Playing with bubbles

A soul is but the last bubble of a long fermentation in the world.

~ George Santayana

The Color Run wasn’t the only playtime I had last weekend.  I also got to spend time with my granddaughters.  Miss Emma is now seven years old, and Miss Madison Grace is three years old.  We played with bubbles, worked on a little sidewalk chalk art, had a picnic at the Jazz & Rib Fest, and went bowling (where Miss Emma hit the jackpot on one of the arcade games and I finally broke 100 on my bowling game).

Play is the beginning of knowledge.

~ George Dorsey

I love playing with bubbles, whether it involves blowing or waving a wand, taking photos of bubbles, or taking the photos into the digital darkroom to see what happens when I use this filter or press that button.  The photo just above this paragraph looked like a planet to me so I went a little bit further and…

…put it in space with a few stars thrown in for good measure.

This one seemed a little plain as it is so…

I played.

And played.

And played some more. It’s kind of hokey, but I learn as I play in hopes that I can do better than hokey (or cheesy) sometime in the future.

It’s been a mighty fine Saturday.  I went for my first swim (of the season) in the pond.  The water is clear, cool, and refreshing.  I highly recommend it.  M and I floated around for a while, just enjoying this beautiful day.  We had more heavy rains overnight and the pond level seems to have come up a little.  Enough so that we can use the pedal boat again.  A large black snake was out for a swim too, but he stayed near the edge of the pond.  He was quite a beauty, but I can’t show him to you because I didn’t have my camera with me.  Someday I might invest in a camera that can be submerged in water so I can take it with me when I swim or canoe or anything involving the possibility of it being submerged.

Yesterday evening

That’s it from the Bogs for today.  Thank you for stopping by and joining me in a little play.  We’re going to spend the evening out on the swim platform, watching the fish swim by while enjoying the breeze, the quiet, and the play of light on the water.  The weather prognosticators are saying it’s going to be a beautiful evening to be outdoors, maybe listen to a little music while sitting on the deck after some time out on the pond.

be yourself

The world is your playground.  Why aren’t you playing?

~ Ellie Katz

37 Comments on “Playing with bubbles”

  1. sdobbie46 says:

    You make fun beautiful.

  2. anhinga says:

    Loved this romp with beautiful bubbles. You do so much with them.

  3. Sallyann says:

    Nice to see the playing still going on for so long after the bubbles have gone. 🙂
    Lovely pictures.

  4. I can’t get over how beautiful the bubbles are. However, I wouldn’t want to be swimming with a snake of any kind, I’m afraid. Yikes! Hope your Sunday is as lovely as Saturday proved to be.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  5. Bo Mackison says:

    Bubbles!!! Yay! So fun to play, and play is an important daily ingredient for a good life!

  6. Chloe says:

    i can imagine bubbles are hard to photograph? these are beautiful

  7. bearyweather says:

    Thanks Robin, after seeing your post I definitely need to go play with bubbles!

  8. Bubbles have featureed heavily in our summer routine this year…love your photos!
    Waiting for it to be light enough to see if last night’s rain made much difference at the pond…looks like we got 2 1/2 inches or so.

  9. milkayphoto says:

    Ah, yes…so good to play! and with bubbles, even better! 🙂

  10. Val says:

    I love bubbles. And I love your photos. So – all’s good! 🙂

  11. sandy says:

    I like the one with your reflection, and the one with prism lights. Although, they are all really neat.

  12. Corina says:

    Everybody loves bubbles! I’m usually too busy having fun playing with them to try to take pictures, even though I’ve thought of doing just that. One day I will. I love your bubble play!

  13. ohhhhh…those bubbles…the fun of creating them and THEN to get to process them and see those variations, too….I was oooooohhhhing and ahhhhing by those last few bubble photos. Robin, those are magical! And of course, the bubbles in front of that wonderful little face being herself…what a great gaze she has!

  14. NICE bubble captures, especially that second one. WOW!
    Bubble pictures were on my list of things to photograph this summer, too. Or I should say this spring! It’s too hot to go outside unless you have to. Maybe I’ll get to it in the fall… 😉

  15. jane tims says:

    Hi. Bubbles are delightful and I love the end result of your ‘play’. Jane

  16. Bubbleology – one of the few sciences kid actually know more about than adults…and why do they/we all seem to forget that magic as we age?


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

