Great Cormorants!

No escape

Greetings from Prince Edward Island!  Even on vacation, the laundry must be done.  I’ve also done some cooking, and washed more than a few dishes.  It’s no great hardship.  Sometimes it’s nice to have the luxury of a home cooked meal, especially when you’re traveling during the off-season and most of the good places to eat are not yet open.

Somewhere along the coast near Cavendish, P.E.I.

After taking care of our laundry chore and checking out of our suite in Alma, M and I slowly made our way to the north central part of Prince Edward Island.  We took care of some practical type shopping in Moncton, where we also had a scrumptious lunch at Pisces By Gaston.  The food was fresh and wonderful, the best we’ve had so far on this trip.

A gathering of what I think are Great Cormorants.

We checked into our B&B, and then set out to have a look at the coast.  The weather is brisk.  I find it invigorating, but others might describe it as cold.  It’s in the 40s, quite windy, with heavy cloud cover and the occasional misty rain.

Red cliffs where the birds are nesting

I fell in love with PEI the moment we set tires on the island.  I almost wish I could have walked across to our B&B just so I could take my time soaking in the scenery.  It’s a land of green and red, rolling hills, red and white sand beaches.  Pastoral is a word usually used to describe the area, especially the interior farmlands.  The large swaths of red earth are beautiful.  It wasn’t until after we’d booked our B&B and decided on places we wanted to visit that we found out this is also Anne of Green Gables land.  I’ve never read the books or seen the series, but have in interest in doing so now.  Well, not right now.  When I go home, perhaps.

We took a brief drive along the coast, just to get our bearings and decide what we want to do tomorrow.  The weather is supposed to be pretty much the same — gray, windy, rainy.  I got out of the car a few times to have a look at the rough waves of the Gulf of St. Lawrence, the red cliffs and the beaches.  While standing at one point above the shore, I noticed the cormorants gathered on a rock.  I hiked west a bit to look at where they were flying in and out, chuckling at the funny way they stick their feet out when they’re getting ready to land (as if putting on the brakes), when all of a sudden what looked to be a hundred or so birds came flying out of the cliffside at once.

The wind, the roughness of the waves, and all those birds filling my line of sight was amazing and filled me with a huge sense of awe.  The photos I took don’t do the moments any kind of justice.  You had to be there.

I am looking forward to getting out and exploring on foot tomorrow even if it is gray, windy, misty, and a bit rough.  This is the sort of coastal weather that makes me feel alive.

That’s it from PEI for now.  Although we didn’t do nearly as much hiking or walking as the past day or two, I am exhausted and looking forward to a good night’s sleep.  We had dinner at a place recommended by our hosts here at the B&B.  The restaurant was filled with locals, the food was home-style, and very good.  It’s made me sleepy.  I can’t imagine how I’m going to feel after we experience a lobster supper tomorrow.

Thanks for joining me on my travels! And please pardon the typos, etc.  I’m doing the best I can with a reconditioned (is that the right word) laptop.  The keyboard and jumping cursor are driving me a little crazy at times.

17 Comments on “Great Cormorants!”

  1. anhinga says:

    Those certainly look like the cormorants we have in Florida. Love them. They are related to Anhinga, you know. 🙂 Looks like a wonderful place to vacation.

  2. dadirri7 says:

    the big storm here is over, just fallen trees to be removed now, we would not mind some misty rain ….. transit of venus today …. hopefully some feminine values might trickle into our consciousness!

  3. Congrats on getting the laundry done. Can’t wait to hear and see what you discover on the island. Looks gorgeous so far. I wouldn’t mind the rain and cold, either. I SOOOOO prefer that to heat.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  4. Glad you’re having fun, Robin!! I love this kind of coastal weather too! Enjoy some for me, in 110 degree Oman… 😦

  5. You are in one of my “bucket list” locations right now! I’ve seen the Anne of Green Gables movies several times, and the place looks absolutely spectacular!! Thanks for sharing these photos, even with gray skies, it looks beautiful!

  6. CMSmith says:

    I’d like to go there someday. It looks like a wild and interesting place. Thanks for sharing the photos.

  7. bearyweather says:

    You must read Anne of Green Gables or at the very least watch it. It is moving and funny … PBS had a wonderful mini series many years ago.

    Looks like a wonderful trip.

  8. jane tims says:

    Hi. Years ago we took a camping trip to PEI and camped along some red cliffs that remind me of the ones you have seen. There was a storm and although we were OK in our tent, around dusk the bikers next to us watched their tent sail away in the wind. They chased it across the field and got it, but what an experience! Jane

  9. ladyfi says:

    What fabulous cormorants! Enjoy. (Hope the weather bucks up too.)

  10. Dana says:

    I don’t mind the cold, blustery, or grey weather, either. Somehow, coastal weather like that makes a place feel more ‘coastal’! 🙂 You should definitely pick up Anne of Green Gables when you get home. I liked the first book the best… didn’t care so much for the sequels. (Then again, I was about 10 or 11 years old when I read them. Things could have changed since then.)

  11. This coastal area is so much nicer than the gulf coast!
    Hot, humid, and sandy, with a touch of seaweed…maybe that sound good to some, but this would be a really nice change. I love the sound of waves and the birds in either place!
    Thanks for taking us along

  12. Karma says:

    Off season travelling can be really nice (I’ve spent plenty of off-season weekends on Cape Cod) and I will take any reason to be near the ocean. Looks like you are having a fabulous time.

  13. I’m so far behing, I didn’t even realize you went on vacation! It looks absolutely beautiful.

  14. Joanne says:

    I’m catching up on your posts and working my way backwards, and in my last comment mentioned PEI being the setting for Anne of Green Gables, so you’ve given me the answer here. You must find it on DVD when you get home. You will no doubt recognise the places you have visited. It is breath-takingly beautiful and such a wonderful story. My girls loved it, but it is also suitable for adults, as it begins with Anne arriving on PEI, and continues through to her adult life. Now I’ll have to go and find it on DVD, as we only have the videos!

    The cormorants taking off sounds like an amazing moment for you Robin! I know what you mean when you say you had to be there, but you did an fantastic job of describing the moment here. 🙂

  15. Robin says:

    Thanks everyone for your comments. I’ll be looking into Anne of Green Gables soon. 🙂

  16. […] headed out to the Central Coastal Drive to see the red cliffs.  You can read more about our day here, posted that evening.  I’m so glad I have those posts to go back to.  It all seems so far […]

  17. […] If some of the photos look familiar, it’s because I used them (or others that are similar) when I posted while traveling back in June.  I’m trying to keep the story in chronological order for my own records.  The cormorants, as you may recall if you were following along at the time, were gathered near the cliffs, and I was thrilled when hundreds of them took flight all at once.  (You can read more about the experience here.) […]


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

