The healing rains

I’ve been terribly busy this week.  I feel swamped, and not just from the (very much needed!) heavy rains we’ve had over the past couple of days.  So, I am doing what I always do when I feel overwhelmed.  I’m taking a breather.  A small break to put my thoughts and priorities in order.

Yesterday’s rain

One of the things that has taken a backseat while I get ready to travel is my yoga practice.  I have been doing the minimum necessary to be able to say I’m still carrying on with my commitment.  (It’s day 247, by the way.)  My body has been reminding me that cutting corners also cuts the quality of the work.

Geese visiting the pond on a rainy day. (The rain was so heavy that it almost looks like fog.)

This morning I went back to basics, a comfort yoga practice so to speak.  I did a series of hip openers from A.M. Yoga for Your Week.  It’s 20 minutes, but that was just long enough to work out some of the kinks.  Aches and pains have been dissolving, and my mind had a little quiet time.

Yesterday’s view of the pond and second round of storms. I always try to get a photo when the clouds are a dark blue like this because it makes the greens pop.

I think I’ll take the DVD along for the trip.  Left to my own devices, I will skate by, stretching for a moment or two and calling it yoga.  At least with the DVD I’ll have a routine, one that forces me to practice things I often skip (yes, that would be you, twists and backbends).

Fog at sunset

We had some heavy fog develop yesterday around sunset.  It looked like the clouds had come down from the sky to check out the earth.  The best way to show it to you is with a look at one of the neighborhood McMansions.

Eventually we couldn’t see it at all (which really isn’t such a bad thing).

Sometimes the clouds do come down to visit the earth (we see that most often in the mountains).  But in this case, the fog started at ground level, earthly clouds lifting up to join with the sky clouds.

Well, I should get back to work.  There is still quite a bit to be done around here before we go, including some gardening.

The pedal boat at sunset.

Thanks for dropping by on this beautiful Wednesday.  The heat and humidity of the weekend have finally been swept away.  It’s a little breezy and a lot sunny, a perfect day for a walk around the pond, and/or a boat ride.  Go on ahead.  I’ll join you later if I can.

Maybe sunset will look something like this tonight.

43 Comments on “The healing rains”

  1. sandy says:

    I enjoyed the visit. The rain sure made some lovely photos. You captured some nice colors, too.

  2. Ellen says:

    I like the pedal boat!! do you use it often?

    • Robin says:

      When we first moved here, I was out there every day (weather permitting), Ellen, pedaling around the pond. The last year or two I’ve become lazy about using the boats (we have a rowboat too — both boats came with the house and property). I really should get out on the water more.

      • Ellen says:

        You do it for me!! that I don`t have a pond or a boat nearby!! I just have a swimming pool two blocks from my place which is nice but cannot be compared to being in the open. Besides, I cannot think of a way of pedaling there 😉

  3. I LOVE the fog photos! Those are so cool! Contrats on getting to day 247 of your challenge. Hope you get recharged and rested, Robin.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  4. I hope you’re getting some good rest and will have the energy back soon. The fog photos are wonderful.
    I’ve never done yoga…do you recommend that dvd for a newbie?
    And Robin….I hope you have a wonderful trip and vacation….lots of wonderful adventures!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Kathy (PP). 🙂

      Any of Rodney Yee’s AM Yoga for Beginners are great for getting you started. I also like Yoga Conditioning For Weight Loss (with Suzanne Deason), even if you don’t need to lose weight. The pace is great for beginners and the modifications for the poses are easy to follow.

      • thanks Robin…I’m about to order from amazon…the AM Yoga, Yoga conditioning… (I’m going to need to find some motivation for moving around more…) Someone mentioned Hugh Prather, “notes to myself”…and Courage, by Debbie Ford (did I see “Courage” here?)…and wow…can you believe it???…time to ponder and create on a Monday morning…gigantic wow!! Thanks for the recommendations…kathy

  5. I love your fog pictures.. I’m playing blog post catch-up and missed your earlier news.. where are you off to??

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Smidge. 🙂

      Well, as you know by now (because I’ve taken forever to answer my comments), I spent some time in the Canadian Maritimes and in Maine in the U.S.

  6. don’t forget to stop in for tea when you get to Nova Scotia!

    • Robin says:

      I am so sorry I couldn’t arrange tea, Joss. I really wanted to meet you. The trip was hectic in some ways. Hopefully when you’re on your grand adventure in the U.S., you can visit us in the Bogs and spend a little time by the pond. Or we can meet up somewhere around here (Cleveland, Pittsburgh, etc.).

  7. mobius faith says:

    Your title says it perfect. THese were “healing rains”. wonderfully poetic. And these images just blow me away. 1, 2, 5, & 7 are my faves. Simply gorgeous Robin.

  8. Dana says:

    Rest up and recharge, Robin. You have lots to look forward to on the horizon, and your blogging friends will still be here when you’re ready to come back. 🙂

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Dana. 🙂

      Vacation wore me out so I’m going to do my resting out and recharging now. I’m doing a very fine imitation of a sloth today.

  9. Becky says:

    Stunning photos!

  10. Carla says:

    Your posts never dissappoint, Robin! We haven’t had heavy rain here for a while – those photos are just beautiful! Congratulations on your continued yoga commitment!

  11. dadirri7 says:

    love your rain photos! we have predicted for the weekend, it will be good timing 🙂

  12. Chloe says:

    looks like you’ve had some heavy rain there, our rain has eased off for the time being
    i really like your fog photos, they’re beautiful

  13. jane tims says:

    Hi. No walk today unless the rain stops. I am watching my poor tomato plants getting pounded to smithereens, and the tireless robin tending her nest in the birch tree. I love the McMansion photo, especially the dark conifers in front. Jane

  14. aFrankAngle says:

    Many intriguing pics today … but the opener is the one that captured my attention the most … and I admire your diligence with yoga and your diet.

  15. Perfect. I am in a foggy mood today, and not minding one bit…

  16. Beautiful images, Robin. I’m inspired to go back to my yoga videos too – refresher course!

  17. Sallyann says:

    That last sunset picture is really beautiful, love the pink sky. 🙂

  18. I do like those rainy photos–I’ve never been very successful capturing such nice pics as yours in the rain.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Teresita. 🙂

      The trick with rain is to zoom in on an area where the rain really shows up. It needs a backdrop of some kind to show up. I also use the “action” mode on my camera. It seems to be the best auto-mode for capturing it.

  19. CMSmith says:

    Your posts about exercise videos has started me thinking that maybe I need to find a good one for myself. It’s been a long time since I did that with Jane Fonda, and the whole kick-boxing thing was a bust. 🙂

    • Robin says:

      lol, Christine! Kickboxing didn’t work out well for me either. I just about killed myself tripping over my own feet or almost punching myself trying to get the movements right.

  20. The first shot is gorgeous – curvilinear nature criss-crossed by man’s straight line. Cool


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

