a bazillion pictures of the trees and trail and wildflowers.  I won’t post all bazillion of them.  I promise.

The Laverty Falls trail has a difficulty rating of 2, which means “Moderate, not long, major hills, a snack might be nice.”  That’s pretty accurate, although I don’t remember any major hills.  We did enjoy a snack once we made it to the falls.

M and I thought this looked like a snake from a distance.

This is a scheduled post because, as you know, I’m currently taking a blog break and an at-home retreat.  Hopefully I have been following the retreat guidelines I set up for myself.

Those guidelines include (but are not limited to):

  • Talk little, walk much
  • Rise early for yoga and meditation practice and to see the sunrise
  • Chop wood, carry water (chores)
  • Spend time outdoors
  • Limit myself to taking no more than 10 photos per day
  • One journal entry in the evening, 250 words or less
  • Eat good food
  • No blogging or peeking in on blogs (any bets on whether or not I’m following this one?  lol!)

If you’re wondering why I want to be a woman of few words (and few images), see the quote I posted at the start of my post titled Three things.  It’s a variation of what Kathy did in July, although I’m limiting the words in my journal rather than on my blog because I’m not blogging right now.

I really like the trail marker on this tree.  It reminds me of my favorite hiking partner.

There he is, up ahead of me.  You might notice a similarity between him and the trail marker.

This tree is amazing.  Split, but still alive.

The thing to remember when traveling is that the trail is the thing, not the end of the trail.  Travel too fast and you miss all you are traveling for.

~ Louis L’Amour

Well, the trail has certainly been the thing in this post.  Thank you for visiting and joining me on the trail to Laverty Falls.  Hopefully we’ll make it as far as the falls in the next edition of Thursday Travels.

I hope your week has been going well.  See you soon, maybe!  🙂

26 Comments on “Thursday Travels: Laverty Falls”

  1. tedgriffith says:

    I love the quote from Louis L’Amour. And that B&W image is teriffic! Hope your retreat is healthful and healing.

  2. Kathy says:

    Have a nice blogging break, Robin. May you feel deeply connected as the hours & days unfold, in each and every sacred moment. Blessings! And deep connection with your deepest most Infinite self.

  3. dearrosie says:

    I too was inspired to take a home retreat after reading about Kathy’s break. Very impressed to hear you’re doing it! You’ve inspired me to take a hike this afternoon with myself! Thank you.

    Love the Louis L’Amour quote.
    Each of your photos of the path and the trees have taken my breath away. The last one – is it sepia or B/W?

  4. Chloe says:

    enjoy your blog break, i’ve been having time out as well 🙂
    lovely photographs as always and i look forward to your return

  5. mobius faith says:

    Hoping your break is both restful and energizing. 🙂

  6. Damn, that split tree is amazing, isn’t it?! Hope you’re enjoying your break, Robin.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  7. Split tree is my favorite!

  8. I love your plan for your break.. talk little, walk much! What an awesome idea! Have a wonderful rest!

  9. The trail marker hiker and M have the same backpack!! 🙂 Love your forest and the big split tree!

  10. Tammy says:

    I really like the sepia photo. Gives it such an ethereal look.

  11. Karma says:

    You’ve inspired me Robin. I think on this last week-day morning before I head back to school I should get out for a walk instead of sitting here in front of the computer!

  12. Sallyann says:

    I can see why you took so many pictures of the trees. They’re beautiful. 🙂

  13. […] Thursday Travels: Laverty Falls (bogsofohio.wordpress.com) Rate this:Share this:TwitterFacebookPinterestTumblrMoreEmailPrintDiggRedditStumbleUponLinkedInLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

  14. […] Thursday Travels: Laverty Falls (bogsofohio.wordpress.com) […]


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

