Scenes along the way

Allegheny River & Samuel Justus Trails. Not too far from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

I know.  I promised us all a break.  It’s coming.  Soon.  I have this fabulous internet connection for the next few days so I thought I’d take advantage of it.

Rockland Tunnel. It is very dark in there…

On our way east, M and I stopped to ride our bikes on the Allegheny River and Samuel Justus Trails.  It’s a good way to break up a trip, either hiking or biking.  Since we had our bikes for this trip, we’ve been biking.

See what I mean about the dark?

The weather, predicted to be sunny and hot, started out cloudy and rainy.  The rain was a good thing for our garden.  The storms that hit Ohio further south, as it turns out, were not so great as the power was knocked out for a lot of folks, including some of our family who live down that way.  Some food was lost, but nobody was hurt and that’s what counts.

Anyhow, the cloudy, drippy weather was rather nice for our bike ride.  The part of the trail we rode was shady and flat.  A nice and easy breezy ride.  At first it was incredibly quiet.  Then the people vacationing in the area woke up, brought out the jet skis and that was it for the serenity of the trail.  It’s a beautiful area, and M and I were checking out the cabins and cottages for rent as possibilities for a future long weekend or even a week in the autumn months.  We both expressed a desire to go back and ride more of the trail.

We saw a lot of deer during the first part of our ride (before things got noisy), including quite a few fawns.  I didn’t get any pictures as I was busy riding and even when I stopped I didn’t think to get the camera out.  I was too busy enjoying the moments.

Clear Creek State Park, Pennsylvania

We had a picnic lunch in Clear Creek State Park, a lovely little spot for a picnic and for swimming.  There are rustic cabins and yurts available from April through early December.  I would like to try a yurt.  It sounds like fun.  But not during a heat wave.

Sunday we spent with M’s dad who is doing well.  Today we slowly made our way to New Jersey, stopping in Valley Forge, Pennsylvania, for another bike ride.

M and I explored the Manayunk portion of the Philadelphia part of the Schuylkill River Trail last year.  In fact, the photos from that trip are still resting in the archives without seeing the light of day.  Today we took a short ride from Valley Forge to Norristown, back to Valley Forge, and through part of the park.  We also took a little hike as I always feel a need to walk a bit after riding my bike.

On the way to Norristown. Schuylkill River to the right.

As you can see, it was a gorgeous, blue-sky day.  However…  it was HOT out there.  The first half mile or so of the trail was through a wooded area.  After that, it followed the power line, probably all the way to Philly.  The portion we road through Valley Forge was lovely, and much cooler since it was once again a wooded area.

Schuylkill River

Lunch turned out to be a lucky find.  Michael’s Delicatessen and Restaurant in King of Prussia.  After a hot and sweaty bike ride, a cold lager and an equally cold bowl of borscht soup were refreshing.  I’ve been craving a cold soup in this hot weather, and when I saw the cold borscht on the menu, I couldn’t resist.  It didn’t disappoint.  It tasted fresh, cool, and it certainly revitalized me.  The menu has a large selection of tasty items, including a veggie hoagie.  Yum!

Over the bridge and into New Jersey

After lunch we made our way to New Jersey, and now we’re settling in for the evening after a swim in the hotel pool and a dinner full of lovely, fresh veggies that we picked up at a Whole Foods market.  I hear the sweet corn is already in season here and I’m looking forward to hitting the farmers market on the way to my sister’s tomorrow.

28 Comments on “Scenes along the way”

  1. Beautiful and lush countryside…so green…

  2. mobius faith says:

    Love the abstractness of the bridge and sky shot. Wonderful.
    I also like the darkness of the tunnel. You really captured it well. It reminds me of a rail trail I was on in West Virginia several years ago. Those tunnels get frighteningly dark don’t they?

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Terry. I’m hoping to find time to play with that bridge shot when I get home. As for the tunnels… yikes! “Frighteningly dark” sums it up well. Might be time to invest in one of those head lights.

  3. Chloe says:

    looks like you’re having fun, i’m envious of your sunshine 🙂

  4. Amazing ride, Robin! Hubby spent an hour on the train platform in Newark yesterday and practically melted…hope you guys get good weather for the rest of your trip.
    That shot of Clear Creek looks so refreshing!

  5. Coming East says:

    Another great trip you’re having! I know Valley Forge and King of Prussia well. Our youngest son was born in Bryn Mawr, which is mainline Philly, and we lived in West Chester. Very nice area. Love your pictures.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Susan. 🙂

      It’s one of my favorite areas. I grew up in south Jersey, not far from Philadelphia, and M and I spent almost a year living in West Chester while he was on his last sabbatical. In fact, it was the sabbatical that inspired me to start this blog.

  6. aFrankAngle says:

    A hot, sweaty ride indeed … but that didn’t stop you! Well done … and thanks for the pics along the way. Stream closeup my fav.

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Frank. 🙂

      Very often the heat does stop me, but luckily I have a husband who encourages me to push on. I’m not sure I always appreciate that… lol!

  7. so many roads and paths to explore. Some near, some far away. Let’s not stay home watching TV but get out there and experience our beautiful world.

  8. Marianne says:

    Nice! Beautiful! You are so adventurous, Robin. Looks like so much fun. Thanks for taking us along. 🙂

  9. bearyweather says:

    I envy your ability to get out and see the world this summer. Thanks for sharing your sights.

  10. Those photos of the country roads remind me of John Denver’s song. Enjoy New Jersey. The blueberries also came in early because of the weather, so make sure you get some!

  11. Dana says:

    Looks like a great way to spend an afternoon. Robin! (Maybe I should try that, instead of compulsively reading through the backlog of new blog posts in my inbox.. heh!)

    • Robin says:

      lol, Dana! I’m doing the same today (compulsively reading through the backlog of new blogs posts in my inbox). I should probably be cleaning house or doing laundry.

  12. Oh, nice to see such great photos of our local trails – you captured the essence of Pennsylvania in these photos, Robin!

  13. So happy to hear you’ve been enjoying your trip. And sorry to have been away all week. Tomorrow’s post should explain my absence. I’ve missed reading you, dear Robin.

    Happy 4th, my friend.

    Hugs,
    Kathy

  14. Sallyann says:

    Beautiful secenery for your trip, and lovely photos of it. 🙂
    Is that a tiny light I can see at the end of the dark tunnel ?


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

