Jump (Thursday Travels)

If it’s Thursday, this must be the Paint Mines.

The theme for NaBloPoMo in June is Jump.  I won’t be participating because it’s unlikely I will be able to post every day even if I wanted to do a daily post, but I do like the theme which is described as:

Jump into a new project, jump into a new idea, and most certainly jump into something that terrifies you so you can get over it.  We’re going to look at things that make us happy so we can jump for joy through our words.  And we’re going to look at things that make us nervous and jumpy.

I am terrified of flying.  Yet tomorrow I’m going to jump onto an airplane (well, okay, I’ll walk) for the first leg of our trip to Maine and the Eastern Canadian Provinces.

If it were up to me, I would travel everywhere by foot.  Unfortunately, I wouldn’t get far in the time allotted for vacations.  Hence, the need to fly.  Even going by car wouldn’t do because it would have meant over 30 hours of driving.

Today I will try not to think about flying too much.  I recently had a series of dreams in which I was flying on my own.  No plane or wings necessary.   Surprisingly, I was not afraid of flying in my dreams.  In fact, I woke up feeling pretty good about it.

I am going to try to carry that feeling with me tomorrow as the plane takes off.

Then I’ll have about two weeks to not think about flying home.

I never understood the idea, though, that if we jump into something we’ll get over our fear of it.  I haven’t found that to be true with the things that scare me.  I will get on an airplane because I have to in order to see the places I’d like to see, but that doesn’t make me any less fearful of it.

We had a power outage while I was writing this post.  No storms, no gusty winds, no reason that I know of for the power to go out.  But it did, and I’m taking that as a sign that I should wrap this up and get back to packing.

I’ve scheduled a couple of posts.  One for tomorrow and another on June 8.  Be well, have fun, and I’ll catch up with you when I can.  🙂

19 Comments on “Jump (Thursday Travels)”

  1. Have a great trip, Robin!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  2. Anita Mac says:

    Have a great time in Canada – looking forward to your photographic rendition of your trip!

  3. dadirri7 says:

    have fun robin, i enjoyed my walk through the paint mines again!

  4. Coming East says:

    Amazing photos! Where we’re they taken? I don’t like flying much either, Robin, but I like going places and visiting my children, so I do it. Enjoy your trip, and take lots of photos…as if I needed to encourage you.

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Susan. The photos were taken at the Paint Mines in Colorado. I’ve had the photos sitting around for a couple of years and thought it was time to air them out. 🙂

  5. Have a great trip, Robin! I used to be deathly afraid of flying, like you, but somehow, once I turned 50, I got over it. I don’t know what happened, maybe just the feeling that I’ve lived a long good life and so if something happens, I’m okay with it. Just coming to peace with the worst that can happen; I guess that’s what did it. Anyway, I hope you have a great trip and we all look forward to hearing about your trip and seeing your photos when you return!! 🙂

  6. Carla says:

    Love these photos of colorful earth. And love your flying dream.

  7. ladyfi says:

    Fabulous rock formations and beautiful shots. Enjoy your holiday!

  8. dragonfae says:

    Have a great time on your trip Robin!

  9. aFrankAngle says:

    Of course you realize that I love Paint Mines Thursday! 🙂 … but I know it will change someday … sigh …. Safe travels and enjoy!

  10. Deborah Lee says:

    Going through the scared-ness of flying will be well worth it to see Maine and the eastern Canadian provinces. I haven’t been there in years, but I still remember my trip to Nova Scotia with a friend in the early 70’s. It is gorgeous!!! We drove up the coast of Maine in a 10 year old car with 4 bald tires and I’m still here to talk about it. I’m sure your trip will be safer than mine was!!

  11. Deborah Lee says:

    P.S. – My husband and I have a saying for scary situations: Either we will survive this, in which case we have nothing to worry about, or we won’t survive this, in which case we have nothing to worry about!!

  12. what an awesome place!! Thanks for sharing, Robin!

  13. I know it can be nerve-wracking to fly, but it is one of my all-time favorite experiences ever! The last time I flew, I watched the sun rise over the horizon from the plane. It was, without a doubt, the most spectacular sight I have ever seen in my life (and I hope to do it again someday)! I wish you safe travels, and looking forward to hearing about your trip! 🙂

  14. Dana says:

    Can’t wait to see the Maritime provinces via your photos! It’s shameful that I haven’t made it out there myself yet…

  15. CMSmith says:

    Have a great trip. I’m losing my enthusiasm for flying as well. And the trip home from Minnesota several years ago where we tried to land in Cincinnati during an unprecedented hurricane in the Midwest, did nothing to alleviate my flying fears.

  16. Joanne says:

    Going to the dentist (to face my fears) hasn’t worked for me either Robin, I’m still afraid, every time I go! I’m sure the plane flights will be just fine. Think about the statistics, way more accidents occur on the road than in the air! With that said, drive safely! 😉

  17. Robin says:

    Thank you everyone for your lovely comments. 🙂


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

