Goodbye Acadia National Park

Near the Bass Harbor Lighthouse. Acadia National Park, Maine.

M and I are heading home tomorrow.  I am so glad we had the opportunity to visit and explore Acadia National Park and a little bit of Maine.  I’ve had this area on my list of places to visit for years.  Many thanks to the park rangers and volunteers in the park.  Everyone has been friendly and extremely helpful.

Acadia National Park has a lot to offer, especially in terms of beauty.  Bar Harbor looks like it could be a lot of fun, but we didn’t spend much time there so I can’t really say for sure.  M and I talked about driving into Bar Harbor tonight just to walk around and see what’s happening on a Friday night.  We’re so exhausted from two days of hiking as much as possible that we decided it wasn’t worth the drive back.

I don’t see myself coming back to Bar Harbor or Acadia.  After the wilderness, the ruggedness, the breathtaking beauty, and solitude we experienced in Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Acadia has seemed almost contrived and certainly crowded.  I mentioned how crowded it feels to one of the locals we met and he laughed, saying the season hasn’t even started yet.  The full parking lots and lines of people marching up the mountains we’ve been experiencing now are nothing, I’m told, compared to when things get into full swing.  I’m pretty sure I’d have felt differently about it all if we’d come here first on our travels.

Lobster traps on piers. Bass Harbor, Maine.

It’s a little like having a lobster roll.  The first one I had upon entering Maine (at the beginning of our trip on June 1) was excellent.  The next one was not so great in comparison and I wasn’t sure I’d bother with a lobster roll again because when you start making comparisons, something (or someone) has to lose.  But then I decided to give it a try again in Moncton, New Brunswick (Canada), and it was so delicious (best one ever!) that the lobster roll was redeemed.

We came here with a few “must do’s.”  Things we’d read about or friends told us about.  Some of the things on the list included watching the sunset from Cadillac Mountain (sunrise would have been nice too, but neither or us wanted to get up at 4:15 in the morning), climbing a mountain (they’re not very high here compared to, say, Colorado, but it’s a good workout and the views are amazing– and if you’re not afraid of heights, there are hikes such as The Beehive that will challenge you and get your adrenaline flowing — go see that video…it’s amazing), seeing a lighthouse or two (surprisingly more difficult than one would expect), exploring the tide pools, and walking the carriage trails.  We’ve done all those things and more.  There is a lot of history here.  A lot of beauty.  A lot of breathtaking scenery that you won’t see elsewhere along the eastern coastline of the U.S.

Tide pools near the Seawall area of Acadia National Park.

These are not the photos I originally planned to post tonight.  I filled up my third memory card (8 GB — yeah, I know, they make ’em much bigger now but I bought a bunch of 8 gig cards on sale)  late this afternoon and had to switch cards.  The photos I wanted to bring you are packed away, ready to go home.  That’s okay.  These are more appropriate since they’re the last photos I took today, and likely to be the last I take on Mount Desert Island.  (Acadia National Park is located on Mount Desert Island in Maine.)

The last few photos were taken during our last stop in the park, in the Seawall area.  We were there at low tide to hike a bit, have lunch and then explore the tide pools.  We stopped on our way back to the eastern side of the island as it was getting near high tide, just for fun and to see what a difference high tide makes.

We met a guy from Connecticut while we were out there looking around again.  He declared this picnic table the best one in Acadia National Park.  I think he may be right, especially around 6:30 in the evening when there is almost nobody else out there.  The first time we saw this picnic table a rather large man was busy taking a nap on the table while children and adults were scrambling around on the rocks, looking into the tide pools to marvel at the life going on in just a few inches (if that!) of water.

Last photo of the trip. So far…

Tomorrow morning we head to Portland to catch our flight home.  I’m not thinking about that too much right now.  I can worry about flying when the time comes.  Besides, I am so thoroughly exhausted that M thinks I’ll hardly notice the flight.  He may be right.

We’re going to need a two week vacation from our two week vacation.

19 Comments on “Goodbye Acadia National Park”

  1. Such a beautiful place! We ALMOST went to Maine last year, but don’t think we would have had the time to visit Acadia NP even if we had gone. Glad to see it through your camera’s lens 🙂
    Have a safe trip home!

  2. Karma says:

    I’ve never been to Nova Scotia, and I went to Bar Harbor/Acadia in July years ago, but I still want to go back! (It is definitely an easier trip from Massachusetts than Ohio!) I’m glad you were able to experience so much that it has to offer. I hope you have a hassle-free travel day home today.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Karma. The trip home was smooth and easy. 🙂

      I did enjoy Acadia very much, and can understand why you’d want to go back. It’s a beautiful place. I would probably go back again if it wasn’t such a long trip for us.

  3. Noooo – too pretty to leave. Ah, at least there’s all the great pictures – thanks for taking us along

  4. So lovely, every last bit! Have a safe trip home.

  5. Your pictures don’t make it look too crowded at all! Of course, that’s what we photographers do, right? Take the best of what we see. Thanks for sharing and happy travels home!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Wendy. 🙂 I try hard to keep people out of most of my photos, but I wonder sometimes if I should take at least a few to give a better idea of the reality of the situation.

  6. Kathy says:

    Thank you for sharing your trip with all of us. You’ve visited so much beauty! Do you experience some days of “let down” after you return from a trip like this? I know I have lately. Wishing you sweet days, Robin.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you so much, Kathy. 🙂

      I do indeed get the post-vacation blues. At first it feels good to be home and surrounded by the familiar, but then I start to miss the carefree attitude of vacationing, something I always vow to bring home with me, yet it always seems to fade. I’m going to miss all that beauty and wonderful weather too. It’s hot and humid here, conditions I don’t thrive well in.

  7. Bo Mackison says:

    Lovely. Acadia is so beautiful, especially without crowds. We went in September, a good time, too. And you are so right–needing a vacation to recover from your vacation. So true.

  8. Dana says:

    You’ve definitely sold me on the Maritime provinces and Eastern states… not that I needed any convincing! All of your photos have been spectacular, and the thought of all that wilderness is really appealing, especially when we’re just about to head into our busiest two months of the year! Hope you had a safe flight home, Robin.

  9. Oh, this is one more place to add to my list of places to visit. Now you’ve really got me tempted. My son would like to go to school in Acadia, so that might just be the impetus needed! xo Smidge


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

