Magical Monday

Misty sunrise

When we are alone on a starlit night, when by chance we see the migrating birds in autumn descending on a grove of junipers to rest and eat; when we see children in a moment when they are really children, when we know love in our hearts; or when, like the Japanese poet, Basho, we hear an old frog land in a quiet pond with a solitary splash — at such times the awakening, the turning inside out of all values, the “newness,” the emptiness and the purity of vision that make themselves evident, all these provide a glimpse of the cosmic dance.

~ Thomas Merton

Spider dreams

Sometimes the early mornings by the pond are so dreamlike that I’m not sure if I’m awake or asleep.

I fell asleep to the sound of rain last night, and awakened to a land and pond shrouded in mist.

As the fire of the sun met the water of the fog, magic happened.

Magical places are always beautiful and deserve to be contemplated… Always stay on the bridge between the invisible and the visible.

~ Paulo Coelho

When you’re touched by magic, nothing’s ever quite the same again.  What really makes me sad is all those people who never have the chance to know that touch.  They’re too busy, or they just don’t hold with make-believe, so they shut the door without really knowing it was there to be opened in the first place.

~ Charles de Lint

I’ve been trying to come up with my own words for this post, and there’s nothing.  Peace, quiet, beauty, light… it feels impossible to describe how wondrous it was this morning.  Awe-inspiring.  Breathtaking.  Stunning.  I wish the camera could transport you there so you could see, hear, and feel it for yourself.

The morning was a gift of light and fog and magic.

Thanks for stopping by and walking with me through the fog and light.  Sorry I was unable to string together words and photos in a coherent way today.  Magical mornings often leave me wordless.

Wishing you a wonder-filled day, a joyful evening, and a peaceful night.

30 Comments on “Magical Monday”

  1. Robin, the first photo took my breath away. But the ones that follow are equally beautiful. What a joy to see this place with magical light and fog! Thank you for sharing the beauty and your joyful appreciation of this enchanted place!

  2. Robin,I can’t believe you’re apologizing for this post. Some of the writing here is lovely, and that first spider web image took my breath away. I think you’re too hard on yourself, my friend!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  3. That last one was a bit magical don’t you think?

  4. Joanne says:

    Words weren’t neccessary Robin, the photos tell the story beautifully, as did the words you found. The light must have been just brilliant, as your spider’s webs are some of the best I have ever seen. 🙂

  5. So beautiful, Robin, and the magic comes through your photos. I love the Charles de Lint quote; he is one of my favorite authors. Sounds like you had one of those magical transcendent mornings that comes only rarely; thanks for sharing it with the rest of us 🙂

  6. Chloe says:

    that spider web photo is sensational!!

  7. Bo Mackison says:

    These photos make such a cohesive series, they could be printed and used as a portfolio set. They truly have a magical feeling, the light captured, the feel of summer’s end. Really, Robin. It’s a superb collection.

  8. dadirri7 says:

    your spiderweb photos are truly magic, you have such a skill for capturing that delicate beauty!

  9. Karma says:

    Nothing like one of those mornings to put you in a good frame of mind for the day. Your photos spoke well for you today.

  10. Sometimes words are unnecessary. This is exactly how I feel when I go for one of my walks. Your photos tell a beautiful story! 🙂

  11. Your photos speak beautifully…no need for any words…

  12. Several of those have a distinct Impressionist flair to ’em… which I love!

  13. Sallyann says:

    Oh how I wish I was there walking with you …it looks so beautiful 🙂

  14. These shots are magnificent, Robin. Thanks for sharing your magical world with us 🙂


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

