Quiet on the home front

Reflective

Silence is our deepest nature, our home, our common ground, our peace.  Silence reveals.  Silence heals.

~ Gunilla Norris

Today’s view of the pond

Bo the Dog and his people left this morning.  The house is amazingly quiet.  No pitter-patter of big dog paws pacing overhead.  No indignant cats meowing at me.  (The cats, having spent the past week on guard, are now in a deep sleep from whence I don’t expect them to awaken for many hours.)

I went out for my walk this morning all by my lonesome.  It was odd at first.  I missed my doggy companion.  Funny how it took only a week to get used to having Bo along on my rambles.

I adjusted to solo walking after a few minutes, and settled back in to a slow walk, taking time to really look into the meadows, the woods, and the pond.

A tiny damselfly in the meadow

The mind can go in a thousand directions, but on this beautiful path, I walk in peace.  With each step, the wind blows.  With each step, a flower blooms.

~Thich Nhat Hanh

Seeking the light

It is a good day for a slow walk.  A beautiful day for it.  The sun is shining.  It’s warm, but not too warm (and not at all hot).  Lovely clouds float by, carried by the breeze.

A message from the cattails

It is possible to live twenty-four hours a day in a state of love.  Every movement, every glance, every thought, and every word can be infused with love.

~ Thich Nhat Hanh

That’s it from the Bogs for today.  Thank you for joining me on a peaceful, mindful, Sunday walk.  I hope your Sunday has been filled with wonder and delight.

40 Comments on “Quiet on the home front”

  1. Chatter Master says:

    Love these, I think the first and last are my favorites. Beautiful. You have such great talent.

  2. Anita Mac says:

    I never tire of sunflowers – they are such a cheery flower!

  3. Val says:

    I love the centre of the sunflower, they are such amazing plants – from moment to moment they have a different shape. Most people just see a cheery yellow flower but there’s much more to them. 🙂

    How did you do that focus-lit leaf? It’s very atmospheric.

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Val. 🙂

      I agree. Sunflowers are flowers within flowers within flowers. Really amazing when you start looking at them close up.

      I spotted the sun on the leaf in the shade of a tree, played around with the manual settings until I got it just right, and voila! I got the basic shot, and then used a slight Orton Effect to soften the background. I’ve been taking a lot of “spot-lit” shots like that lately, and I think I’m finally getting the hang of it. I used to use the lighting filter in Photoshop to try to achieve that look, but I think natural looks so much better when everything comes together just right.

  4. Emily says:

    That first photo is full of so much weighty silence. Did you just stop after snapping it and get lost in your thoughts? 🙂

  5. Beautiful photos. I love your blog.

  6. Bo Mackison says:

    Your photos – such a pleasure to experience your walk through your lens. Gorgeous! And how lovely, after some family time, comes quiet time to balance things a bit.

  7. Oh, I have missed your posts this week. Hope you are doing well. Love the yellow flower photos. Is that first one a sunflower?
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  8. Tammy says:

    Soooooo green. I love it.

  9. Marianne says:

    Love the “Reflective” photo, Robin. And thanks for sharing your peaceful, mindful Sunday walk. Wishing you a great week!

  10. Sallyann says:

    The cattail messages are wonderful … it’s as if they’re practicing their handwriting for you. 🙂

  11. Chloe says:

    these are lovely!

  12. Ellen says:

    Have a great start of the week!!!

  13. aFrankAngle says:

    After this weekend, I could use some quiet.

  14. A lovely start to the day…the best thing I can say about the weekend past is, “It’s Over.” 😉

  15. Kathy says:

    Ahhh, I feel so relaxed, Robin. Your pictures are golden and filled with peace. Yes, you’ve inspired a walk. Just need to read another blog or two, then it’s time to meander in summer. Thank you.

  16. […] I have had her image for many years, one of my Divine Feminine talismans. Robin of Life in the Bogs quotes Gunilla Norris: “Silence is our deepest nature, our home, our common ground, our […]

  17. CMSmith says:

    Lovely, like always. The sunflowers are gorgeous. I tried to grow some this year and the seedlings were eaten before they were three inches tall.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Christine. 🙂

      Most of our sunflowers were eaten too. Out of the dozen or so we planted, we’re left with three and those three were volunteers, coming up on their own.

  18. Wonderful! I am such a fan of silence these days (probably because I get so little of it)!! Your comment about the cat made me chuckle about my own cats – I have 3 of them, and after my boys go to bed each night, they all seem very happy! They come out of their own hiding places, and fall FAST asleep – the poor things are on guard all day long, hoping that they don’t get poked at or chased!! All 3 of them are older cats, 2 of them are 13, and the other is 14.

  19. burstmode says:

    Breathtaking images, especially the first one.


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

