Stop

We spend most of our time in a kind of horizontal thinking. We move along the surface of things going from one quick base to another, often with a frenzy that wears us out. We collect data, things, people, ideas, ‘profound experiences,’ never penetrating any of them…But there are other times. There are times when we stop. We sit still. We lose ourselves in a pile of leaves or its memory. We listen and breezes from a whole other world begin to whisper.

~ James Carroll

Looking at this photo of Miss Maddy early this morning, I was reminded to stop and smell the flowers. Β I hope you’ve had some time today to do the same, literally or figuratively. Β Either way works. Β πŸ™‚

29 Comments on “Stop”

  1. tedgriffith says:

    A wonderful reminder, Robin. Look at life today like a child. An adult lives in the future, full of plans and what might be, the old person lives in the past and its what might have beens, while the child lives in the now with what is.

    ~ I can not give you my yesterdays because they are already spent and deducted from the ledger of my life. I can not give you my tomorrows because they have not been credited to my account. So I will give you my today, the only thing I really own.~

  2. […] had a wonderful post today called Stop. Take a beautiful reminder of today. I wrote the following as part of my comment to her […]

  3. mobius faith says:

    A delightful reminder.

  4. Denise says:

    Lovely quote, lovely photos, especially the first one, sweet little girl.

  5. let’s, shall we? Let’s stop and smell, and drink in their beauty and be grateful for all that we are.

  6. Dana says:

    Such a simple but profound concept! I always seem to need reminding to slow down and live in the moment, so thank you for this gentle nudge in the right direction. πŸ™‚

  7. Coming East says:

    Such a precious picture, Robin. Children teach us so much.

  8. aFrankAngle says:

    A great, yet simple reminder – especially today as I got caught on a small treadmill … but end the day on the golf course with good company! I hope you had a good day!

  9. great reminder. I tell myself that frequently.

  10. TBM says:

    It is a good philosophy!

  11. Sallyann says:

    Wonderful. πŸ˜€
    Little people hold so many smiles πŸ™‚

  12. Taking your advice, Miss Mandy!

  13. How sweet, Robin. Love the shot of those little hands on the railing.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  14. Karma says:

    Sweet πŸ™‚

  15. Joanne says:

    Little Miss Maddy is growing up a lot Robin. I hope she always remembers to stop and smell the flowers, but I’m sure you will remind her as she grows. πŸ™‚


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

