I’ve always wanted to take a really long walk

For at least a decade, maybe much longer, I’ve been fascinated with marathons.  Even in high school, long distance running appealed to me.  I never tried out for track and field sports.  I was busy with gymnastics for much of my childhood, and by adolescence I was burnt out on sports in general.  And busy with things that might not have served me as well as sports might have, but they got me where I am today so no regrets worth spending time on.

Resting

The thing is, I didn’t realize that my crazy yearning to participate in a marathon was really a desire to take a long walk.  I like having my feet on the ground, in touch with the earth.  Whenever I hear about someone walking across the country, my mind perks up with, “I wish I could join him/her/them!”

I don’t think I could run a marathon.  It’s possible, but I don’t work too hard at running.  I like to walk and occasionally break out in a jog, run, or even a dance.  Silly walks are not beyond me either.

This morning’s sunrise

Walking the Appalachian Trail was once on my list of things to do.  I don’t know when it dropped off.  M and I have also talked about walking the Pembrokeshire Coast Path.  That one is still on the list as it occasionally comes up as a possibility.

The softness of the morning sky

So it really should come as no surprise that walking The Camino is appealing to me.  I have got to thinking, though, that I ought to start by walking and exploring (making a pilgrimage of sorts) my own neighborhood.

Peaceful sunrise

The problem with setting out from home is that I can only go so far one way before it’s time to turn around or loop back somehow.  Then I remembered something that one of my blog friends, Kathy, does for her walks.  (She is very wise.)  Kathy has her husband drop her off somewhere and she walks home from there.  Simple and brilliant.  I could easily have M drop me off on his way to work, and there are several starting places to choose from since there are several routes he can take to get to work.

I’m going to wait for things to cool off a bit first.  It’s too hot and humid for long walks.  That doesn’t make me much of a pilgrim, does it?  The hardships of the walk are part of the process, so they say.  Still, most people do have enough sense to set out when they think they’ll have the best weather.  For me that will likely be sometime in the fall, if the weather ever decides to return to normal.

I was up and about for another sunrise meditation this morning.  The sunrise itself wasn’t much different from yesterday’s.  (You might want to put your shades on for this next image.)

Sunrise over the propane tank. I suppose a propane tank isn’t very pretty, although we like it well enough when we need hot water, gas for the stove and/or clothes dryer, and heat in the winter.

Still no rain.  Like most of the country, we are in desperate need of it.  I like to trust that Mother Nature knows what she’s doing, but the trees look so sad and droopy that I feel sorry for them, and have to wonder what she’s thinking.  For those of you in the U.S. whose trees are suffering, yesterday Bo posted some tips on what to do for the trees:  Crystal Ball Photography — Trees in a Drought.

I don’t know what this flower is, but it is the first time I’ve seen one fully open. I guess you have to get up early in the morning if you want to admire this flower in full bloom.

Well, that’s about it from the Bogs for now.  Thanks for stopping by and joining me on my rambles.  If you happen to see the Rain Maiden, ask her to stop by for a few days.  The trees, the other plants, the animals, the farmers, and the ponds and lakes and rivers and streams could all use some of her input.

Please send rain.

39 Comments on “I’ve always wanted to take a really long walk”

  1. This sounds like an excellent plan and I bet you’re looking forward to it. Glad you are being smart about not walking too far in this weather though. We get dehydrated and overheated very quickly.

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Joss. I really am looking forward to exploring on foot. I keep thinking the heat will end soon, but then I realize we still have August to get through. We seem to be having a long summer this year.

  2. Your flowers and the butterfly are lovely, especially the first & second (resting). I also got a good laugh out of the Ministry of Silly Walks!!

  3. We watched “The Way” the other night…and I was commenting to a friend that I find the thought of an extended pilgrimage type of walk to be intriguing and appealing… but good idea to be prudent in the heat of the summer weather you’re having.

  4. The Appalachian Trail used to be on my list, as well…these days, I just wish I could walk the mile and a quarter to our local beach without worrying about the crazy drivers hitting someone. 😉
    For the Pilgrims of old, the journey began the moment they stepped out their front door. The first leg might have been in territory familiar to them for their entire lives, but the purpose gave it new meaning…

    • Robin says:

      Good point, Marie, one that I will keep in mind. I usually set forth on my walk around the pond that way, thinking of it as the beginning of a journey. 🙂

      As for crazy drivers… Oy!

  5. aFrankAngle says:

    I know that you know the importance and effect of timing. For whatever reason, this entire set of images reached up and grabbed me. Maybe it was the stunning opening followed by the transitions (as if I was on a walk). Well done.

    FYI: We rented The Way over the weekend! But I think my wife would want me to carry her stuff too.

    • Robin says:

      lol, Frank! Well, if I could get someone to carry my stuff, I would. 😀

      Thank you. I’m glad you enjoyed the post. What did you think of the movie?

  6. I liked how your tone paralleled the slow walk–not a marathon. I linked to the Coast Path and that sounds so wonderful–all 186 miles of it! A great series of photos too.

  7. so that’s what sunrise pics look like!! I always try and get up early enough to catch them but the nights I spend light painting make me want to sleep in!! 🙂 Lovely shots, thank you for sharing!

  8. Karma says:

    Ah, a fellow Silly-Walker! That’s what my little group of friends refers to itself as – the Silly Walks Gang, as we are all big Python fans. So how far do you think you would like to walk? Did you have a certain mileage in mind? Maybe if you do, we could have some sort of group blog walk experience, kind of like when WordPress had that 5K. What do you think? We could choose a time frame of a few days (definitely when the worst of this heat has passed) and ask everyone who participates to share their experience in a blog post.
    Everything is terribly droopy here too. Possibly severe thunderstorms are forecast for this afternoon, so that could bring some relief, but I could definitely do without the “severe” part.

  9. I have often thought about taking a long walk, but I’m afraid that I might not want to turn around and come back!! I might enjoy the escape just a little too much…..

    We’re getting a pretty good rain this morning (thunder/lighting, the works) – I hope it found its way over to you, too!!

    • Robin says:

      lol, Holly! I know what you mean. I have a friend who calls me Mrs. Gump, in reference to Forrest Gump going out for a run. lol!

      Your rain never made it down our way. It disappeared and reformed elsewhere. Maybe today…

  10. sandy says:

    Sounds like a great idea! We have lots of trails in our area (around Portland, ME) that intertwine so a person can get in a lot of miles along the coast, or around the city. I love it.

  11. munchow says:

    I do understand your desire for long walks. Being Norwegian I have always wanted to hike across Norway, and I have also wanted to do the Pacific Crest Trail along the West Coast of the States, to mention a few (and I do run marathon’s by the way). So it’s just about setting out, make it a plan and stick to the plan. And I think it’s a fabulous idea to start out in your own neighbourhood. The series of photos following the post are stunningly beautiful. My two favourites are the ones of the sky and the coloured clouds. Simply exquisite colours and light.

  12. bearyweather says:

    Another colorful post … I noticed the sunrise has been very red here, too. Wonder why? Smoke from the fires?
    I love walking and would live to take a long walk, too. Not so sure my knees want to tag along for the entire walk, though.

    • Robin says:

      Could be, Bearyweather. Or dust from the lack of rain, in our case.

      My knees are not always cooperative either, but it seems like the more I walk them, the better they do.

  13. Kathy says:

    **grin** I had to click on “Kathy” up above and see if you were talking about me!!! Have you ever read the book Peace Pilgrim, Robin? If you haven’t, you MUST. It is a fabulous story about a deeply spiritual woman who walked across the country many times. Good luck in your walking quest!

  14. I’m trying to catch up and should probably have read this post before the last. I like the idea of a really long walk that actually takes me somewhere–that really challenges me. I don’t feel challenged or really all that intetested in my current exercise regimen. I”m open.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  15. Dana says:

    That’s a good idea to have M drop you off somewhere and then walk back home from there. There’s only so many times you can do the home-and-back loop without it feeling a bit repetitive. 😉 Praying for rain. We’ve had a bit here in Victoria but I know a lot of the States are suffering.

  16. Sallyann says:

    Wow ! Another beautiful sunrise. 🙂

  17. Carol O says:

    Can we send you some of our rain? We’ve hardly had a day without it this year and we’re all going very pale and uninteresting (and wrinkly I think)…

    I often break out into bouts of skipping or dancing when I’m walking too – my companions, if I have any, usually think I’m nuts and I have had folks go right down the side of the mountain and back up onto the ridge after they’ve passed me! LOL

    • Robin says:

      Please do, Carol! We could certainly use it. Nature seems out of balance lately, bringing too much rain to some spots and not enough to others. Let’s hope she knows what she’s doing. 🙂

  18. Val says:

    These are just gorgeous, and my favourite is the lilac sky. 🙂 My favourite colours and I adore sky photos.


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

