Sunday at the Holden Arboretum


M and I decided to wander up north to the Holden Arboretum today to do a little hiking and to check out their plant sale.  It was a gorgeous day for it, at least in the early morning.  By noon it was starting to get pretty hot (in the mid-80s).

We took our daypacks, filled, just to help us with our vacation training.  I wore my Vibrams.  I’m still undecided about them.  We saw several snakes today and that got me to thinking I would be better off with hiking boots.  I have no idea why I’d feel safer in boots.  Less exposed, that’s for sure.

There were quite a few people at the arboretum today, mostly gathered around the vendors near the visitor’s center.  We decided to hike first and come back to explore the sale when we finished.

I got to thinking as we were meandering on the trails, making our way to the Layer Rhododendron Garden, that M is creating a small arboretum here at Breezy Acres, collecting trees and planting them throughout the property.

Looking up through the cypress trees

Some trees have done well here.  Some, such as the bald cypress, have not.  Still, he’s managed to collect and grow quite a variety of trees, including my favorite, the copper beech.

I don’t know how many copper beech trees are to be found in our county, but I recently read an article about a copper beech in Medina that had to be cut down, and it was mentioned that the tree cut down was one of four copper beeches in Medina County (a county not far from us).

Our copper beech is one of two that M planted for me.  We hedged our bets on that one, buying two trees in case one didn’t make it.  As it happens, one didn’t make it through the first winter (of 2007).  The other has thrived and is doing well.

Perhaps someday someone will wonder about our copper beech tree and how it came to be here.

Now that I’ve rested up a bit, I’m going to take a walk around the pond and see what’s happening here at Breezy Acres.  The peonies at the arboretum were blooming.  Perhaps ours finally opened today.

I’ll have more photos from the arboretum for you soon.  The rhododendrons were just at their peak, maybe just a little past peak.  They have a large variety of them at Holden, in several different colors.

Sneak peek at some of the rhododendrons

Thank you for stopping by the Bogs.  I hope you wore your summer clothing.  It’s close to 90 degrees out there now.  But it’s sunny, mostly clear, and not too humid.  Once you make your way down to the pond, stay to the right and you’ll have it made in the shade.  The swim platform is open, too, if you want to stay cool by taking a dip.

14 Comments on “Sunday at the Holden Arboretum”

  1. Oh, I’d be lovn’ a dip about now. Thanks for the invite. Happy Sunday–love these photos, Robin!
    Hugs,
    kathy

  2. mobius faith says:

    A cool dip in the pond sounds perfect on this 80+degree day.

  3. aFrankAngle says:

    You had a great day for a stroll in a special place … so thanks for sharing a bit of your day!

  4. Kel says:

    such cool refreshing greens you have shared with these images

  5. Gerry says:

    What I ought to do is to bookmark this for a day during the Dreadful Dismals when there is no color anywhere in the landscape. But today it is green here too, and hot. The Cowboy has been swimming since March, and Miss Sadie has done a little wading herself, but today even I gave up and went wading in Grand Traverse Bay.

  6. Going for a hike this upcoming Memprial Day weekend, maybe overnight. Stop by and I’ll share some pictures. Love your shot looking up at the cypress trees. Thanks for sharing as always!

  7. A gorgeous day filled with fun and adventure. Beautiful photos of nature. Thanks.

  8. Sallyann says:

    Lovely walk through the arboretum, everything looks so green and healthy. Enjoyed it thanks. 🙂

  9. sandy says:

    Great photos! I love the one with the ferns against the reddish tree bark.

  10. […] Sunday at the Holden Arboretum […]

  11. Emily B says:

    The photo of the lane in the middle of the trees belongs in dreams. Aren’t days spent in beautiful woods rejuvenating? Some of my favorite afternoons are spent at the Minnesota Landscape Arboretum. Glad to have found your blog tonight!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you so much, Emily. And thank you for stopping by and commenting. I appreciate it. 🙂

      I have to agree about the rejuvenating quality of days spent in the woods, or anywhere outdoors for that matter. 😀

  12. Robin says:

    Thank you so much everyone for all of your lovely comments. 🙂

  13. […] Sunday at the Holden Arboretum (bogsofohio.wordpress.com) […]


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

