Friday flowers

The rhododendrons are beginning to bloom.  When I looked at them a day or two ago, I thought it would be another week before the flowers blossomed.  I was wrong.  The warm weather of the past couple of days must have spurred them on.

Today’s view of the pond

I would love to visit the arboretum to see if the rhododendrons are blooming up there, but I won’t have time today or tomorrow.  I have more exciting plans.

What could be more exciting than tramping around the arboretum?  Why, spending time with our granddaughters and their parents of course.  Yay!

I can’t think of anything else I’d rather do, not even visit the arboretum.  Besides, I might be able to fit that in on Sunday.  It depends on the weather and what’s happening around here at Breezy Acres.

Our trip to Maine and the Eastern Canadian Provinces is coming up fast.  Although M and I do need to get out and hike some more in preparation for it, we also have plenty of things to keep us busy here at home.

We still have a few tons of dirt to move (literally — I’m not kidding), and the front porch project to work on.  Then there’s the garden.  We’re hoping to get the broccoli and chard planted this weekend.  The asparagus, by the way, is coming in like gangbusters.  We feasted on some of that at lunchtime today.  Roasted, and then tossed in a salad. Yum.

Well, I’d better get moving.  I have a lot to do before I see my granddaughters.  Thank you visiting.  May your weekend be filled with wonder, magic, and playfulness.

Can you imagine experiencing the world as a great sandbox given for us to play in like we did as children?  As we play, we can also open ourselves to the exploration of our edges, always creating new adventures of self-exploration as we let go of old out-dated beliefs about ourselves.

~ Judith-Annette Milburn

21 Comments on “Friday flowers”

  1. TBM says:

    Beautiful flowers. I always think I would like a garden some day, then I read about people moving tons of dirt and then I think apartment life isn’t so bad. Have a wonderful weekend!

  2. Gracie says:

    Beautiful flowers. And I love all those vibrant colors.

  3. Dounia says:

    Beautiful flowers – their color is amazing, I love it! Have an excellent weekend and a wonderful time with your granddaughters!

  4. bearyweather says:

    very pretty … if I had to pick, I would choose the one you put in your header … I like how the right side is out of focus and draws your attention to the stamens (is that what they are called?).

  5. Beautiful! I’ve never seen this color. We have purple and white rhododendrens. Have a great weekend, Robin!

  6. Gosh, they’re gorgeous, Robin. Hope you have a wonderful weekend, my friend.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  7. Dana says:

    I hope you have a great weekend visiting with your family, Robin! The rhodos are splendid!

  8. dragonfae says:

    Have a wonderful time with the granddaughters Robin! 🙂

  9. Love your Rhodies! Our early ones are blooming, but the big ones aren’t even close…
    Have a marvelous weekend with your girls!

  10. Ellen says:

    Have a very nice weekend!!!
    (I like your spring shoes!)

  11. ladyfi says:

    Wow – glorious flower shots!

  12. Love the rhodie photos, mine just came ou here in W PA as well – early!!!

  13. Marianne says:

    Wow! I missed a lot, Robin. You have new ventures. I’m so excited. Great to see the new additions on your blog. The flowers are gorgeous and so is the picture of the bogs. Looks like a beautiful sunny day. Ours came today. Wishing you a wonderful weekend! 🙂

  14. aFrankAngle says:

    Thanks for the excellent color! Enjoy your weekend!

  15. Kathy says:

    Hi, Robin. It took a few minutes for that first rhododendron flower to load fully on WordPress. For some reason I happened to be looking very intently at the screen and it looked like the flower was opening up and blooming as WordPress loaded. Wow! I have never seen that before, and it looked utterly beautiful, like a fast-motion bloom. What an unexpected gift. I am also smiling thinking about you and your grandchildren. What gifts, indeed…

  16. Kel says:

    these are the prettiest rhododendrons I’ve ever seen
    lovely imagery

  17. jane tims says:

    Hi Robin. Sounds like you are coming our way. Hope you enjoy your trip to the Maritimes! It will be like travelling into the past (our flowers are so far behind yours!) Jane

  18. I always enjoy your inspirational photos and quotes, Robin, especially today! Just what I needed.. have fun with your grandchildren and their parents!!

  19. Sallyann says:

    Thanks. 🙂
    The flowers are very pretty, you’ve reminded me I must check on Mum-in-law’s in the garden, they’re expecting a move to my neice’s garden soon so I’d best catch them with the camera while they’re still there.

  20. Robin says:

    Thank you, thank you, and thank you for all of your lovely comments. Sorry it took me so long to respond and that I had to do it in one big thank you. As always, I’m way behind and catching up as best I can. 🙂


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

