Spun gold

Draped in gold

This was not a good morning to sleep in.  If I had slept in, I would have missed the fog and the early morning sunlight shining on the dew in the meadows, turning the spider webs into spun gold.  Even Rumplestiltskin couldn’t have done it better.

The fog was thick, easy to get lost in.  The pond wasn’t visible at all from the house, or even walking down the sledding hill where you would normally get a good view of it.

Going down the sledding hill

Sometimes the webs were made of silver rather than gold.

What surprised me the most is just how many webs there are strung across the meadows.  All of the really good webs were, of course, smack in the middle of a meadow and difficult to get at.

I still managed to find some good webs near the edges of the meadows and the pond.

Everything has the look and feel of autumn.  It seems too soon, but everything has seemed to soon this year.

Life is magic, the way nature works seems to be quite magical.

~ Jonas Salk

After my walk I got to wondering if the hummingbirds have left us for the season.  No one has come to the feeder over the past few days, whereas before that they were emptying the feeder every day.

This is the first year I’ve put out a feeder here at Breezy Acres.  Next year I want to put up a few more, having read that the birds will be less aggressive if there are a couple of feeders for them to go to.

We ourselves cannot put any magic spells on this world.
The world is its own magic.

~ Suzuki Roshi

Well, that’s about it from the Bogs for today.  I didn’t get around to showing you much of the fog, did I?  The spider webs held my attention when I was sorting through the photos.  I’ll save the fog for another day.

Thank you for dropping by and joining me on my morning walk through the fog and the sparkling dew.  I hope there was some sparkle in your day, too.

And above all, watch with glittering eyes the whole world around you because the greatest secrets are always hidden in the most unlikely places.  Those who don’t believe in magic will never find it.

~ Roald Dahl

57 Comments on “Spun gold”

  1. GORGEOUS spider webs!! One of these days, I’m going to get up early enough to capture some morning light images….. trouble is, on cool, foggy days, I’m SO tempted to sleep!!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Holly. 🙂

      I know what you mean. It seems like good sleeping weather doesn’t last long so it’s difficult not to snuggle back in under the covers and sleep a while longer.

  2. sandy says:

    Just stunning! I love the color in your photos.

  3. Good God, these are GORGEOUS, Robin! I’m left nearly speechless by the beauty in something I so often overlook or even dislike.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  4. I’m trying to email your post to Sara and wordpress won’t let me. Don’t know why.

  5. dadirri7 says:

    absolutely divine robin, spun gold, thank you to the spiders for spinning and you for rising early! great magic quotes too 🙂

  6. Anita Mac says:

    Great webs…on my to capture list in photography. Have yet to capture a good one!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Anita. 🙂

      Frosty mornings are the best for capturing spider webs, although it has to be an early frost. Too late in the season and the spiders have all moved indoors (or somewhere warm).

  7. What a lovely web you weave, Robin 🙂 This is an extraordinary collection of photos from the beauty of nature – you always seem to go to the “heart of the matter.” I release a deep sigh and return to viewing and reflecting on your images . . .

  8. Emily B says:

    One of the best parts of the morning, that light. Gorgeous.

  9. mobius faith says:

    Web-slingers paradise. I love dew covered webs. They are like jeweled necklaces. Yet more valuable than any gems.

  10. aFrankAngle says:

    Catching the dew on the webs creates an awesome beaded look. Well done!

  11. Chatter Master says:

    Never before have I enjoyed a spider web! The sledding hill was fabulous.

  12. These delicate webs remind me of the beadwork and lacework my grandmother made. Just gorgeous shots.

  13. Coming East says:

    Amazing photographs, Robin! I didn’t realize your camera could capture spiderwebs so clearly.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Susan. 🙂

      It’s a matter of the right light and a dewy or frosty morning. Otherwise, my camera can’t see or capture the webs. I have to walk around the meadows for a couple of dewy mornings to figure out the lighting, angles, etc. That usually means waiting for the autumn months, when the nights are cooler and we have foggy mornings. An early frost is perfect for capturing them.

  14. I never knew spider webs could be so beautiful!

    • Robin says:

      Aren’t they gorgeous, Shirley? The webs are even more beautiful in person. My camera really can’t capture the way they shimmer and sparkle in the early morning sunlight.

  15. that first one is just splendid!

  16. bearyweather says:

    Gorgeous … I would have been caught up in photographing the spiderwebs, too … those special mornings of fog are great. I suppose pretty soon we will be having mornings of frost.

    I saw hummingbirds here yesterday, so I don’t think they have left … maybe they have found an extra special treat elsewhere for a few days?

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Bearyweather. 🙂

      I think they must have been eating elsewhere for a while, as they’ve come back recently. I read somewhere that the male hummingbirds leave northeast Ohio during the first week of August. The females stick around for a couple more weeks after that, and the juveniles will stay as late as mid-October.

  17. ocean1025 says:

    It has been far too long since I have been here, Robin. And I look at your beautiful pictures, I really regret that. You are a phenomenal photographer. I have a special place in my heart for spiders and for the webs they weave. I’ve had several spider friends who have set up residence in the porches of my former homes, and who created beautiful works of art themselves. I always love watching them make their webs…I always end up thinking about all the mythologies that surround the whole concept of spinning the threads and weaving the webs of life.

    I will try not to stay away so long.

  18. Such a lovely morning walk…the light here is odd this morning, diffuse and pearled. Nice to look at, but not photographing well…
    My hummers are still around – one buzzed me this morning in the garden…

  19. Corina says:

    Wow! These photos are stunning! What a treat on this already-uncomfortably-hot-at-nine-in-the-morning day. I’m so lucky to have come over here to visit your page! Thank you again for taking us along on your walks.

  20. Gracie says:

    Excellent photos, Robin! The silver ones, with the beads almost look like delicate veil made of lace.

  21. CMSmith says:

    Your webs look like rich jewelry. I don’t know how you did it. Amazing.

  22. Hi Robin, the photos are wonderful! Makes me homesick for Ohio and my favorite season.

  23. Gilraen says:

    Seeing these pictures in my mind it kinda marks the end of summer. Looking forward to the wonderful spectacle of autumn colours we can look forward to again.

  24. Sallyann says:

    First picture … couldn’t agree more !
    Rumplestiltskin – eat your heart out ! 😀

  25. Ellen says:

    beautiful pictures in this foggy morning!! a good thing you didn`t sleep in!!

  26. Wow!!! LOOOOVE the dewy spider webs!

  27. Gorgeous cobwebs! Do you think you could mail me a couple so I can take a few shots? 🙂

  28. Dana says:

    Love the spider web shots, Robin! They really do look like strings of precious metals and pearls. 🙂


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

