Saturday Sundry

Remember my photographic tribute to Pink Martini?  The rhododendron flowers in the martini glass made such a lovely display that I put it on the dining room table as a centerpiece.  Later in the day I noticed a beam of sunlight streaming through the blinds and highlighting the martini glass.  This did not need much in the way of post-processing.  I resized it for the web, adjusted the contrast and sharpened it a bit.  I had the white balance on the camera set to “open shade” to give it a warmer color.

These and other photos have been languishing in the archives, wondering when I would take them out.  Today seems as good a day as any.

M and I took a walk around Breezy Acres today to inventory the trees.  He brought the photos we took of them right after planting.  Seeing the trees on a daily basis, it’s difficult to notice the growth, but after looking at the photos from six years ago, I can now see how well many of them are doing.  We’ve had a few trees die, mostly cherry and walnut.  Otherwise, they’re doing pretty well in the Future Forest.

Still no rain.  We had storms move through to the north of us last night.  M and I sat outside on the deck and watched the lightning for a while.  Hopefully we’ll get some this afternoon or evening.  I’ve done my bit by hanging three loads of laundry out to dry.  Surely that will attract some rain.

Sitting on the deck this morning while I sipped my tea, flower petals from the locust trees rained down on me.  It looked like snow.  It’s much too hot for snow, of course.

In the woods this morning

I just found out that Strawberry Season is here!  If you’re anywhere near Mogadore, Walnut Drive Gardens has opened their strawberry fields for picking beginning today.  The hours are posted at their website.

Red clover

I reckon that’s it from the Bogs for today.  Thanks for visiting.  I hope you’re having a most enjoyable Saturday.

Captured. (By the pond this morning.)

23 Comments on “Saturday Sundry”

  1. Ron Dubin says:

    Beautiful images Robin… 😉

  2. Emily says:

    The first and the last are my favorites. One pulls up a bit of a Sinatra vibe, the other is all low guitars. 🙂

  3. Great shots with the martini glass…Love it when the light creates a moment INdoors, for a change, and the camera is close enough at hand to catch it!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Marie. 🙂

      That’s the key. Having the camera close enough to catch it. Usually I have to run upstairs or downstairs, and by the time I get back, the great capture is gone.

  4. Anna Surface says:

    Warm, golden, and sparkly of the rhododendron flowers in the martini glass and quite lovely for a still life. I just love the red clover and captured. Speaking of inventory of trees, when we compare to the trees when we first moved in to now, a twenty year span, there is a huge difference. Our lots were basically bare then except for some old trees. We planted with flourish and now have a small forest. 🙂

  5. CMSmith says:

    Today I had little cottony tufts drifting by me, following air currents up and down, from the cottonwood trees. Our locust trees dropped their blossoms a week or two ago. Beautiful pictures, as always.

  6. milkayphoto says:

    Great, it is 8:21 am and now I want a martini…. 😉 Interesting way to shoot rhodies and a great idea for a table decoration!

  7. the woods look so deep and mysterious. I love how you capture beauty no matter where you are.

  8. Ellen says:

    I have a thing for shadows and sometimes, I`m sitting in my sofa and I have to grab my camera to take a picture of the glass I put on the coffee table because it`s a magnet for me.
    Beautiful pictures, the pink series!
    And beautiful day in the bogs!!
    Have a wonderful Sunday!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Ellen. 🙂

      I enjoy that play between light and shadow, too. I think that’s why I take so many photos in the woods.

  9. Sallyann says:

    Wonderful pictures of the martini glass … especially the fiirst one, it’s beautiful. 🙂

  10. Joanne says:

    I’m pleased that you brought the Pink Martini photos out of the archives. They are very sophisticated and beautiful.

    I half expected to see a teddy bear with a picnic basket, peeking out from behind a tree in the photo of the woods! 🙂

  11. Perfect shot – the light, the reflections in the glass, the swirls. Great catch!


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

