A passion for peonies

The ants certainly feel passionate about the peonies.  I learned a long time ago to admire the peonies from outdoors because no matter how well I think I’ve knocked off the ants, there will always be a dozen or so hiding within the petals.  I prefer to keep the ants outdoors, so that is where the peonies will have to stay as well.  That’s okay.  They last longer out there.

I do love the scent of peonies.  Their perfume floats along with the breeze and makes it almost up to the house.  That’s a pretty good distance.  The peonies are located out by the rhododendrons in my favorite little niche of the property.

Border added in Pixlr.

The neighbor across the street has several clumps of peonies so it’s possible her peonies are perfuming the air too.

It’s terribly hot and humid today.  I’ve spent most of the day indoors, cleaning house.  Specifically, cleaning the basement.  It’s always a nice, cool 64 degrees in the basement.  It’s a walk-out basement with lots of windows so it doesn’t resemble a cave.  We spend a lot of time down here.  The office area is in the basement.  M’s entertainment area is also down here.  There’s a laundry area and a second kitchen.  We do our canning and brewing (beer, cider, and mead) in the basement kitchen.

Well, okay. Here it is. The latest self-portrait wherein I look pretty goofy.

M has been swimming in the pond, repairing the ladder to the swim platform, and spraying the poison ivy.  It looks like this will be a good year for poison ivy, mosquitoes, and deer flies.  I blame it on the mild winter.

Threatening skies. White balance set to tungsten.

We finally got a good soaking yesterday evening.  First there was hail, some of it a little bigger than pea-size.  I’d have taken pictures, but I was too busy watching it to grab the camera.  After the hail, it poured and poured for about 5-10 minutes.  Everything has perked up as a result.  It’s also made it steamy, but I’m not complaining.  The trees and garden are much happier.

I guess that’s it from the Bogs for now.  Thanks for visiting and taking a look at the peonies with me.  🙂

A very tiny damselfly.

27 Comments on “A passion for peonies”

  1. I remember being amazed as a child that the peonies were covered in ants. It seemed so stange to me.

    Thanks for sharing your new self portrait. I love it, Robin. You look almost like you are hiding behind the camera, shyly peeking out.

    Happy Memorial Day, my friend.

    Hugs,
    Kathy

  2. Emily says:

    Great shots! We’ve had so much rain in the last week, so our peonies have exploded in bloom, too. I envy the ants a bit, actually: I’d love to tip-toe inside the flower and take a delicious, sense-decadent nap. 🙂

  3. aFrankAngle says:

    The peones remind me of a long row of them we had where I grew up … and with the ants too.
    And that is the first self-portrait I’ve seen of you. Nice to meet you Robin.

  4. hugmamma says:

    I did not know that about peonies and ants. Thanks for the info, although I tend to leave my flowers in the garden for the neighborhood folk to enjoy. I have beautiful blush-pink peonies sitting on my kitchen island…thanks to our local grocery store. 🙂

  5. Karma says:

    The selfie is adorable! I am a peony-lover too! Squeal! Your shots are dreamy. I cut a couple of mine and brought them inside today, and yes, had to squish a couple of ants.

  6. bearyweather says:

    The peonies are wonderful …

  7. Joanne says:

    Woohoo! Hello Robin! I love it when you add a photo of yourself. They are way too few and far between. 🙂

    I do believe that the area where the peonies and rhododendrons are is also my favorite little niche of your property, and I can just imagine the fragrance. 🙂

    Why do I have to be married to a man who suffers from hayfever??!!

  8. Love your self-portrait, Robin! Like Kathy said, you look like you’re shyly peeking out from behind the camera. And you look so young and beautiful! Thanks for sharing. In this blogging world we’re in, it’s nice to get to know each other, see pictures, read about daily lives. It’s all about connection!

    And I love your peony photos. They’re beautiful as always. That’s one thing (among many) I really miss about the USA; right outside my garage I have a few peonies and the aroma is heavenly!! 🙂 But you’re so right about the ants!

  9. Dana says:

    Love the self portrait, Robin! (Obviously, I enjoyed your other shots as well, but seeing an actual photo of YOU was a nice treat!)

  10. dragonfae says:

    I love the self portrait Robin! Very cure … I agree with Kathy, it looks like you’re hiding behind the camera. 🙂

  11. The peonies are beautiful…and so are you 🙂

  12. You’re braver than I am…I don’t think there’s a single picture of me on the blog.
    It’s a bad year for bugs, that’s for sure. Good year for peonies, though…I’ve never seen ours look better!

  13. I adore peonies.. I think they’ll always be my favorite flower. Ours are still tight little buds.. but soon.. ❤

  14. Pretty with peonies!
    Thanks for the flower shots – these don’t grow here. The crisp dark ant against soft flower is nice.

  15. Hey – great to see you, Robin! Not goofy at all!! I know it’s awkward to be on the other side of the lens, we’re so used to being in back of the camera. It took a lot of nerve for me to capture my self-portrait last Fall…. not sure when I’ll do THAT again! I keep hearing a lot of talk about peonies right now, I’ve never had any, but your description of them makes me want some (kept outside, of course)! 🙂

  16. Love the peony photos – mine are almost done here because of the staggering heat. I wish we would get your rain – just a sprinkle so far and the ground is so hot and dry that I stopped weeding and planting. Nice self-portrait!

  17. I so love peonies – you have beauties. Just wish they lasted longer. Always seem to have a rainfall that knocks them over.

  18. Sallyann says:

    Lovely to see you on the blog, I’m not sure I’m brave enough to have a go at one myself yet, maybe one day. 🙂

  19. Kathy says:

    Oh! I like seeing a picture of you. This photo doesn’t look half as goofy as my headless tick bite photo. 🙂 And I can smell the peonies through the computer, Ms. Robin.

  20. Debbie says:

    Picture reminds me of how very much you look like your mom! I think of her often, maybe more this week remembering her birthday is right around the corner.

  21. cute self portrait! you look like the fairy queen of the garden. lovely peonies as well, nice capture with the ant!

  22. Lovely photos, Robin! Peonies are so pretty and your photography is excellent!

  23. CMSmith says:

    We have a huge anthill at the top of our Angel Garden. Needless to say, the peonies were swarming with big black ants. My neighbor in our first house said she always cut her flowers and then left them in a container of water in her garage over night so all the bugs would go away. I haven’t tried that with peonies, but it might work.

  24. Robin says:

    Thank you everyone for your comments, likes, and visits. I really appreciate it. I apologize for the “one-size-fits-all” response, but it’s been tough keeping up. Things should settle down for me in, oh, about six months or so. It’s so much easier to keep up in the winter months. 🙂

  25. I love peonies so much – I think I caught it from my grandmother. And speaking of my grandmother, it seems that as a young woman, she was very frustrated because her first peony plant would never bloom. True, it was infested with ants, but she kept squirting bug spray all over it to get rid of them.

    Then an older neighbor explained to her that the peony needs the ants to eat off the sticky sap that seals the buds shut. Oops.

    By the time I knew her, the path entering her garden was lined with at least a dozen big peonies that were covered with flowers every spring. And the scent…!


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

