Sunday signage

The desire to reach for the sky runs deep in our human psyche.

~ Cesar Pelli

M and I had a lovely visit with our oldest son, his lovely wife, and our two granddaughters.  The girls are just too cute for words.

Miss Madison Grace at the Franklin Park Conservatory

The talented Emma performed (ballet) at a charity dinner on Friday night.  We took her little sister, Maddy, to the Franklin Park Conservatory on Saturday morning while Emma was at dance practice.  We had a grand time looking at flowers, butterflies, and Chihuly glass.  After gathering together for a light lunch, the girls went with their mother to see a musical, and M and I made our way home.  The day was so nice that we stopped along the way for an hour-long hike somewhere near Amish country.

Grazing in the grass

We didn’t see any Amish, but we did see a few cows here and there.

We’re thinking of going back that way sometime soon to ride the trail on our bikes.

Today’s view of the pond

As for today, it is sunny, warm, and simply lovely.  I spent an hour or so in the garden, cleaning up the asparagus bed.  The asparagus is now coming in quickly enough that we have to harvest some every day.  I harvested enough today to share some with a neighbor.  M has been taking out the storm windows and replacing them with screens.  And I picked up the big rake for the first time this year to start the never-ending process of weeding the pond.  It’s good exercise.

That’s about it from the Bogs for today.  Thanks so much for your visits and comments.  I hope you’ve been having a wonderful weekend, and that Mother Nature has blessed you with some lovely get-outside-and-enjoy-it weather.

37 Comments on “Sunday signage”

  1. Ron Dubin says:

    Love the image of Madison Robin, just wonderful 😉

  2. Anita Mac says:

    Love them all, but the sign really cracks me up! Good one.

  3. it’s lovely to see so much green everywhere – the hope that comes with Spring!

  4. Kathy says:

    Robin, your blog is so beautifully Zen. I breathe deeply here. Love the pic of Miss Madison Grace so much! (Too cute for words.)

  5. Glad to hear you’ve had a good weekend, Robin. Love the sign!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  6. aFrankAngle says:

    Cheers to your good weekend and mindful spirit.

  7. Norm says:

    Thanks for the mini vacation. Beautiful photos; nice, rich colour.

  8. Sounds like so much fun — dance recitals, garden visits, smiling grand daughters. How perfect.

  9. judithhb says:

    I love to read about your life; so very different to mine.
    I was particularly pleased to see that you are harvesting asparagus. In a recent post I commented that the Annual Asparagus Festival in the UK had to be cancelled because of lack of product – too much rain and the venue was washed out too. (http://growingyoungereachday.wordpress.com/2012/05/04/friday-folies/)

  10. Dana says:

    Happy to hear you had a good time with your family, Robin! I had to laugh to see a Sunday Signage post again. I’ve scheduled a few of my own for a couple of Sundays (starting next week), so the timing is perfect! 🙂

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Dana. 🙂

      It’s been a while since I did a Sunday signage post. I have the photos. I just haven’t remembered to do one, and then I forget I have the photos until a new one comes along.

      • Robin says:

        Ooops. Hit that Post Comment button too fast. Meant to add that I’m looking forward to seeing your Sunday signage posts. 🙂

  11. It’s been cloudy here a lot in NJ lately so it’s nice to see your sunny photos. I particularly like the ones of Madison, and the butterfly.

  12. Love the sign and the butterfly shot is stunning. We had a gorgeous day here in W. Pennsylvania – lots of butterflies and the first dragonfly of the season.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Lynn. 🙂

      Our first dragonfly showed up a few weeks ago, just before it turned chilly again. I hope he survived the cold. With the recent warm-up, there are quite a few of them flitting around the pond now.

  13. Anna Surface says:

    What a sign all crackled and made me smile. Sweet and lovely capture of Miss Madison Grace.

  14. ladyfi says:

    Just amazing shots!

  15. eof737 says:

    I’m finally catching up again on blog posts. Thanks for your patience! 🙂

  16. Gracie says:

    Beautiful photos as usual, Robin.

  17. Karma says:

    Love that butterfly shot! You’ve given it a lovely mood. It’s been a while since you’ve done a Sunday signage (I think?) and I always enjoy your sense of humor in those. We’ve had a couple nice days here, but I’d still like it to get warmer. It is that difficult time of year in getting dressed for work – cool in the morning, but warmer afternoons. I only have some many “in-between” outfits and I’m getting sick of them. (Sorry for the mini-rant there! 😉 )

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Karma. 🙂

      Yes, it had been a while since my last Sunday signage. I hear you on the in-between outfits. It’s the same here. I’m ready for one season or another.

  18. Joanne says:

    By the looks of these photos, spring is well and truly set in at the Bogs now Robin. Just beautiful! And little Miss Maddy is just precious. 😀


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

