The law of diminishing returns

A rest stop along the way. (Taken in Maine on our way to Alma, New Brunswick, on our first day east.)

M and I are home, safe and sound.  It’s been a long, long day.  Early rising, a three hour drive to the Portland International Jetport in Maine, waiting an hour or so at the airport, the flight (about 90 minutes — we made good time), and then the hour drive home from the Cleveland Hopkins International Airport.  We made a quick stop at the grocery store on the way home, and at a local pizza place.  I’m too tired to cook tonight.  That’s why we keep the local pizza place phone number in my cell phone.  For just such travel emergencies.

The lovely view from the same rest stop in Maine. There was a path near here that I would like to have explored but we didn’t have time.

I uploaded the first batch of photos from our trip.  Good grief.  I took a lot of crappy pictures.  At least that will make it easier to cull the wheat from the chaff.  The problem, as I can see it now, is that I don’t trust myself.  I take triple shots, two of them using auto settings on the camera.  It’s almost always the shot I took using the manual mode and my own settings that works.  I wonder if there will come a point when I do trust myself in vacation situations.  Some, of course, are just awful no matter what I did because the situation was as it was.  Sometimes you do the best you can with what you’re given, and that’s especially true in holiday/vacation situations where I’m trying to record events as well as hold out hope for a great shot.

An on-the-road shot in northern Maine on our way to New Brunswick. This was one of my first glimpses of the wilds of Maine.

It’s easy at home, the trust part.  I take a walk, have fun experimenting, and don’t worry about the outcome.  But when we travel, I want every picture to be perfect.  An impossible goal, I know.  That’s why I come home with a lot of crap.  (Sorry.  I know I lot of people don’t like the word “crap,” but there is not better word for it.)

Moonlight on the Bay of Fundy

Right now it feels good to be home, knowing I will sleep in my own bed tonight.  Tomorrow the post-holiday/vacation blues will likely begin to sink in.  That’s what they do.  Sink.  I will remind myself that Wild Women Don’t Get the Blues.

A glimpse of our suite in Alma from the deck outside on our first night. While I was outside trying to take shots of the moonlight, M was inside fixing us a snack.

We stayed at the Cliffside Suites in Alma while we were visiting the Bay of Fundy area.  I highly recommend it.  We had the most amazing view from the Matthew’s Head suite, where we could sit and watch as the Bay of Fundy tide did its thing.  I was blown away by the moonlight view when we arrived.  And lest you think M missed it, he joined me shortly after the above photo was taken.  The suite itself was lovely.  We were able to cook a few meals there during our stay ( to help keep down costs) with no problem.  To be honest, we didn’t spend much time there, but if we’d had to, I don’t think either of us would have minded.  We enjoyed watching the wildlife outside our window in the morning, some of whom didn’t mind having their photos taken.  But I haven’t gotten to those yet.  They could be crap too.  I will probably post them anyhow as they are a record of our trip.

That’s it from here in the Bogs for today.  The kitties are craving attention.  The garden needs tended (critters have been out there feasting).  It’s hot, hazy, and humid here, and we all know that is not my favorite kind of weather.  Summer settled in early.  It looks like we need rain, too.  I’m not sure regular Bogs photos will resume anytime soon.  Not only do I have a lot to sort through, but I’m kind of burned out.  My camera might appreciate a rest, too.  It will certainly appreciate a good cleaning.  The outside is grubby and yucky.  Hiking leads to sweaty, dirty hands.

Thank you so much for following along on my travels and for stopping by today.  I hope all is well in your world.

30 Comments on “The law of diminishing returns”

  1. mobius faith says:

    Welcome home. Love the last two images. They inspire me to go shooting at night. Wonderful lo-key work.

  2. Wild Women may not get the blues, but even Cowgirls do… 😉
    Welcome home, Hon. Great photos, and great memories.

  3. welcome home, settle in, relax, catch your breath.

  4. bearyweather says:

    Welcome home. Even though all of your photos did not turn out, I bet you have a wonderful record of your trip. Don’t toss them right away … you might think better of them a few months from now maybe not as a work of art but as a memory instead. Glad you had a great vacation … they look like places I would love.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Bearyweather. 🙂 That’s so true. I probably won’t delete much the first time through. Just the very, very bad (stuff that I can’t even tell what it was I was aiming for!).

  5. I think I’m long past due for a visit to your Cliffside suites. I, too, don’t trust my camera manual mode, but the auto doesn’t fair well for me either. I’m more adept at still life under staged kitchen or patio conditions.. my shots in the wild are, well, wild.. abominable really. You have the knack, Robin, never question it! xoxo Smidge

  6. sounds like you had a wonderful time . . and the photos are lovely.

  7. jane tims says:

    Hi Robin. Last week I had to make a little speech at a Gulf of Maine Council meeting. I told them about being able to see the Bay of Fundy through the eyes of this wonderful photographer from Ohio. I can hardly wait to see more of your trip. Jane

  8. Ellen says:

    I know what you mean about taking the best pictures while you travel … places we don`t know if we are going to be able to visit again any time soon … but we do the best we can!! and when our friends see them they enjoy them as if they had been there with you !!!
    Enjoy your home sweet home!!!

  9. Dana says:

    Happy to hear you are home, Robin, and looking forward to seeing a lot more of your vacation shots. Even crappy ones– I don’t mind! 😉

  10. Meredith says:

    Welcome back! I can’t wait to see even more pictures!!!!!

  11. Moonlight one is magic! (Nice shot of the suite)
    Kitties don’t like grubby hands – and they probably need the attention more!

  12. Trust yourself! Your work has improved so much, you know what you want the camera to do, and you know how to make it do it…. so trust!

  13. Sallyann says:

    I love that last picture, it’s just brilliant. 🙂

  14. Welcome back- I do the same thing- I take a lot of photos and wonder what the heck I was thinking later on…at least in this digital age I don’t waste film! 😉

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Tracy. 🙂

      I often wonder if that’s part of the problem with digital. I take far too many thoughtless shots rather than taking my time. However… sometimes it’s the thoughtless shots that work for me.


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

