Deep in the forest

The grass is growing at the entrance to the woods. Usually it’s a muddy trail with a few plants growing here and there. Can you see the trail? At the bottom, in the middle, where the grasses form an arch.

I keep laughing at the title for my post.  In and of itself, it’s not particularly funny.  But if you were to take a walk in our part of the forest, you’d laugh, too.

Greenery

When I think of being deep in the forest, I imagine it as a place that is far from anything except more forest.  A place where it’s easy to get lost even if you keep to the paths because you might forget a turn you took here or a detour you had to take there.

To me, deep in the forest means dark and green and mysterious.

A place that inspires fairy tales, myths, and legends.

Magic happens deep in the forest where the elfin and fae live and play.

Sunlight is sparse in the deep forest, streaming in on thin beams through breaks in the tree canopy, or occasionally dappling the undergrowth when the wind opens and closes spaces between the branches and leaves.

Will this bird grant us a wish or two?

The deep forest is the unexpected, the buried, the lost, and the found, treasure.

Found in the forest

Deep in the forest, the Green Man walks, and fades into the greenery.

You may be wondering at this point why I find my post title rather silly.

While it looks as though I went deep into the forest where I might have encountered the Green Man and all manner of creatures, our forest here at Breezy Acres, our woods, are not that deep.

It would be nearly impossible to get lost.  Even if you were to cross the creek, where the woods get deeper, you would eventually find yourself in someone’s backyard or corn field or even on one of the back roads in the area.

Finding a way out would not require a compass, a map, or even some bread crumbs.  Just walk in any direction and you will reach (rural) civilization in almost no time at all.  And, if you happen to be out at sunrise on a foggy morning like we had this morning, just follow the sunbeams.

They will lead you to the pond.

Walk to the east, around the pond, and you’ll eventually make your way out of the fog and into the sunlight.  You’re welcome to come on up the sledding hill and sit a spell on the deck or porch, while you ponder the mystery of the deep, yet shallow, forest where, for just a moment, you thought you might have traveled to another land.

61 Comments on “Deep in the forest”

  1. ybonesy says:

    Wow, such beautifully deep thoughts about the forest. And what a gorgeous forest it is! Hope you’re doing well, Robin.

  2. Lovely photos, Robin! And your writing is delightful. Reading this post became a restful break from my work today.

  3. Ellen says:

    love the images and the words … have a lovely weekend

  4. oh my….so beautiful…I think “deep” in the forest is a matter of the mood of the part of a forest one is in…whether it’s 50 steps in or 50 miles in…it’s the greens, the hues, the overlapping textures and layers, the filtered light…yup, in my opinion, your were definitely “deep” in the forest…it was a wonderful walk today Robin..thank you..the photos are just lovely, as of course…so is the forest…

    • Robin says:

      You’re welcome, Kathy. And thank you for your thoughts. I think you’re right about the deepness of the forest being a matter of mood/mind over reality. Very often I walk into our woods and feel as though I am a long way from home even though I could turn around, walk a few steps, and see home. 🙂

  5. Pat Bean says:

    When I stop wandering the country, I want a forest like yours to wander in.

    • Robin says:

      I think everyone should have one, Pat. Or a mountain to view and/or climb, a beach to take long walks on and listen to the waves, or a meadow or prairie filled with wildflowers and wonderful grasses. 🙂

  6. ceciliag says:

    The sunbeams are gorgeous and yes i would love to have your recipe for oatmeal stout! (sorry to steal the thread!) That sounds awesome. My grandmother drunk a glass of stout before bed for most of her adult life! Only one mind!!! I would love to give it a go.. will you blog it or send me an email.. celima.g.7@gmail.com.. great idea.. c

  7. Anita Mac says:

    Love the sunbeams streaming through the forest. Deep forest or not – looks like a great place to get lost in nature and your own thoughts for a little while!

  8. sandy says:

    Hey, that is okay. What matters is how it feels when you are inside. Your photos are just lovely and, from what I see, who knows what dwells there?

  9. Gracie says:

    Beautiful work, Robin. The sunbeams really are amazing.

  10. tedgriffith says:

    A lovely walk in a magical forest! 🙂

  11. Deep woods or not, those photos are gorgeous! I love walking through the woods.

  12. The perfect post for the start of the weekend.
    The woods are probably glad to someone wandering them who is appreciative. (They whisper about it, you know).

  13. bearyweather says:

    It may not be a deep woods, but your words and pictures made me feel like I was out in one. Great post and gorgeous colorful woodsy pictures.

  14. Oh, this is beautiful, Robin. I love the forest almost as much as the beach–so peaceful. Hope you have a wonderful weekend!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  15. An excellent excursion into another world, even if it is only for a short time and distance. Beautiful photos Robin!

  16. Just beautiful…
    With my lousy sense of direction (and a dense jungle of undergrowth) our little 2-acre woods can seem Deep, too. 😉

  17. dadirri7 says:

    your forest is so green, so lush and inviting …. i was deep in our bushland today following little birds …. under the tall trees… creeping through the bracken … it is a wonderland isn’t it!

  18. Karma says:

    Thanks for the walk in the “deep forest” – the pictures are lovely and have a mythical quality to them. They remind me of the pictures I imagined when I read the children’s book “Bridge to Terabithia” – have you read it? This is how I imagine Jess and Leslie’s Kingdom of Terabithia would look.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Karma. 🙂

      I have not read it, but it’s on my list of books to read (and movies to see). Now that you’ve reminded me about it, I think I’ll bump it up.

  19. Very good series in terms of both images and words. I felt like I was on the walk myself.

  20. jane tims says:

    Hi. Very well-written and captures the reader… thank you for taking me on your walk into the forest…. Jane

  21. paul davis says:

    I especially like the last three. Great light.

  22. beautiful commentary with these photos. Sometimes when we feel we are lost in the deep dark woods, sunlight is just a few branches away. we just have to keep going.

  23. boatacrosstheriver says:

    Beautiful, as always! Hope you’re well.

  24. Gerry says:

    That was a fine walk in the light-filled woods. (And a lot of shades of green for someone who is so fond of purple!)

  25. Sallyann says:

    😀 Say hi to the elven folk from me next time you’re in deep enough. 😀

  26. Even in a very small forest (such as this one), you can let your mind “get lost”, and find peace (provided that no one is operating any loud, heavy machinery at the time)! 🙂

    • Robin says:

      So true, Holly, especially about someone operating loud, heavy machinery. lol! Around here it’s tractors, chainsaws, and lawnmowers. Or guns. Someone nearby does a lot of target practice.

  27. Kathy says:

    I am grinning, because I would have made this into a title, too. I have enjoyed tiny “forests” and massive “forests”. They each teach us many many lessons. Lovely post!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Kathy. 🙂 They do indeed teach us many lessons (for instance, how a small forest can be at once small and deep and large).

  28. Dana says:

    I was wondering if you were “deep” in the forest as in “knee deep in mud”. Luckily, it’s just a sparse(r) forest and not a totally washed out pile of muck. 😉

  29. Coming East says:

    You are so lucky to have such beauty right in your back yard! “The woods are lovely, dark and deep/But I have promises to keep…”

  30. dragonfae says:

    Gorgeous pictures as always Robin! Is that bird a grackle? His head is such a beautiful shade of blue! Love it. 🙂


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

