Pink Martini

M and I went up to Cleveland last night for a concert.  Pink Martini played at the State Theater, and wow’d us with their eclectic, retro and multilingual mix of music.  Their lead singer, China Forbes, is recovering from an injury to and surgery on her vocal cords.  Storm Large is standing in for her on their current tour.  If you’re unfamiliar with the music of Pink Martini, you can listen and watch here.  CoolCleveland.com has a short article about the band here.  As a little homage to the band and as a reminder of a fun evening, I played around with some pink rhododendron blossoms in a martini glass this morning.  (What?  You were expecting the Tuca Tuca?  Oú est ma tête?)

Pink Martini is playing in Kalamazoo, Michigan tonight and then they’re moving on to Europe, starting in France.  One of their stops will be Moscow, and last night they debuted a few songs in Russian, much to the delight of some Russian-speaking folks in the audience (and there were quite a few).  Storm Large messed up the lyrics at the beginning of one song, but I enjoyed seeing the process of learning the songs at work.  I don’t think anyone in the audience minded as it was all quite entertaining.

Mother Nature has gifted us with another gorgeous day.  Clear, sunny, and warming up to around 70 degrees.  Nice.

All of the trees are either fully leafed out or on their way towards being fully leafed out.  The rhododendrons are peaking, and I think the peonies will be blooming soon.

This photo showing off the green of the trees is from yesterday. There were no clouds in the sky when I went for my walk this morning.

Well, that’s it from the Bogs for this week.  Thank you for visiting.  Wishing you a wondrous weekend filled with sunlight and song!  (One more Pink Martini for the road:  Hang On Little Tomato.)

34 Comments on “Pink Martini”

  1. Ron Dubin says:

    Sounds like a fun time, a bit different than the way I spent last night 😉

  2. Love the pink martini photos. Hope you have a great weekend and happy Mother’s Day.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  3. Kel says:

    clever creativity, riffing off the name of the band
    we went out to a music gig last night too, their name is Flap!
    now that could be fun to riff off…….

  4. Dana says:

    Lovely photos, Robin. I hope you have a great Mother’s Day this weekend!

  5. Joanne says:

    Your website looks like a great big pink marshmallow today Robin! I love it. 🙂

    Happy Mother’s Day to you. xx

  6. Sallyann says:

    I love the pink martini pictures, they’re beautiful. 🙂

  7. mobius faith says:

    Great photos and music. Love this band. Thanks for the links. Great post.

  8. Great post, Robin – I found the pink martini in their video for “Oú est ma tête?” I love your interpretation of the pink martini! The weather is wonderful, isn’t it?

  9. Thanks for sharing Pink Martini. Looks like it was a lovely concert…. 🙂

  10. Ellen says:

    Have a wonderful weekend you too!!!

  11. ladyfi says:

    Sounds fun. Love those pink flowers in the last shot.

  12. I LOVE your pink martinis! They are so creative, so gorgeous. Oh, they make me smile!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Bo. They were a lot of fun to play around with and there was an added bonus. The rhododendrons, it turns out, do very well in a martini glass with a little water to drink. They have been gracing our table as a lovely centerpiece since Friday morning and are still looking very pretty. 🙂

  13. Kathy says:

    OK, this was so fun! I have never really liked martinis–OK,maybe I’ve hardly even tried them–but am now enticed after viewing the magical photos up above. Truly creative, Robin. It sounds like a fun weekend. You and M sure enjoy listening to music, don’t you?

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Kathy. 🙂

      M is the big music fan around here. I love it too, but he’s the one who entices me out to concerts. I’m so lazy. I’d probably never go anywhere if it wasn’t for him. In the case of Pink Martini, though, he bought the tickets because he knows I like them. He’s very sweet that way. 🙂

  14. nigel says:

    Great…very subtle colouring.

  15. Such a pretty cup of flowers:) I’ll take that sort of martini any day!!

  16. That first picture is poetry. So elegant. The leaves in that 4th photo look so fresh- like they are dancing

  17. […] my photographic tribute to Pink Martini?  The rhododendron flowers in the martini glass made such a lovely display that I put it on the […]


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

