Sunday stroll

If you look up the meaning of the deer, the words “gentle” and innocence” show up a lot.  Some describe the deer as a messenger of the wilderness and/or harbinger of serenity.  Deer medicine, it is said, gently lures one to new adventures.

For me, deer are reminders of my mother.  Deer showed up the last time she visited us here at Breezy Acres in June of 2009.  In fact, it was our first sighting of deer on the property.  We knew they were out there (signs were everywhere), but we hadn’t seen them.  (People in the suburbs see more deer than we do out here in the country.)  A couple of does with their fawns strolled up, brazen as could be, while Mom, Dad, and I were sitting on the back porch getting decorations ready for M the Younger’s wedding rehearsal dinner.

Mom died about three months later.  We saw deer at the cemetery after her funeral.  Since then, on days such as Mother’s Day and Mom’s birthday, days which seem to emphasize our loss, a deer will show up to remind me that Mom is still with me in my heart and in my memories.  The lovely doe featured in today’s post strolled around the pond early this morning.

Happy Mother’s Day! to all you moms out there.

Today’s view of the pond

The weather here in the Bogs has been lovely all weekend.  There might be some rain coming in a little while.  The garden will be happy with that.

It has been a beautiful and quiet Mother’s Day.  I expect my sons will be phoning in their Mother’s Day greetings soon.  (They call every Sunday evening — or we call them — so it’s easy to predict.)  To be honest, I’m a little envious of the neighbors who have been spending the afternoon with their children and grandchildren.  I counteract that with some gratitude.  I have, after all, recently spent time with my sons, my daughters-in-law, and my grandchildren, and am fortunate to be blessed in so many other ways, including a visit from a doe this morning.

A water iris for Mother’s Day

That’s it from the Bogs on this quiet and lovely Mother’s Day.  I hope your day has been filled with the gifts of peace and beauty, too.

49 Comments on “Sunday stroll”

  1. What a lovely post for Mother’s Day.. I am a true believer in the significance of events/sightings like your doe.. a message from beyond I think! xoxo

  2. dadirri7 says:

    i loved learning more about deer … wonderful how life communicates through all its forms … in the year or so before my mother died a kookaburra became very close to us … even flew down and landed on my mother’s head during one of her visits … but after she died the bird disappeared too 🙂 Happy Mothers Day!

  3. Rabbit says:

    That’s really amazing, about all the deer visits. I’m glad one came today. *Hugs* Happy Mother’s day to you. x

  4. What a beautiful story, Robin, and gift as you remember your mother.

  5. judithhb says:

    What a lovely reminder of your Mom Robin. Happy Mother’s Day. 🙂

  6. A beautiful Mother’s Day story. Happy Mother’s Day, Robin!

  7. Sallyann says:

    I’m not a great believer in many things but I do believe that we see or feel things when we need them most. I’m so glad the doe showed up for you when you needed to see her. 🙂

  8. Deer continues to bless you by her presence. What a precious gift.

  9. Oh, Robin, this one made me cry! My grandmother also loved deer–had a salt lick at her summer home. Happy Mother’s Day, my friend!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  10. boatacrosstheriver says:

    Happy Mother’s Day Robin! That’s really interesting about the deer and the connection to your mother. I think she visited you today.

  11. dragonfae says:

    What a wonderful story Robin … make me a bit teary too. *hugs* Hope you had a nice relaxing Mother’s Day!

  12. Beautiful post, Robin.
    Hope your day was lovely!

  13. aFrankAngle says:

    Wonderful tribute to your mother … and I hope you had a good Mother’s Day! A very rainy day for at my corner of our state, but we had good company.

  14. TBM says:

    What a lovely post for mother’s day…so sweet and touching.

  15. I hope you had a good Mother’s Day, Robin! 🙂

  16. David Hall says:

    Beautiful shots of the deer, the out of focus close foreground really adds to the shot.

  17. Gracie says:

    Lovely post, Robin! Happy belated mother’s day to you 🙂

  18. Dana says:

    What a touching post, Robin. I believe in the significance of messengers and animal totems, too. How nice that the doe showed up on Mother’s Day for you. 🙂

  19. A friend of mine told me a similar story, but with ladybugs. She lost her mom years ago, but lady bugs seem to show up at key times. What a great way to remember the good memories of your mom.

  20. ladyfi says:

    What a lovely post. Those shots of the deer are glorious!

  21. jane tims says:

    Hi Robin. For me, it is ‘poppies’. Just when I think of Mom, or need her presence, I’ll see a picture or photo of a poppy. Also a small yellow bird came to our windows, trying to get in, for the full year after she died. Very lovely post. Jane

  22. CMSmith says:

    What a lovely way to remember your mother. I hope you had a nice Mother’s Day.

  23. milkayphoto says:

    Wonderful story about the deer. I do think passed souls send us messages. We just have to be open to receive them!

  24. […] she beautiful?  You might be wondering what a white-tailed deer has to do with my mother.  This post at my old blog explains it, but in a nutshell, whenever I feel the need of my mother’s […]

  25. The connection between white-tailed deer and your mother’s presence resonates so much with me, Robin. I have a similar connection I finally shared back in November in a post. Thanks for linking back to your lovely, heartfelt post. May your mother keep comforting you when you’re going through rough times. Sending healing thoughts your way…
    http://www.ingebrita.net/2014/11/oh-deer/


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

